Thanks for that. I was using the ICBF WebApp app instead of the ICBFHerdPlus app
i was hoping arrabawn would put on the extra lorry down here for you:)
From too much milk to not enough within 2 years
207503 calves exported last year. The high and mighty on here, might not be too haughty if they were still hanging around the country. When the boats "break down" or there seems to be a storm every week in march and April, there will be people on here giving out about no demand for calves.
Every avenue should be explored
And there is always a gullible fool that will jump up and say he can do it in 7 hours a day. He will be promoted then as a deadly man altogether to try and drag the rest of us into line. I have to laugh at these lads led by the nose on podcasts and the likes. The interviewer has all the questions in front of them and they are ticking off all the "correct" answers as they go. Shameful 🤣
Menu, record events, heat and ai serve
Yep, people just can't seem to understand that. Sexed is not the answer.
Where did u get the 90 euro figure from …I know the cost of flying calves is higher than shipping but it’s f this took off and happend it would be at scale and savings could be made plus get coops bord bia etc to buy in …..win win for everyone inc beef sector ….if and when exports stop we have huge problem
due to volume ..no ammount of sexed semen …cbv dbi etc will make a differenc
That’s over the top and unfair …I contract rear my fr heifers from 3 months to November pre calving all fr bull and beef calves sold thru mart and off farm ….nitrates /derogation and banding forcing my hand …this allows me concentrate on what makes me money and not reduce there numbers to carry beef ainmals that are break even at best ….I did it for years and if I was locked with tb I have facilities to rear all of them
Question re HerdPlus if that’s OK.
Can you record heats in heifers (or cows) on the app?
I can see where to enter AI serves on the app but not heats.
It's the kiss teagasc blueprint in fairness plus you'll never achieve your 8 hour work day rearing a lock of bull calves...
Wouldn’t name and shame them…some people would actually welcome this because they’d rather die than rear a non replacement heifer calf.
What tulip said that?
Media love to talk down calves before there's any even born, usual craic this time every year.
Yes. Crazy idea..!
For goodness sake wouldn’t ye keep your powder dry until you’ve got a good reason to strike.
Solidarity isn’t exactly a good reason to strike.
90 euro for every calf I sell, they can feck off
I don’t nesecarllly think this is a bad idea …..would be a good thing for beef industry ….if exports stop in morning we’re in a world of bother here
Hundred percent my calves like most others in the country are not a by product..they are less profitable than cows but still have a value when slaughtered..the lad buying them is happy to pay 200 plus average each year and he's not a busy fool..
Why should I lose a cent off my milk to subsidise the big hungry heroes who couldn't get enough.
Still allowed, for this year, was a strange u-turn by bord bia/co-ops, you have to pinkie swear not to do it in 2025 and implement a breeding plan, to minimise dairy bulls....
It’ll be interesting to see will there be as many frx/jex bulls going on permanent holidays to limerick this year after the programme on rte back end of last year.
Cost of export should be only attributed to the farmer selling for export or exporter why should every farmer have to bare the brunt.
Alot of people using sexed now so reducing the fr bull calves
Every calf contributes to the calf problem, calves are overproduced,
If every dairy farmer bred proper calves there'd still be a problem.
I said this last year, it's only good calves that are exported. Haven't a clue where the crap ones go
Let the people who want to offload their byproduct calves ASAP pay for them themselves to be flown might make them rethink their breeding policy, ridiculous to suggest every farmer should pay towards it when it’s only a certain cohort who are the drivers of the calf problem.
Latest brainwave to dip into dairy farmers pockets, its getting comical at this stage
Are you happy now Dawg. We're out in support of our European colleagues today.
1500 mms here in the midlands in 2023,
If weather doesn’t happen in the PRC, is it really weather?
Cork, the South, got a fair load compared to Mayo and the West.
Must be climate change because the PRC couldn’t possibly p1ss off the rain Gods.