Old thread seems to be permanently locked. It will be interesting if anything can come of this at last.
Threadbanned Posters:
Yes Bailey put forward a range of suspects most of it nonsense
Some posters here picking up on his theories
Horse theory
Bantry Garda
French hitman
Funny you should say that;
So now we are adding James Bond to the list of suspects?
Or Roger Moore?
I can't keep up!
Bailey, Ian Bailey
One look and I know he killed her I guess some people just have that intuition
You have to stop thinking about this rationally.
Is it rational to walk 4km in winter to the house of a woman you may not know to try and seduce her ?
No it's not.
But neither is it rational to go around the place telling two people unsolicited that you murdered a woman when you know you are a suspect in the case.
Check the photo again. Does the man on the front right look familiar!?
He looks vaguely like Daniel Du Plantier, but also like one of the characters in the Bond film, although I could be wrong on this last part and im too tired to look it up.
But can they place Moore in Cork in 1996 is the real question.
Or saying in 2022 he planned to plead insanity if charged as a result of the cold case review.
Yeah it's Daniel TdP alright - possibly arranging a hitman?😉
Intuition - “the ability to know something by using your feelings rather than considering the facts”
I suppose that actually checks out perfectly in this scenario!
Are IB’s ‘ finger prints’ not all over the murder site. Did he not walk all over the site - I assume looking/ handling this and that , including that concrete block . I wonder did the guard/s securing the site make a note of IB’s visitvto the site and what exactly did he touch ? Also if IB ‘s dna is found on only one item Eg on one side of the concrete block- that will point in one direction . BUT if it is found on a number of items - including three+ sides of the concrete block- then that is pointing in another direction
Apparently Bailey did not get past the Garda cordon when he arrived at the scene
That has been rumoured many times but in the Garda File he is recorded at arriving at the cordon at 14.20 and nothing else along those lines.
Days later, he visited Alfie's, under Garda observation, which is inside the cordon but that is after the forensic team had processed the site.
It seems to be something Guards fed to journalists, but of dubious origin.
I have seen nothing credible thus far to show him being inside the cordon, or that level of contamination of the scene.
Regards the concrete block, there was no known method of lifting fingerprints from rocks and blocks at the time. Methods have improved since.
Stone throwers might toss fingerprints into police hands | Science News
“It has always been thought that we cannot recover finger mark impressions from items such as rocks and stones,” says Dennis Gentles of Abertay University in Scotland, a forensic scientist who has recovered fingerprints from other challenging surfaces, including foods and bird feathers. Gentles once had a student experiment with fingerprinting smooth stones collected from a river and a beach, with little success.
Hopefully the national forensics lab kept the block and rock that were used for future testing.
Regards the gate, not sure if they developed any prints from that, but then again a number of people used that gate in the past including possibly Bailey.
The Cold Case Review Team are not expecting to find anything of significant importance in the items they seized from Baileys final abode but nevertheless they are prepared to go through everything with a fine tooth comb and expect the trawl will probably take months.
Looks like no stone will be left unturned by these lads, a serious group of professionals.
https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/ian-bailey-items-seized-garda-32005439
Has the DPP ever stated that they would make a recommendation as to whether they'd prosecute a suspect if they were still alive before ? I would have thought this would be superfluous to their role. A lot of exceptions have been made for this case. For instance I don't ever remember entire Garda case files been handed over to a foreign police force before this murder.
Surely they have to
I thought I read something that they can make such a recommendation, as it allows the case to be 'closed' officially.
From the Irish Mirror article
Sources say gardaí hope the DPP will review the new investigation and decide there would have been enough evidence for Bailey to be charged.
That would mean they would be able to close the case – and filmmaker Ms Du Plantier’s family would get some closure.
I could easily see them doing this more to bring closure to the Gardaí than anything else. Charging Ian Bailey when he was alive would have meant a lot of dirty laundry would have been washed in public.
I believe a suspect can be tried posthumously, and can be found guilty, but not prosecuted. It would give closure to the case. It could also exonerate a wrongfully convicted person.
And from what I hear there’s a whole lot of dirty laundry
Just out of curiously does anyone know why she’s “also known as”
@CuriousCal I'm guessing it is her maiden name... I see it phrased in some reports as Marie Farrell nee. Brennan
Quote from the Times
'A senior source said: “So far on the block used to kill Ms Toscan du Plantier, no identifiable secondary DNA has been found'
Doesn't look good for a breakthrough from this angle.
Thanks for that just found it strange but then again everything about her is
My late mother used to say (not meaning any offence here) “country people can be very queer, completely odd..” A Donnybrook born woman, she was mostly referring to the Galway relatives that her mother was sent over to as a young girl. Aged 12, my grandmother was sent to help mind a dying relative. Other relatives came into the room and got the man, in his last hours, to change his will in favour of another branch of the family. My grandmother wanted no more of going near that side of the family ever again in her life.
Bailey's appeal against drug driving was held posthumously...
I haven't see that article (have you a link?) but from that it looks like they were able to extract DNA from the block - but only Sophies DNA.
Again, how can a man as sloppy as Bailey manage to not leave any DNA, especially (as per AGS's claim) he had been cut by the briars during the fight?
Why is Bailey sloppy
And why would bailey leave DNA rather than someone else