I wonder has Dave ever seen a bad movie? Every one they review has been the greatest film of all time....😥
I suppose free tickets must help.....
"Unbelievable!! Now this absolute banger from Samantha Mumba"
"Legend! Here's more Rihanna up next, tune!"
I've tried multiple times to listen, and I use to love Dermot & Dave, but I just can't stand it for anything more than a few minutes. It's dreadful shite
I find it hard to believe Dave Moore has that many listeners and in fact the highest listenership on TodayFM then again he's up against Jennifer Zamparelli who isn't everyone's cup of tea.
He's program is chewing gum for the ears. "How do you eat your kit kat? Text in and tell us or do you wash your legs in the shower. FFS 😂
She has been since she came back, before that it was Louise/Stephen that started randomly doing that slot. Paula was on this morning.
Not in years!
Really?! That's a horrible split shift!
She does an hour before Ian awell.
Paula does 7-10pm
She doesn't overdo it so no bother with it.
Paula filling in for Ian next week, wonder will she do her 5-6 slot aswell and just run through or will Stephen/Emma be drafted in to fill 5-6?
I don't mind it, I think its nice to hear the cúpla focal
JNLRs out yesterday. No big moves either way for Today FM: https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/jnlr-listening-figures-ryan-tubridys-old-rte-slot-loses-4000-listeners-as-morning-ireland-enjoys-bumper-increase/a2064601582.html
Is maith liom é - is rud iontach é chun an cúpla focal a chloisteáil. An príomh teanga, beo! Would ye not agree?
Ya agree puts me off listening to it.
Haha yeah listen fair play to her she was a teacher took a career break and worked in SpinSW and obviously married to a famous hurler so she's risen up the range to national radio and TV.
Just gets annoying mixing between the Languages lol
Ah, but she plays the ceol......
The mixing of Irish and English from Louise Cantillon is getting to really annoy me on her show.
I'm sure she's a nice girl but either do the show in English or Irish it's almost like look at me I can speak Irish.
How dare you challenge our assumptions and declarations with your "facts", sirrah!
A number of pirates were raided in 2003, but there was still quite a bit of activity after that. There are still oldies pirates operating on weekends to this day. Have a look at the Bandscan Thread. (And it's not just the stations that are oldies in some cases!)
Apreciate info Declan on 90s pirates and very aware many dance pirates were active and popular in the 90s / 00s, especially in Dublin.
but I dont consider Ray Foley, Declan Pierce or Alison Curtis etc as DJs from the golden age the Irish pirate era where Ian and Phil came from...pre 88 - that was my point. Ian is the survivor on Today FM and with Bryan Dobson departing RTE soon, sadly there are only a handful left on Irish radio.
BTW i think Steve K may have been on an 80s pirate?
There where pirates in the 10's too. From 2010-2014ish Sunshine/ Choice FM was on the airwaves.
I think there were still pirates as recently as 2003?
To be fair, the pirates did not go away completely after 1988. Ray Foley was on '90s pirate Pulse, for example.
Edit: But of course, if you were born after 1988, it is far less likely you that you turned up on pirates, but still possible.
Edit #2(!): So the following presenters on Today FM were with pirates: Ian Dempsey, Ray Foley, Declan Pierce, Alison Curtis, Steve K, KC and Claire Beck. Ian was late '70s and early 1980. The rest were on '90s pirates, with at least one (Alison) going into the '00s with Phantom FM. John Caddell, Assistant Programme and Content Director, came from pirates in the '90s and '00s. Is there anybody else left on Today FM with a pirate past, whether presenting or behind the scenes?
Phil was the 80s / 90s old school / 'last DJ' to depart Today FM.
Only Ian is hanging in there and he goes back to the late 1970s...but he has since become a more breakfast 'presenter', than a "DJ"
The rest of them in their 20s/30s are not real genuine DJs that most were not born when the pirates shut down in 1988.
I miss Phil. He would crop up everywhere all summer long as he was a great stand in on any show, so always reminds me of days out and stuff.
Same goes for the Saturday morning show
Phil also told a story about the early days of the station, they were giving away a hi-fi and got no entries whatsoever.
Tired of Matt Cooper promoting his books and podcast.
The last word used to be decent but rarely tune in anymore.
towards the end, about 48-49 mins in. He's talking about social media / discussion boards in general and mentions something about an old clip of him from his 2FM days posted on here.
What does he mention about it?