He died earlier from a heart attack, very curious guy whatever you think of him. If he didn’t kill Sophie Toscan du Plantier he certainly didn’t help himself by his attention seeking behaviour.
There was a criminal trial....
He died in 2003. The Paris trial was in 2019. That's some pull to have.
There was an Australian gangster who 'ran' Sydney in the 1980s called Neddy Smith. He is meant to have murdered multiple people but was only convicted for one or two of them. So police wanted to get him for more of the murders and put an informer in his cell, with a wire. Smith who was 6ft 5 and not skinny complained to his cell mate at the physical effort required to strangle someone.
Presumably as his first wife and any friends/ acquaintances did not want to travel to Ireland 20 years after Bailey and his first wife divorced. Moreover, bizarrely a year before the libel trial Bailey's first wife had to deal with her son by another man murdering her grandmother. Two reasons to keep out of public gaze.
I've not seen anything to indicate the bottle of wine was champagne, it has never been described as such.
Seems dubious, there were some other details about the case Bailey got wrong also.
Yeah much easier to just cut someone's throat.
I think "No country for Old men" depicted a choking scene quite well.
"Casino Royale" also I think.
Yes not wonderfully well worded. Obviously if this is an old influential French family - the influence likely continues after 2003.
That trial was a waste of time and money and resources. I can't believe it went ahead.
The French are supposed to have invented the structure of the modern institutions like government and judiciary.
We were hardly going to extradite someone who we thought shouldn't even be charged.
French arrogance.
The trial was a sham I'd say
The proof wasn't there to convict although I believe he killed her
Presume that was a Garda theory
Nope. All from the fertile imagination of Nick.
"Man B" heard from "Man A" what happened.
"Man B" told the guards.
But
The problem is that the evidence from Man B was not included in the police file – at least not in the police file I have in my possession.
That's a shame, no record of either existing.
The problem for the likes of Nick is the official sexual motive for the murder is illogical and he knows it. Because he is not a complete simpleton.
So we get all manner of spoofing to replace it.
Nick was pulling all sorts of nonsense to promote sales of his book.
Did Maloney get it from foster ?
I have no idea. I imagine if you looked up the contributors to Fosters book he is probably in there.
As stated Maloney reckons Bailey took a bottle of wine and headed off and Sophie hit him on the head with a hatchet?
Bit of an overreaction, no?
Or is Baloney pushing for Bailey having a case of self defence?
Hit him on the hand with the axe maloney said
Seems a coincidence 2 saying similar so I assumed it was a garda theory
Maloney contributed to Fosters book ?
Either way hitting someone with a hatchet as they walked away is a bit extreme, no?
Did anyone see a hatchet wound on Bailey?
That would have bled a bit.
Also the only way Baloney could possibility know this is if he was there?
Do you think they may just be talking bollíx the pair of them?
Might it have been a child's plastic toy axe?
Sophie may have been asphyxiated......... but I believe Sophie was stamped on around the chest and neck and had a broken thorax.
"So it looks like an attempt at choking.
I think choking someone to death takes longer than one expects.
It takes 10 to 20 seconds to choke someone unconcious, but it takes a few minutes, maybe 3 or 4, to choke someone to death.
So maybe she was choked unconcious."
No, I think what Sheridan's pathologist is saying is the asphyxiation was a result of the stamping on the chest and neck, crushing the thorax and windpipe. Not from choking or strangulation with hands. In fact the killer may not have laid hands on Sophie at all, from what little pathology reports are available there are no reports of hand/finger marks on Sophie.
Ok.
Dr Harbison thinks they may have been Dr Martens Boots.
Can you share a link to this please?
I'm assuming it is ok to share reddit links? You might need a reddit account to view it.
Here is a sample snippet to give you a sense of the reasoning. Of course another possibility to the below is Bailey did it but has no memory of it (but the post deals with that in point #10).
Not known publicly until 2008, was the fact that the victim had been caught on a barbed wire fence. It is one of the most striking things about the crime scene. All of the people who saw the body first hand (before it was covered by a plastic tarp) remarked on this in their statements. The torn leggings stretched a meter from the body making a weird white triangle shape. In a diary entry from 1997 Bailey wrote down the story from his own perspective. He wrote the Shirley Foster stopped her car before the body. He mentioned nothing about barbed wire, and wrote the body was "crouched" by a five bar gate. This was incorrect, it was flat on its back. Shirley told people she saw a "bundle" and this is perhaps what prompted Bailey to say it was "crouched".
Either Bailey never saw the body or he was deliberately fabricating misinformation in his private diaries. If it is the latter he should have filled his diary with other deliberate errors. The only rational conclusion is that he never saw the body in situ.
https://www.reddit.com/r/MurderAtTheCottage/comments/xf1kc4/bailey_didnt_do_it/
Arianna Boarina’s statement that Bailey was scratched was taken in 1999, over two years afterwards, and she didn't arrive until the 23rd so cannot testify that Bailey had no scratches on the Sunday. Florence Newman, who took one of the Christmas Swim videos, claimed Bailey had scratches like "random squiggles" but she made this statement ten years later in 2006, despite making two previous statements, one of them mentioning Bailey, saying nothing about scratches. Her testimony also contradicts the video she shot. She claimed kept his hands deep in his pockets. In the video you can see him waving his hands around.
The Super who contributed to the Sheridan documentary, a man who can only be aptly described as 'cute whore 90s guard' said something very interesting.
He said arrogantly inferring basically people are completely ignorant of investigation methods, sometimes you have to get 10 witness statement from the same person before you get what you need -sic
The method of course can be referred to as suggestibility.
Smoke in the car park after interview 2, Jaysus John Joe told us he wouldn't take his hand out of his pocket for love nor money the morning of the swim. Amazing you didn't notice.
Interview 3 that is a memory you have now.
Means fukk all the whisky
Bailey himself said he 'had a whiskey or two' that night. He says it in the West Cork podcast. If he admits to 1 or 2, then its probably double that, imo.
Today Niall Donald asks Nicola about her own interaction with Bailey over the years, about his creepy personality and about a moment of drama involving the six foot six suspect and a flock of angry geese.
He grew 2 inches and had drama with geese?
Tell us more Nicola.
This story of the inmate telling guards blah blah blah was knocked on the head when he changed his story - in 2005 he related the story of the wine bottle which was indeed found by the caretakers son- however, in 2001 the inmate sharing a cell with Bailey at the time told Gardai shortly after that, that Bailey told him about a French connection to the murder- no mention of a wine bottle - the inmate subsequently went on to a 10 year sentence as a sex offender.
Im absolutely gobsmacked that someone not only had the nerve to try and make this fact in a book about the murder but was successful in doing so - it’s extraordinary the misinformation in this case 😀
https://www.pressreader.com/ireland/irish-daily-star/20211223/281625308624857
Just watching it now 5 minutes in
Seems excellent tbh
To add to baileys theories about the French hitman and the bantry garda we've now got the horse theory
In fairness, that interview was weeks after the event...
This stuff about Bailey confessing needs to be exposed. The first such confession apparently was the Reid lad. His mother said (she seems to talk for him) that Bailey told him he smashed her ffing brains in. The factual report is that Bailey was giving this lad a lift and the lad asked how are things. Bailey said something like….ah things were fine until I went up there and bashed her brains in
Bailey said it was black humour and that’s exactly how it sounds to me….certainly far from a confession
The lad didn't think much of it as he never thought to go to the Gardaí with this "confession"
The Gardaí went and picked him up from school and whatever they said to him didn't frighten him that much as he continued taking lifts from Bailey after that chat, but he made whatever statement the Gardai wanted. His mother went to the French trial to testify on his behalf. A few misdemeanors along the way afterwards were 'squared' shall we say.
Lead Detective Dermot Dwyer said that Bailey burned his long black coat. One of his own Guards in a statement says they took the coat as evidence. Dwyer should be questioned on this.
What is the point of these photos taken several weeks after the murder?