He died earlier from a heart attack, very curious guy whatever you think of him. If he didn’t kill Sophie Toscan du Plantier he certainly didn’t help himself by his attention seeking behaviour.
As of 2 months ago the review team had not contacted Jules;
"I can not believe that the Gardai have not been in touch with me. You would think they would.
"This whole Sophie case is like a black cloth hanging over your head, it just never goes away.
"The truth is Ian had nothing to do with this murder and I have only ever told the truth.
"The Review team is not interested in what I have to say, otherwise they would have contacted me."
Eh the complete opposite in fact is true
https://m.sundayworld.com/news/irish-news/ian-baileys-ex-brands-garda-cold-case-review-into-sophies-murder-a-stitch-up/a404019190.html
These are really two very valid points and it's unfortunate reading them too but as you say this is where it's at....Jules possibly is vital evidence now..to fear for her own life could be thin too...as if was massively significant she would have got necessary protection at the time and to wait this length would certainly see her get possibly jail time for aiding and abetting but hopefully a sentence could be reduced but it's so unlikely she is going to now come forward
Is todays Sunday Times credible enough for you odyssey?
https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/raid-ian-bailey-flat-toscan-du-plantier-new-dna-evidence-77ms6qjbj
"2. Somebody (Jules) comes forward and confesses that they know Bailey did it, and that they didn't come forward until he had died as they feared for their own life. This would have to be accompanied by an explanation of their previous silence / lies that would withstand cross examination in court."
It looks like it won't be Jules;
From yesterday.
I think these raids are about high power people and Gardai and others not wanting Ian's observings and information coming out
or the simplest explanation, she has nothing to come forward about.
A great article in fairness - sounds like she’s starting to find her voice rather increasing the volume of it- I’d buy her book as I think many would.
She sounds like a very intelligent woman - I personally don’t believe that she has anything further to add to the Ian Bailey saga that would point to his guilt .
I hope she enjoys the rest of her life.
If the the author wasn't previously aware of the extensive investigation into the conduct of the murder investigation itself -
"Last night it emerged that there had been a second investigation in the past running parallel to the murder inquiry — the other investigation by the National Bureau of Criminal Investigation was into the garda handling of the case at the time. "
I wouldn't rate their depth or breadth of knowledge on the matter highly.
Members of the NCBI had expressed frustration at the DPP reports back to the time of Eamonn Barnes, who retired in 1999.
https://archive.is/0jrc3
The DPP has to date declined to press charges against Mr Bailey, with former DPP Eamonn Barnes previously saying the investigation was “thoroughly flawed and prejudiced” against the English journalist.
However, a number of Garda members, including detectives in the National Bureau of Criminal Investigation (NBCI), were very frustrated at those decisions, with which they strongly disagreed.
That was Daniels 4th wife, he certainly did like to trade them in for newer younger models.
That's it, if Bailey had confessed to her, and she's kept it to herself all these years then she has nothing to gain by making that public. Other than incriminating herself. There's a very interesting interview in the SI today with Jim Sheridan who's now convinced that Bailey is innocent and another article by Brigid McLaughlin who's convinced he's guilty. The whole case is a mess, tainted with 27 years of conjecture.
Nothing to gain except clear conscience
I believe bailey did it but i don't believe she knows
My question was clearly directed at odessy, but thanks anyway for your opinion.
I agree, her life was thoroughly destroyed through no fault of her own. Best wishes to Jules and her daughters.
I don’t know how he could possibly have done it without her knowing or suspecting something - she’s a very intelligent and articulate individual
Poor old Sheridan probably can't think straight thinks the answer lies in France
maybe it does, maybe it doesn't, but until the case is solved all potential lines of investigation should be followed.
Yeah, she at least suspects something
she initially provided a false alibi for him and only changed her story when told a witness had seen him that night
no chance she’ll open herself up to charges of accessory after the fact now, even if offered immunity
much safer to just stick to her story
Why do you say she suspects something?
So true. We all nearly want there to be something but we may accept there is nothing
I'll have read of that. But yes like even on here I see postings where we are all dragged in either direction. I'm convinced he was there , then other days nearly I'm not convinced at all. It's like guards and media have nearly focussed so much on bailey and trying to make it stick..which really is wholly and downright an injustice when you read the higher power of DPP for Which should carty more weight than anything else one would think. It's such a division of option by everyone.
After what that animal did to her that lady has nothing to fear.
He reguarly beat her black and blue.
When he was asked to leave her house he didn't do so for months.
Besides the other assaults we know he committed on her he once bit her lip so severly he almost removed it from her face.
This from a big strong man of 6 foot 4 who then refused to give her daughter the car keys so she could take her seriously injured mother to hospital.
A neighbour had to drive Jules to the hospital.
It was mentioned that Sophies lip was bitten in a similar way and Bailey tried to hide that by completely smashing her face and head to bits with over 50 blows from the stone and block.
Nope. Anonymous sources feeding journalists in secret again. Why is this nowhere in the DPP report, and it doesn't appear to be in the Garda File. Bailey is recorded at the cordon at 14.20, none of this stuff.
Senior gardai believe, however, that Bailey did contaminate the scene shortly after the murder. He turned up as a freelance journalist and trampled all over the place as the scene was not properly cordoned off, sources said.
And it's not clear, did they or didn't they find anything of Baileys. This is contradictory \ unclear, what are these 'any forensics'.
“Bailey had scratches on his hands at the time so when he was arrested we took away plants and briars, anything with thorns, from the scene — but none had Bailey’s blood or tissue on them... Any forensics at the scene linking Bailey had to be discounted as he was all over the place. We just couldn’t find any traces of him on the concrete block, though."
After the Garda conduct in this case, they don't get the benefit of the doubt via anonymous 'sources'. I'm not interested in what these Guards 'believe' or peddle to journalists secretly but cannot use\document\provide convincing evidence of via proper channels.
Where was it mentioned that Sophie's lip was bitten? I've never seen that.
Here are the two murder weapons that were used, the stone and the block....
When will we hear of the results from the concrete block? Have they even done the test yet ?
Where was 'It was mentioned that Sophies lip was bitten in a similar way'? Don't recall it but the killer(s) may have smashed her face to hide evidence alright.
Another interesting individual
https://extra.ie/2021/07/02/news/irish-news/did-sophie-toscan-du-plantier-documentaries-overlook-crucial-elements-of-the-case
"As for the man from Marseille, very little is known and Gardai never interviewed him as a suspect. However, Sophie’s former lover Bruno Carbonnet, a French artist, spoke of an odd meeting with a man during his time in west Cork with Ms Toscan du Plantier.
Speaking to French police in an official statement, Mr Carbonnet said: ‘One day, when on a visit to west Cork, we went to a restaurant in Goleen… There was a Frenchman at the neighbouring table and somebody called him the man from Marseille. I cannot remember his name…
‘He came over to our table and introduced himself. He talked to us and asked where Sophie lived. When she told him, he said he had tried to buy the same house. He asked me was I a hunting man and I said no.’
Mr Carbonnet then claimed that the man said to him: ‘But you’re interested in women?’
The French artist stated that Sophie did not like this remark and that the man from Marseille went on to make small talk about fishing before Sophie asked where his own house was.
‘The meeting was odd,’ Mr Carbonnet concluded.
A fisherman, originally from Marseille, but who lived in the Schull area, the same man skimmed over in the West Cork podcast, took his own life three months after Sophie’s murder."
Agree nothing in it for her to change her story
I genuinely believe she doesn't know
@OrangeBadger I think someone mentioned George Pecout as the name of the 'man from Marseille'. It was mentioned at the time of the murder, he had terminal cancer and was considered unlikely as a suspect in such a physical murder, but I don't know the source for that.