Remember years ago a lad started freeze branding around here. His ad was simple
Big,
Bold and permanent
Your bog standard FR Ho cross.
What kind of stock? Have used smaller irons on crossbreds
Do ye think they are a better job done before breeding? I’d be concerned that some of their arses mightn’t have a big enough black patch to fit 4 numbers!?
Normally do ours before they calve down…
They tend to come better when done when inside on silage as opposed to out on grass
Might not do it today (!) but could try organise it in the coming week or two. I need to bring them in to weight them anyway so could kill two jobs with one FRS visit.
Thanks lads
If I didn't know better your post sounds like you advocating grass based dairy and less concentrate feed milk.in a previous life I had an insight into a irish milling operation and I remember that irish grain was never included in pig or poultry feed but was used for bovine feed as it s quality wasn't consistent enough due to irish weather conditions
Y
Now is a good time as you will have a nice clear number come breeding time.
About right now instead of reading the back biting going on here at the minute.
Is there any particular good or bad time to freeze brand heifers?
Well in fairness the "imported crappy grains" would make up only a very small proportion of the feed going into Irish cows, the majority would be grass and silage. And I think the "state funded pollution" is just a populist jibe from you Dawg. Thought you were bigger than that.
Sure dawg ye were never small farmers here so you have no experience from that perspective and when you did farm here you farmed in the best times ever to farm here the 80s. Cheap land, cheap labour , cheap inputs, little to no regulations and you had fair big scale aswell, am I wrong ?
easy for you to have an opinion on it all when you never faced the same pressures as someone trying to get himself up from a few acres around the house
yer still farming more acres in Ireland than the majority of tillage farmers here aswell as farming in France ?
Well you can’t pontificate to Irish farmers when the model is quite different to what is done nearly everywhere else in the EU.
The farmers farming under restrictions are a lot of the time implementing ten fold of the protection measures for the environment etc and they are punished the most.
But we should just suck it up here and get in line in little old Ireland eh
😂
Heard a similar type argument from an Irish apologist for the tax haven…sure we never went and conquered and pillaged other countries so we’re quite entitled to our piece of the action!
Great stuff indeed.
Thank god they stepped in to stop that ‘state funded pollution’ we should really be doing better seeing as every farm here all have 100s of acres available to them to produce their own feed for their cattle and stock at 1 cow for every 5 acres like out in the continent….
Fortunately the EU stepped into Ireland and Holland to try and stop the state funded pollution. And yes, Eu regs will continue into the future.
Dairying in Ireland had profited hugely from imported cheap crappy grains, along with being able to export milk powders etc into S.America…whilst sweeping that reality under the huge greenwashing carpet.
Unfortunately it’s the meat and tillage industry that has to bear the brunt of this.
This reads like an infomercial for mercosur…
https://circabc.europa.eu/rest/download/75452f6d-5635-42f1-9da9-18c268b791e1?ticket=
Lads dreaming of "freedom to farm" may as well dream on, as it isn't going to happen, you are going to be regulated in Europe on way or another so you may as well take the subsidy while it is going. Anyway as regards dairying Europe is a nett exporter, so prices are going to be set by "world market prices" which is the dumping ground for surplus product.
Extreme bullshit 😒 I've no idea where its going to end at this stage 😤
Divide and conquer
Yes he is making a few statements that I believe we're incorrect. Yet when questioned he refused to reply
And along comes bass with everything upside down as usual.........come here and decision as to what its costing to produce milk at the moment
The big get bigger and bigger, same as everything else left completely to capatilsm's own devices.
I agree hundred percent but more so with buying land around here, I'd say very little land around this part has been bought with borrowed money in the last 20 years.
Despite the vast majority of the " fair transistion" fund for climate change going to such industries. More bullshit
Go away outa that good lad🤷🤷
As Larry David said he used to be a poor schmuck, now he's a rich dick!
Food is political, always was, always will be. The EU may go broke, but the European Union will continue. The big European players need the economic clout/markets to keep their own economy going.
In June ‘23 the French parliament voted overwhelmingly to fight Mercosur, as did the Germans. Six months later and all has changed. The German car/heavy engineering industry is on its knees so they need access to Mercosur..at the expense of agriculture. France has changed its mind because they know that Europe needs a strong German economy and if agriculture has to be thrown under the bus, so be it.
Google translate;
https://www.francetvinfo.fr/replay-radio/un-monde-d-avance/mercosur-ou-en-est-l-accord-commercial-entre-l-europe-et-l-amerique-du-sud-qui-fait-redouter-une-concurrence-deloyale_6295326.html
Didn't read all that post, just the bit where you quoted me. I'm not sure of your point Re the off farm income limit. When I started farming I wasn't entitled to the national reserve because I worked too hard and earned too much money outside of farming. It's only right that it was abolished. It's typical of Ireland to punish the worker and reward to slacker.
I wouldn't believe dairy farmers work the hardest, A part time farmer with a 60 - 90 minute commute would be a lot harder.
Anyway, any dairy farms I've been on would have lads tripping you up in the yard, they all make sure they have plenty of help.
Close the eyes for 1 minute and imagine the EU has gone broke and the first thing they do is pull the cap budget.so there sfb ,greening, building grants, organic or whatever.how would agriculture and land use in ireland change