Ya I'm saying it for years it's the lads who don't have to make a living off it and it doesn't matter what they make from it. them are the lads who rent ground around here.
My post was directed at no one. All I was saying is that not every big dairy farmer is an eejit and not every non-dairy farmer is a nice guy.
Having said that, following the State’s advice has turned a few eejits into big dairy eejits but that’s half to be expected too 😂
Nope just a generalisation. In every walk of life and in every profession there's people who think theyre so much better than everyone else. In actual fact they're usually assholes
Let's be honest it was dairy farmers that have drove the price of rented land over the last 5+ years with the help of some tillage farmers in tillage areas.
Jayus Whelan bad night last night calving the cows or did you have too much wine. You forgot to quote a post as to who you were referring to. I suspect that it was me.
As the saying goes "sticks and stones will break my bones but names will never hurt me''
Down at the head of the bay we had a saying as well
" it takes one to know one and a bigger one at that"
It seems you finally got around to slagging me off here like you did in other online forums that I am not on.
When there was an non farming income limit on the young farmers top up few outside of tillage ( mainly those contracting) and dairy farmers had that scheme to themselves.
So now that ordinary mortals have access to it as well the it probably come as a shock to some.
I am not tarring anyone. But when you throw a stones at a pack of dogs the one that yelp are usually the ones that got hit.
As I pointed out the change to the young farmers top up had equalised the field a bit. I do not totally agree with it the top up or the way it operates but it is what it is. So if you can put a saddle on it you probably will.
But for ages it was a significant advantage to farmers that were full-time and ket be honest it was dairy farmers that have mainly driven the price of land both for renting and buying
Regs in Ireland are still non-existant, they’re not even enforcing the few that are in place!
Irelands farmers, Dept, Unions, Teagasc etc will fight to the bitter end to keep the ports flowing with cheap grains that don’t adhere to any enviro/phytosanitary regulations.
That ton of meal/cow must come from somewhere.
6.5 million tons of untraceable crap in 2022. What extra cost for those tons if they have to conform to the same regs that I have?? Dairy have been creaming it off the back of EU grain producers.
https://www.farmersjournal.ie/tillage/news/feed-imports-into-ireland-rise-in-2022-752234
You can’t tar everyone with the same brush, be they dairy, “ordinary”, part-time, whatever. Some people will be decent skins no matter what they have. Others will be eejits no matter what they have.
Nobody likes the big fella paying OTT for every acre in the parish. But he was probably always an eejit, no matter what type of farmer he is now.
It’s a bit like the saying, Money doesn’t change people - it reveals them.
Dairy farmers are seen as ,"having too much" by the begrudgers. Doesn't seem to matter that they also work the hardest.
This thing about dairy farmers out bidding others for land is BS too. I never rented an acre in my life and have no intention of doing so.
Plenty of farmers with their head stuck up their own arse, not all dairy farmers
Dairy farmers have an opinion if themselves thats the difference.Theres plenty of farmers with off farm buisness and jobs that make lots more per year
What’s the difference beteween an ordinary farmer and a dairy farmer 🤔🤔🤔
Nearly all SFP's are equalised now excefor a few outliers and by 2027 there will be even fewer outliers.
Biggest struggle now for larger farmers is the number of younger farmers using the young farmer allowance since having to be fulltime/income limits were abolished.
Gosh ordinary lads having the audacity to outfit dairy farmers for land
Mind you I have done it myself
Amen to that Jesus Christ it's unreal the things a lad will convince himself of to just go the extra50 an acre to rent or stick another ten thousand on there the other fella will stop soon.
The others as you well know is every other sector in the primary agricultural production front line. Just by default of turnover Alone and the ability to generate a cash flow limits the the ability to put money into the wider local economy. Themselves just the facts ....... I mean no disrespect.
Edit just to add I know what other types of farming can produce and what revenues they can generate I've been involved in pretty much them all in my farming adventures
They are .and remember there is and has been enormous grants/payments for all sectors in the economy the last 30+ years. especially in this country. the money given to farmers is a drop in the ocean in comparison. Nearly every business in the country is subsidised in some shape or form, its just agriculture is a soft target for the abuse and scrutiny. There will be literally hunger riots in parts of the EU before they link subs to food production again imo
To be honest the regs are going to be enforced one way or the other but wouldn't be great if acre was valued according to its possible production not its paper value.much like happened with quotas and like in the welfare state it quickly becomes better to do nothing than actually work after a few years
Who are “others”??
EU Payments are about a long time and I can't see them going to far for another long time.
We got payments in the 70s to produce as much as possible, payments now to produce as little as possible, the circle of life could predict payments in the future to over produce once again.
Can't see much payment losses, just reallocation.
Neigbor bounding us has about 50 acres half good half very mixed, gone organic very limited numbers of stock and in every other scheme he’s eligible for. Local guy who lost rented ground offered him 275 an acre to rent it before Christmas, neigbor told him he was getting more than that in payments and schemes. This guy has a great job in the tech sector he’s really winning and don’t blame him for working the system.
Ayee they do but they have by far and away the biggest work load and biggest benefits yto the local community. 4 in ever5 euro is turned again and spent back into rather community by dairy farmers..... you can't say the same for others
The system here is completely unacceptable and is slanted in ever increasing amounts of high nature low productivity low dependantancy (income wise)and supposedly higher biodiversity. Farmers I've a neighbour sound lad good neighbours. he's a state job and his 30 acres. Gets the same in payments as myself. his two sons are after giving silly Money each to rent two place roughly 35 acres each cos they qualify as young farmers. I couldn't justify paying what they are paying they don't rely on farming or anything associated with farming but there "farmers " ...its a joke at this stage.
Are they farmers
Sfp is significant here because we always had a beef operation so would be a big hit here, but I know plenty big dairy operations getting pittance compared to a lot of part time operations.
yet they have the highest incomes
https://x.com/anonymecitoyen/status/1750774852024144305?s=46&t=_hQhMOdpzMY0BgjushRSWg
It takes a certain type of scum..
Thing is those same langers would lose their sh1t if you threw a fagbutt out the car window.
He might have been put cleaning McDonalds
https://www.sudouest.fr/lot-et-garonne/agen/agriculteurs-en-colere-a-agen-les-manifestants-jettent-une-botte-de-paille-dans-un-mcdonald-s-18275654.php
Well it mightn’t be that nice from where you’re standing. There’s a helluva push behind this proposal. Farmers are now certain that you can’t stay competitive with all the enviro regs, whilst shyte that’s produced without any regs whatsoever are allowed free access to the EU.
Solution, drop SFP completely but make ALL imports comply with EU regs. I’m 100% behind it and so are everyone I know. Here’s hoping.
Yea, I’d like to know what really happened to the farmer who went on a solo run into Paris on his tractor.
Doubt if that memo was circulated in Ireland. There’s been a media blackout here until yesterday and is very hard to find any on line sources which are not opinion pieces or written by conspiracy theorists
A lot of dairy farmers would have no problem with them going as they get so little