He died earlier from a heart attack, very curious guy whatever you think of him. If he didn’t kill Sophie Toscan du Plantier he certainly didn’t help himself by his attention seeking behaviour.
Plus when “seen” on the bridge he was walking away in the opposite direction towards Goleen.
Killing someone and openly talking about it does tend to pique people's interest alright.
Just a tad.
Alfie would say that, wouldn’t he!
Btw any chance of that link to Farrell’s Jan 97 statement where she mentioned Ardmanagh road ?
It will be a total whitewash - reckon they’re already going “how can we change the dates on these computer files to make it look like a typed confession- I’ll type you do the computer trickery “
Is DNA not just DNA? What possible value is Baileys DNA today Vs 20 years ago FFS? They could have asked him for an updated sample any time since providing the original - why wait till now?
It is understood the search team also seized some personal hygiene products, such as combs and razors, which will be sent to the Forensic Science Ireland laboratory in Dublin. This will enable gardaí obtain a more detailed DNA profile than that developed from the samples that Mr Bailey provided in 1997.
They left his collection of CDs untouched so they’re obviously not pursing a line of enquiry of “bands most liked by murderers” - the DPP is breathing a sigh of relief as I type 🤪
Ian was known to be messy, inotherwords not big into cleaning up after himself, so I suspect they are hoping for fragments of Sophie's DNA to be entangled in his personal items.
Could have done that many years ago
See Barry George around Cork occasionally, he lives in Ballincollig. Last week he was in the City library using one of the computers, as I was passing I couldn't resist having a quick glance at what he was looking up and up on the computer screen was a picture of Jill Dando.
The direct route from Jules to Sophie's would take him past Leo Bolger's house.
P. S. I forgot you have to quote to answer. This was re Kealfadda Bridge
Remember it's the indo. They hung and quartered him years ago.
Their headline will be as sensationalist as you can get.
The reality according to a local person in Bantry is that gardai simply went in to see if there's anything worth looking at and took away a few items.
The landlord is now cleared to clean out the flat and relet it.
As normal as you can get. But the indo, as is normal with that rag, creates a sensational story out of a hum drum normal procedure
The notion anybody has DNA on them from people they met 30 years ago is pushing the envelope. Sounds more like Nick Foster's "IB went at 11 a. m. and took a watch of the body" story.
NF said he got the information from someone who wrote him a letter from Schull. To me the only person who could claim to have witnessed the watch incident, lives in Schull and would write a letter rather than email is Shirley. That is only my opinion. But if Alfie was the murderer he would have had a reason to take the watch, as if it stopped it would show the time of the incident . If the watch turns up now it would be easy for the Guards to plant it and change the time to suit their timeline.
I wonder what poor Maloney Baloney will do now? He'll be bereft. He's had 25+ years of regurgitating the same old same old.
"The reality according to a local person in Bantry is that gardai simply went in to see if there's anything worth looking at and took away a few items."
It would be very strange if they just left the landlord chuck it out in a skip on the side of the road.
That makes a lot more sense, the Gardai are just fishing through on the off chance they'll find something to help the cold case. The headline is a bit sensationalist alright.
He's still dining out on it... How could any journalist with an inquiring mind have "no doubt" about the perpetrator given the facts out there
A family member or his solicitor will see if there's anything they want and then yes its literally get black bags / skip and clear stuff out. Sadly that's how it goes when someone dies.
There'll be a queue of skip divers around the block.
Keep an eye on ebay 😁
Do we know who’s blood it was beside the hasp of the back door. That , to me, is an essential piece of the jigsaw
It was Sophie’s apparently.
I`m pretty sure that it`s all Alfie said. From there we get all kinds of invention about the nature of their relationship, from yourself saying he said she was a pain in the arse to another poster going on a big long spiel basically accusing him of murder, based upon something that Josephine Helen actually didn`t say at all as far as I am aware.
I already told you where I pulled Farrell`s statement from. Murder at the Cottage...Episode 2....14 minutes in.
Because most of the journalists know the facts of the case in some detail, which is more than can be said about most of the Keyboard Cops that frequent this place and social media generally. You have to be a conspiracy theorist to think that it was anybody other than Bailey.
I’d suggest that when IB visited AL at his house that after exchanging a few pleasantries That soon after that AL would be bringing up the existence of SDP , the issues he has with her, etc, etc. Or/and IB would bring it up because of his curiosity re who is living there and , he being a reporter/journalist would be professionally curious anyway. So, I recon that he would have known a lot about her through such channels
Oh sweet baby Jesus in heaven please come down and save me.
The DPP knew all the evidence gathered and were far from certain if there was a case against Bailey. Guess these conspiracy theorists so.
You seem to be quite agitated about it all. You needn`t worry though. I would imagine that he wasn`t stupid enough to leave anything incriminating lying about. He was expecting a knock on his door at some point.
As for the CD collection. For some people, music provides the soundtrack to their life, especially the madder types. When Bailey realised that he was a suspect and being followed in Schull by Gardaí, Elvis Costello`s "Watching the Detectives" played over in his head. He said this publicly. He was also a big fan of Ian Dury. He even came on an earlier thread to quote some of Dury`s lyrics and chose a curious verse....."Had a love affair with Nina in the back of my Cortina". Bailey only had access to a Fiesta at the time of the murder of course, but still.
Ian Dury had a number one back in the day with "Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick." Look it up if you don`t know it. Oh....and his band were called The Blockheads. I kid you not. I wonder what became of Bailey`s big "thinking stick". Apparently this was what Bill Fuller was searching for that day the panic set in at Kealfada. Seems to have disappeared around the time of the murder.
I'm loving that you're accusing others of conspiracy theorists but are now trying to use his music taste as evidence....
Has this been reported anywhere, that his walking stick went missing?
According to the pathology report the missing weapon was a stick or poker.
The housekeeper said a poker was missing from the house.
I noticed in the Netflix doc, Dermot Dwyer asked Ian Bailey if he played poker.
I wonder was this a ploy to gauge his reaction.
You wouldn`t want to be getting it into your head that DPP is infallible. Was he infallible in the recent Hutch case? The DPP is what a few regulars here keep falling back on when the going gets tough. There are many problems with that DPP report and I think a DPP back then should have been interviewing at least some witnesses to get a better sense of things at ground level.
He was reading statements given by locals describing how Bailey was out and about at all hours of the night in Bull McCabe garb, shouting and roaring outside neighbours properties, walking along white lines on the road in nothing but a cowboy hat and underpants. You wouldn`t blame any DPP for thinking all these people down there are mad. But they weren`t, they were telling it as it was. It was Bailey who was mad.