He died earlier from a heart attack, very curious guy whatever you think of him. If he didn’t kill Sophie Toscan du Plantier he certainly didn’t help himself by his attention seeking behaviour.
Ah certainly I wouldnt be saying he wasn't experienced. But lot of information I read on case was that a more appropriate time of death was never given as couldn't be given time body was there too long for that reason..witness statements and alibis a guard can't be as precise with..and the time's become more experimental.
Even the 12-2 I hadn't heard before...where is that taken from?
.bailey was barely home for 1230/1 and then slept for hour. If he wasn't ruled out for time previously then he should have been given the 12-2 .
25+ fcking years too late lads - keystone cops following pathetic orders - I reckon his solicitor might have something to say also - this is just getting comical - I suppose they’re going to produce a computer file in the coming weeks to show off to the DPP called “I did it and here’s how” 🤪
Would he now- and why might that be pray tell
If they do produce some new evidence how credible is it given the gardais history in this case. Also is there anyone left to fight for Bailey. I doubt his sister wants to get involved and will his solicitor keep fighting.
We'll have to wait and see what develops
She was on the phone to her husband at 11pm.
The food in her stomach had been eaten 2 to 3 hours previously.
The dogs of 3 different neighbours were barking from 12 to 2 am.
Yes possible on two points but dogs I read were barking earlier when bailey was in pub. Some where barking at 10-11 or that times and other up to 12. It wasn't exactly 12-2
So dogs a good distance away could hear the murder but neighbours 100m didn't? Nah, too easy to say that the dogs were barking because of her killing
https://www.corkbeo.ie/news/local-news/murder-west-cork-how-netflix-21070603
Did you know him well or do you just know a lot about him from media reports? 🙄
Agree. The sync of dogs barking and times of killing is not reliable information , similarly it was only seen as precular or coincidence in the most evidence read through
I wonder did they seize the large quantity of hand carved penises he made.
Neither.
They wouldn't stand up in court.
Yes I've just been able to check that now, you are correct, apologies. The second part that is, the first bit is just rubbish.
I'd say they needed hazmat suits to enter the kip.
Harbison said best estimate was "previous evening". But it looks like there was no discussion with the doctor and the 2 guards who noted 'fresh' and 'wet' blood between 10:40 and 11o'clock. Bear in mind the body had out in the open for at least 24 hours.
Yes upon further reading Harbison could give no further detail and labelled it estimate of time as previous night to the time till discovery of the body and no further detail. With official death cert indicating 22nd or 23rd December.
You might want to check this too because my memory of this is that Alfie merely said that Sophie liked to keep the gate closed.
Sorry, I thought he said "previous evening"
Well I guess phone call is always deemed last recorded time at 11 to her husband from evidence
I meant it as a double entendre
The one thing I'd take from all this is not to piss your life away on booze, fags etc etc like IB seems to have done.
Regardless of being guilty or not, he seems to have ended up as a sad individual ( as have so many others ) who've not prepared for later years.
He may be desperately unlucky. To be covered in scratches the same time as a woman is murdered in briars 4km up the road. The only murder in 100 years. It completely defined his life.
Is alcoholism a disease also? I guess he never tried to cure it. But he was under so much stress, I don't blame him for drinking and smoking.
I saw a video of him talking about not being able to go home for his mother dying and he broke down. I felt pity for him.
I saw another video of him on Tiktok and young lads are mocking him "Do you still lay blocks?". https://vm.tiktok.com/ZGerXHJm3/
He got beaten up in Cork once also.
He probably took so much **** and abuse from people for 27 years. No wonder his heart gave out.
I know he beat his partner 3 times but I still have empathy for him.
Leaving aside the fact that he was a violent woman beating c**t (and deserves a sh1tty life!), once he was labelled as the murderer, his life was effectively over (regardless of his guilt or innocence). He'd never get proper paid work anywhere. It's no wonder he ended up a sad pathetic individual.
He was previously working in the fish factory.
After the murder of STdP and his subsequent noteriety, Ian Bailey believed himself to be a celebrity and above all that.
He was welcome to believe what he likes about himself but he still would not have been able to earn a half decent crust.
To be fair I think he was probably quite an interesting person to live with or socialise with.
He was quite an open person also.
I bet he was thinking he'd get his name cleared and then write a great book on it like "In Cold Blood".
Very strange timing. Wait until the guy is dead and cremated and then search his flat? The cold case was reopened ages ago, why not do it while he's still alive? I'm guessing now that Bailey is dead there cannot be any charges brought against him? He can't defend himself.
Have a bad feeling there's a whitewash on the way. It'll appease the French and draw attention away from a shambolic Garda investigation. And we'll never be any the wiser as to how STDP met a violent end or at whose hands.
If the cold case finds no concrete evidence does the case just remain open indefinitely? Or can an inquest be held in some way? The chances of someone facing trial for this murder now must be practically zero.
Guilty or not, could have washed his f**kin hands ffs... jaysus
No. Kealfadda Bridge is in the complete opposite direction to the route which would have brought Bailey directly home and quite a considerable distance to walk - two kilometres or more. So, at the end of "Sophie's Road", let's call it, you turn left to head to Bailey's then home but right to head for Kealfadda Bridge. If Bailey was at the bridge that night it would mean he made a considerable detour. For what reason?? To wash bloody apparel, perhaps.