Old thread seems to be permanently locked. It will be interesting if anything can come of this at last.
Threadbanned Posters:
Thanks for the name. Strange that two men who could potentially have been involved killed themselves shortly after her death.
Aha. That rings a bell.
https://watchers.ie/2023/06/03/sophie-toscan-du-plantier-the-unusual-suspects-jim-sheridan-will-follow-all-roads-for-truth-jim-the-columbo-of-west-cork/
Yet another potential suspect..
How many is that in total, 10?
Have you noticed anything peculiar about the suspects/
We have 2 English, 3 French, 1 German. I can't recall many local Irish suspects being named.
I think it was a local Gard potentially known to her or another local.
But why a Garda ?
Is it because of the way everything was handled in the opening stages?
Was it because they were covering for one of their own that they performed so poorly?.
I don't believe that for one minute.
The incompetent investigation came from a lack of experience and a lack of resources.
This was a small local Garda force way out of their depth.
There was no grand conspiracy to cover up for a member of their own.
Such a conspiracy would never last the bones of 30 years.
Plus if you listen to the West Cork podcast, either on the show or as part of the Bandon Tapes one of the senior Gardai talks about Sophie's parents identifying her body.
The tone of his voice, the compassion he had for them did not sound like a guy who was covering up for one of his own in a brutal murder case.
But please, continue with your fantasies.
I believe he had terminal cancer and was quite ill at the time of the murder
No, it was told to me by someone who is close to one of the guard’s nurses.
the reason I haven’t mentioned it is because I’m aware that there’s several degrees of removal. But it’s not nothing. And that’s just what I was told. Imagine how many people in the area know much more
Why were pages neatly cut out of the evidence book?
as far as I recall these included the pages that included the why and how of the first instance of Bailey coming to their attention as a suspect.
Ok, fair enough but several degrees of removal allows for a lot of leeway with the truth..
It is West Cork..
Was the gate the only car and pedestrian entry point to the 3 houses?
For a car it was the only entry point.
However if the killer came on foot, he could have used any number of other ways to hike to Sophie's.
The question of the motive for Alfie and Shirley should have at least been considered. After all, they were the only ones who were near Sophie at the night of the murder and they both knew that Sophie was at her house that night. They both could have operated under the sense of security, knowing that the Richardsons were not home.
Alfie and Sophie were no friends, Alfie had a drug habit, Alfie knew Leo Bolger as well, Alfie had a property dispute, ( according to some statements ) with Sophie, they were certainly not on the best of terms, even argued over small things like the gates open or closed, etc...
Ian Bailey had absolutely no attachment with Sophie. Any kind of previous contact has never been proven, he may have known that the house was owned by a French woman, probably didn't even know she was at home before Christmas shortly after Sophie's arrival.
Bailey certainly didn't wait for Sophie to come to Ireland to beat up a woman, or interested in sleeping with her. It would have been a long wait either way. Financially he had nothing to gain from her death as well, - her ex-husband certainly did.
As she was found near the gate, she either ran there (which is less likely in my opinion) or altercation with Alfie may have happened there, also may explain the passion of the crime it Sophie had left the gate closed.
Guards have searched Ian bailey flat in bantry.
It's pretty rugged terrain around there. There's not really many practical options other than by the road, even on foot, by night. It's not like it's the plains of the Curragh in West Cork.
Strange. I thought they had Baileys DNA on record:
"A large quantity of items were seized, including a laptop, memory sticks and personal notebooks, along with personal items from which a DNA profile could be built."
From RTE news
Probably contanimated by now.
The Gardai have been asking for people who have information to come forward recently. Why hasn't the Nurse(s) done so if it's true? Or would any such 'confession' be interpreted as the ravings of a dying man?
I also think the killer came by the only road. In darkness it wouldn't have mattered anyway.
I don't think Bailey did it, he would not wait for half a year for his victim.
I still think it was either the ex husband sending somebody or if it was something local it was drug neighbour ( Alfie and or Bolger) and or corrupt Guard (maybe sexual) related.
However again thinking about motive I would strongly believe it was one Guard or a couple of them being in on something, and Sophie was in the way, could not be "reasoned with" and had to go.
Fact is and can not be denied is that the Guards went an awfully long way to pervert the investigation. Coercing a witness, giving drugs to a transient, the Bandon Garda tapes all captured the rest, even lost evidence all does certainly point to a Garda interest of things going into the wrong direction.
This would point to the fact that the Garda had a motive to behave this way.
Well now, isn't that interesting.
A few days ago someone posted, without a source, that the cold case investigation was heading in one direction and that was Bailey.
I wonder what they are expecting to find.
It's not proven as well. We honestly don't even know where she was precisely killed. We just assume it was by the gates as her blood was there and we assume she either walked or ran there. But any strong man who killed her, could have carried her there, put the blood at the gates, used the cavity block on her, as she was already dead.....
How many Guards would need to be in cahoots to achieve this?
To me it seems unlikely.
I think they were under pressure to close the case and Bailey was an easy target.
He probably irritated the shite out of them also.
It would be a very strange thing to do to move the body to a seemingly more visible location?
This is where I think the culprit is.
Something local and personal.
Alfie Lyons, Shirley, Leo Bolger, the Hellens etc...or someone else like that.
How did the killer know that the pumphouse had a loose block? That seems so personal and local.
Who would she interact with late at night or early in the morning in her pyjamas and bathrobe?
Who would know the location of her house and that she was home alone?
A warning, to keep her nose out of business that didn't concern her, that ended up going too far would fit the circumstances.
...which wouldn't suit the Bailey narrative being pushed by AGS
Alfie Lyons, had corrupt relationship with the Gardai.
Also why would STDP not have run in the direction of their house for help, instead she ended running away from their house when being attacked or pursued.
The block was used to keep the gate open, it was there a good while.
Why is there such a large pro-Bailey narrative here? The crime scene was majorly corrupted so lack of DNA is probably an out for any suspect.