He died earlier from a heart attack, very curious guy whatever you think of him. If he didn’t kill Sophie Toscan du Plantier he certainly didn’t help himself by his attention seeking behaviour.
He has access to much more info than us. Likewise AGS.
That's what makes me wonder why they're so certain.
Dermot Dwyer also still seems certain.
They would have access to pathology report, forensics, blood spatter analysis etc.
And the Gardai continue to keep the media informed on the details of their investigation.
However, if they're still scouring old videos to find a link between Bailey and STDP then surely that just indicates that the review team have made sweet FA progress?
There were tyre skid marks on the drive about 10 yards above the body, near the pump house, hard to tell if they were skidding to halt or taking off. On gravel, so no prints.
Hi. Where was this information if ok to ask I hadn't read it anywhere.
Why walk 20 ft from the body uphill to the pumphouse for a block when there was closer blocks and rocks nearby?
Not just that. Sophie was killed using three weapons, one possibly the poker, the slate and also the concrete block. Given that the murderer was probably using the poker and maybe then the slate, why then walk off and get the block? They aready had weapons which inflicted huge damage, why get the block unless you were making a statement e.g. revenge?
Yes but still not enough of actual substantial evidence. It's seems from what ive read of our legal system much relies on this level of evidence to bring to trail. The french system Is vastly different where if you bring a story and piece it generally together you can be convicted as they are saying with Bailey. But it will be more or less the legal systems that are bringing this to close. One needs more info the other has enough and have already convicted. It's joke really.
I think the slate hadn't "finished the job" so that's why they got the block.
Maybe our timeline is wrong.
Maybe they thought they finished her with the slate, then went back to the house for some reason and on their way back down the drive, noticed she was still alive so then got the block from the pumphouse.
Also another thing.
Shoe prints were found at the scene. Forensics tried to make a mold but it wasn't possible. Does anyone know if they could estimate a shoe size from them?
I'd imagine Ian Bailey had large shoe size given he was 6'4".
Now, they could be Shirley's when she saw the body on her way down, or the the Gardaí on their way up. There's numbered markers on them.
Edit;
Here;https://koudekaas.blogspot.com/2019/12/the-murder-of-sophie-toscan-du-plantier.html
Bailey was known to frequent Alfie Lyons house. From looking at the various maps, he would have to pass within feet of Sophie's house everytime he visited, and pass by her back door. Her house was within sight of Alfie's and a short walk away.
To argue he didn't really know her beggars belief. He likely had a very strong knowledge of her. He would also have known the road she was murdered on very well, including where you might find a cinder block, having been on it numerous times.
Different era of policing. Most rural gardai were clueless and they were probably never confronted with a similar situation before. Garda training has vastly improved since then as well as oversight. Nepotism, corruption and incompetence was endemic in previous generations of gardai.
They were certain about Joanna Hayes superfecundity for almost 40 years.
why has no one mentioned the lad who killed himself a month or so after this and told someone he had done something terrible, spoke french, lived close by
Maloney suggests that Bailey put his hand in the door and she hit it with the axe
Wonder did he get that from Garda
Also there is this mysterious " champagne clue" that he says Bailey wrote about 2 months before the wine bottle was found
Could all be nonsence
I mentioned it this morning.
The guards ruled him out as a suspect because he wasn't Ian Bailey.
I generally always floated with this theory that he was passing this place regular and was in sight of its surroundings. He would know the road very well.
The bottle of wine that was found, I've never seen it described as champagne. It was just described as wine. So I think he's reaching there.
Likely is - A bang of an axe would do more damage than a few scratches.
It's interesting the block
Why go to pumphouse then if there's others close by as you're saying?
that was at the time the had a witness though
I go to my mate house very regularly, he lives in a row of semi-d houses. I know one neighbour because he’s also local. I have absolutely zero clue who lives the other side of him. If they were murdered today I wouldn’t be able to pick them out of a line up of pictures of strangers. Would I be guilty of murdering them?? And they live there full time, Sophie only visited Cork.
No. What I meant was they were pinning it on Bailey whatever happened.
I'm sure the gardai believe he knew more about her than he pretends. At the very least she was on his radar I would say
A journalist like him and an exotic french lady
Doesn't stack up his claim of "only ever seeing her from a distance"
The above claim just sounds like an outright lie in itself
Not the same scenario. We are talking a very remote area with only 1 or 2 neighbouring houses. To not know who lived in the neighbouring house defies belief. Especially for a "journalist".
Everyone needs to read it - it’s fascinating reading. You can actually totally understand why the likes of Frank Buttimer no less Joules, who had many reasons not to support Bailey, both felt he was not responsible.
that DPP report covers the vast majority of issues raised and puts them very neatly to bed.
We can only take his word that he barely knew her.
I assume the Gardai interviewed Alfie Lyons thoroughly about this aspect:
How often was IB at your house? Did he meet Sophie? Did he ever mention or ask about her? Etc etc
It's not relevant to anything but I saw a video on Tiktok yesterday of young lads outside a pub asking Ian Bailey why he didn't lay blocks anymore.
I find it strange that the neighbour Alfie was never considered a suspect. It was well knows that he and she didn’t get on. Why didn’t she runs towards his house rather than away from it? Not saying he did it (i don’t believe he did) but there was as many if not more reasons to suspect him than Bailey
Maybe the killer went up to the house, left the smudge on backdoor, then on way down noticed Sophie was still alive whilst they were walking past the pumphouse.
Another theory is that they were stealing the electric pump when she confronted them.
Maybe they thought it was a toolshed and were looking for a tool or implement to finish the job.
My theory is that they knew the block was loose. They were familiar with it.
Lyons was interviewed and said he was 90% sure he introduced them, which is a very high probability he did.
(If Lyons was doing the gardai's bidding he would have said it was 100%).
There is a strong likelihood he did introduce them. Sophie is said to have told others she talked with Bailey.
An outright lie, why?
She didn't live there full time. She was only there rarely over the 3 years, and sometimes when she was there she was not alone.
She didn't seem to go to the local pub. There is no report of them ever being at the same party together, or dinner at a mutual friends house, or any social interaction like that.
Alfie links them but again, no record of them being in Alfie's house at same time. Just the (disputed \ uncertain) once off brief meeting in the garden. And even if we accept that brief introduction happened, it nowhere near qualifies as Bailey being 'familiar' with Sophie or vice versa. Or enough that Sophie would open the door to him at 3am say.
If he was referring to the wine bottle
He'd probably refer to it cryptically
Could have wrote it when he was drunk too and been careless
Not saying this is true at all but haven't seen this referred to elsewhere