In that survey last year i made sure i. Put in my favourite part of the show is the lads chatting.
I get the feeling the slagging is encouraged by all the lads. I picture the receiver smiling a massive grin when the other one is taking his shot
I listened to their episodes with Dan Carlin, which were decent, and then their recent series on the JFK assassination, which was fairly poor (as the lads themselves mentioned).
Klopp quitting is much worse
Ha, only just listened to the SC episode in question now and see this was actually mentioned!
Jesus, saw 30 new replies and thought one of the lads was dead or something.
I don’t know how that relates to my post. Read what I replied to maybe
There's literally an extra pod coming out today because of the Klopp news.
They take a lot of, dare I say most, Fridays off and more luck to them
Was just going to post that they'd chosen a bad week to take a Friday off!
Yeah, that was actually a very good listen to be fair.
It's fairly obviously Carsley isn't taking the Ireland job because the FAI have tapped up Klopp.
I mean I’m sorry if that stuff makes people uncomfortable but the lads knowing each other so well and winding each other up is literally one of the unique selling points of the show. Long may it continue.
not sure if you or I are in the minority but I find their arguments extremely mild to what I’m used to with friends. Just different lines for different people. As long as everybody knows where the line is it’s fine.
The only man for the job.
I was loving the “low energy Ken” comment yesterday, Murph went up in my estimation after it
Lee Carsley not taking the Ireland job. It’s all kicking off on the Second Captains’ beat the day they had an episode in the can.
Let it be Keano. Might as well be fun because we’re shite regardless. It’d also wind up Ken no end if we started winning matches playing defensive football so that’s another item in the plus column.
I might be in the minority here but their little spats is like they're airing out their dirty laundry on air, and I find it too uncomfortable to listen to! I'm all for a bit of craic but I find it sometimes goes on for too long with them and gets so personal, I'm just cringing listening to it. It was similar to when Ken was slagging Murph for only texting him when he needs something.
I mean…where did they hire Klopp from?
Well, if the other main option is Gerrard I think we can guess who he’d prefer
Quite OT, but Paul Rouse was great as a guest on The Rest is History on Ireland.
Will Ken be happy with Alonso being favourite to manage Liverpool next? Considering that he views Bundesliga as a fake league ….
No he was reacting to reports (eminating from the Sun journalist Owen Cowzer) that his appointment was happening in the next 7 days. Delaney said his information was that it wasn’t that close and was cooler on it than those earlier reports.
Am I right in saying that Miguel was really hinting, or almost outright saying, that Carsely is hot favorite for the job on yesterday's pod? There's reports on RTE now saying he's going to turn it down.
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2024/0126/1428768-carsley-to-reject-chance-to-manage-ireland-reports/
I noticed that too. There must have been an intervention.
Hopefully Jamie "like" Wall is next for some tough love.
On Tom Holland's initial comment, The Rest Is History is definitely far better without guests as the two lads are fantastic together.
With Second Captains, I find it can get a bit monotonous without guests to break it up.
US Murph is insufferable when you are up to speed on the sport. I like him talking about baseball or NBA cos i don't follow those and its usually just a bit of light colour he adds to story or some details I wouldn't know. But NFL, which i follow more than pretty much any sport these days he's in the Skip Bayless/Colin Cowherd category for talking nonsense. Add to that he dumbs it down for an Irish audience and its a hard listen. I was glad to see he got called out for ignoring the Ravens/Lamar last time. His 9ers homerism I don't mind too much.
They’re recording a special today on Klopp
Very different podcast today, but was excellent. Definitely recommend the listen, they're up in Derry meeting with the family of a man who was murdered by loyalists in the 90s and their hope for justice or the truth.
If we could just get Ken to stop caring about xg and the number of pressing attempts a player does too we'd be laughing. Xg needs to get in the bin.
Most of the guests are usually regular contributors though? So it still is like mates talking for the most part.
Maybe that's why I don't enjoy the rugby pods, feck all chemistry.
Also agree with a previous poster that Murph seems to have copped on. He is much more likable when he isn't butting in all the time. However, I do find it funny that he ever so pious about a lot of things but he often comments on men's physiques. The height thing and then on multiple occasions laughing at Kelce's "dad bod".