He died earlier from a heart attack, very curious guy whatever you think of him. If he didn’t kill Sophie Toscan du Plantier he certainly didn’t help himself by his attention seeking behaviour.
No, all lights were off.
I believe Shirley Foster recalled seeing the outside light on before she went to bed.
He died Sunday.
His estate has not gone to probate yet.
The article is paywalled, but how could Ralph personally know what he owns or doesn't?
Was the light left on when she was found?
"Did someone break in thinking the place was empty whilst someone outside kept watch?"
Her hire car was parked outside the door and she usually left the outside light on at night.
What a way to go, penniless and the only assets he owned were his clothes, a few books and a few wood carvings.
After 66 years on this earth not one friend, former work colleague or member of his family were there at the cremation ceremony.
https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/crime/ian-bailey-died-penniless-leaving-just-his-clothes-books-and-sophie-toscan-du-plantier-murder-case-files/a630803717.html
To me it seems personal. Rage, anger, resentment.
That is certainly one plausible theory.
But another would be it was concerted panic.
What have we 3/4 potential murder weapons?
There were reports that breaking into the holiday homes to steal alcohol was a problem in the area. There was a rather unique bottle of French wine found a few fields away, months later. This also disappeared from evidence.
Did someone break in thinking the place was empty whilst someone outside kept watch?
Was she assaulted as she fled and in blind panic the person or persons who beat her to death were afraid of being identified.
Her injuries were extensive and everywhere, back, front, legs, head, knees.
Sure 1 man intent on murderous rage would concentrate on the head, unless someone was already beating the head and someone else beating the body. Were some rocks thrown at her.
If the comment is true that the Guards narrowed the suspect pool to a local aged between 25 and 40. The investigation could have been doomed from the start.
Was everyone with a history of burglary, whatever age interviewed?
No trial! Found guilty of assaulting his partner , guilty in his murder trial in France, lost most elements of his civil cases as well.
what trial was he found not guilty in ?
just seems like a stretch that he wouldn’t have made it his business to know her based off their backgrounds. Did Leo’ Bolger not confirm that he was keen to show her his poetry? Pretty sure I listened to that in West Cork podcast.
As far as we know, they barely knew each other.
She only had the house 3 years so was only in Cork a few weeks in total probably.
He's a drama queen that senan baloney
To me the contract killer or an other is less likely
Something about baileys false alibi and the different ways he got scratched is just too implausible to be legit
To my mind anyhow
That would mean bailey was gone the whole night writing or fell asleep doing it
And the reason they concocted the alibi was the story would be disputed or not believed
I did wonder earlier is this plausible if he didn't kill her
Other issue he came back in morning with a new scratch (on head) Jules asked him and he said it was a stick.
Or she!
How do you know he barely met her once? His house was 3miles from hers. Not exactly a whole heap of other houses around either.
I'd like to hear it confirmed they were about to divorce
Ya can't plan for the block killing but maybe he was instructed not to use gun or knife cos that would look like a contract killing, so any sort of beating
I don't think it was the husband.
I think it was someone close to her in Cork. A local.
Not Ian Bailey. He barely met her once.
He had a couple of ex wives I wonder did he send out the boys with rocks to them too
Is it confirmed they were about to divorce ?
Having a mistress may not be that unusual
Seems risky sending a hitman to Ireland rather than doing it in France
Have the family ever voiced any suspicions about the husband , they seem adamant it's bailey
“Who the hell buys a Christmas tree on the 23rd of December? They’ve already got them up.”
Back around then, it could easily be the 23rd when the tree went up in our house, I remember one year it was Christmas Eve
See post I did earlier today - it will save me writing it out again. Ignore the first paragraph - that's just about Sophie's visit to Cork
Hitmen For Hire in Cork page of the French Yellow Pages.
How do you theorize the husband arranged the hit ?
Lol
What you don't know won't bother you. If you do find out, put it up on donedeal and some Ghoul will pay good money for it.
Imagine buying that gate at a Garda auction thinking it was unclaimed stolen property
Have a look on the other thread Tom. I wrote about various theories there in detail. If you had done your research you would know
I think ithe murder was organised by Daniel or the neighbours next door were responsible - that's my theories. Both had motive and opportunity.
French hitman with rocking horse.
i wonder if Bailey was cooking the turkeys on the same bonfire he was burning his clothes in?
I agree with the Garda theory and can see enough holes in baileys story to believe he's the likely killer
Gardai were incompetent and should have done more with what they had
Also fabricated the eyewitness evidence to secure a prosecution
What other theories should I be considering?