He died earlier from a heart attack, very curious guy whatever you think of him. If he didn’t kill Sophie Toscan du Plantier he certainly didn’t help himself by his attention seeking behaviour.
Jesus Titty Christ, I don't think she was involved, the guards think she was involved.
She was arrested twice by them, once for literal murder and second for covering up for a literal murderer. - sic
5 times I have explained it to you, short of getting the crayons out I can't explain it any further.
One of the dpp's criticisms of the case was that they focused pretty much entirely on Bailey. So personally speaking I think they potentially failed to identify other suspects in the first place.
I think it's you that needs the crayons boggles
It's no surprise me that she was arested
I believe she provided an alibi for Bailey but is not aware of the murder
You've nothing to back your claim that she was involved in the murder
Stating that she was arrested twice isn't proof
That's exactly what happened.
There is plenty tribunals and reports that show how certain members of the Gardaí acted back then in Ireland.
They were cock sure they could just bring the 2 of them, break them and get them to admit it.
When that didn't happen they had nothing.
Potentially yeah. Or they felt they had the right suspect so wanted to focus on him.
I do recall a senior investigator saying he was convinced Bailey was guilty. Now you could read that two ways: (a) he would say that and is just covering up that they botched the investigation or(b) they focused entirely on Bailey because they were convinced he did it. If it was a case of they were bending the facts to suit the theory, in a cold case review shouldn't another suspect emerge if they are actually following the evidence? Unless she was in fact murdered by a random stranger who fled never to be seen again.
Didn't Bailey in an interview mention a suspect in Bantry who is now dead. Although I believe that claim was widely ridiculed.
Not sure if that Bantry suspect is the Garda who apparently did it , he is now dead.
Ya this it never gets old 😁
The investigation should have been based on evidence, not feels.
There was **** all evidence. Hence why you have us eejits talking about it 27 years later!
From the report by the Gardai ombudsman "The prominence of Ian Bailey in the Jobs Books clearly identified him as a suspect early in the Garda investigation. However, the Jobs Books did not account for, or explain, the decisions taken in the garda investigation, particularly in relation to the arrests of Ian Bailey and Jules Thomas which had been planned". Based on browsing it, there was just a huge level of incompetence at the very least, so their conclusions aren't exactly reliable. The dpp went a step further described the case as 'thoroughly flawed and prejudiced' against Bailey. So I'm not sure why anyone would be particularly confident in the investigating officers at the time.
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&opi=89978449&url=https://www.gardaombudsman.ie/news-room/archive/information-report-from-the-garda-siochana-ombudsman-commission-at-the-completion-of-the-investigation-into-the-complaints-of-ian-bailey-catherine-jules-thomas-and-marie-farrell/%3Fdownload%3Dfile%26file%3D2748&ved=2ahUKEwiW0YbZjvaDAxVbXUEAHRu2BAgQFnoECC4QAQ&usg=AOvVaw331EOHZUcAomyeYhGznvCf
Yes it is
I do recall a senior investigator saying he was convinced Bailey was guilty.
Was it Det Chief Supt Sean Camon?
1997, September 29th: State Solicitor for west Cork Malachy Boohig sends a 2,000-page file on the murder to the DPP. He receives a letter back on 8th October from law officer Robert Sheehan with a series of questions for gardaí and no charges are brought.
1998, March 9th: Mr Boohig attends a meeting in Bandon with senior gardaí after which he says he is approached by Det Chief Supt Sean Camon who asks him to convince then minister for justice John O’Donoghue to get the DPP to charge Mr Bailey.
Whatever your feelings on the case, that is a terrifying abuse of power. If that what is what like at the top can you imagine what sort of shenanigans went on with the detectives who refused to cooperate with the GSOC investigation.
In that article, it mentions that her statement also appears to back up his story re the scratches on his hands:
Ms Thomas said Mr Bailey had killed three turkeys for Christmas on Sunday, December 22nd, 1996. She said he had then climbed up a tree to cut off the top to use as a Christmas tree and she noticed scratches on his hands when he came back down.
Jules being arrested twice
That would be for withholding information on the alibi
I don't believe she was involved in the murder but bailey pushed to provide the alibi that he was in bed
Put it to her that gardai wouldn't believe the story of leaving the house to write a story
It was too risky to confide in Jules about the murder
That info could come out anytime , under duress when being questioned, after a bust-up or she would simply go to Gards immediately with the info
if bailey didnt do it that means that the real murderer is still out there (if still alive)
the gaurds should of got outside help from UK/US a long time ago if they didnt think the French were impartial
That west cork murder blog that I won’t link directly to, seems to have it in for Jules in a big way - quite astounding what they’re alleging
I’m a casual observer and infrequent poster but I’ll be honest, your tone and your posts have touched a nerve.
You really need to get off your high horse - posting things like “Any rational thinker will conclude that she was visited by a local caller with amorous intent
A chase ensued and she was killed in a violent rage
I just assume a lot of posters can't think logically . Maybe their brains haven't been trained to think clearly via work , training or education
It seems the only explanation for the Alfie and hitman theories etc.”
I would say that likelihood of Bailey being the murderer is no more than 50%, so as a result people are entitled to have other views and offer other suggestions about what might have happened and to take the view that he may be innocent. It doesn’t make them irrational or illogical to do so.
Also just to point out, on another thread five hours after you posted this, you claimed to not know the details of Marie Farrell so how can you use Marie Farrell’s “evidence” in this post to assert Bailey as the most likely suspect.
The Gardaí knew full well the French were impartial, and that suited them fine. They handed anything they felt incriminated bailey over to the French police. But they hadn't banked on the extradition failing. Had Bailey been extradited then all down the pub , job done, fcuk the big black English bollix1
What are they alleging?
I am not sure. Was he the guy that was interviewed in the Jim Sheridan documentary? That is an appalling of abuse power indeed, but unfortunately such things weren't isolated incidents that only happened in that region.
Jules is still alive, any such allegations could result in legal action, would not be advisable to repeat them here if so.
@Oscar_Madison I'm sure you'd agree.
Its a website full of barmy conspiracies trading as facts - I’d rather not say as a result but a quick google will get you there though
Not reading it all but 1st para is correct it's rational to believe that
2nd para is also what the gardai believe happened
That's what the gardai at the scene deduced happened
It's not just me they're not working with any other theories
It’s absolutely not nonsense. The general rule is that suspects aren’t named until they are charged, not upon arrest.
Think you should watch a bit more of the news.
Yeah it does. I read it when I linked it.
This is a very interesting question
Was Jules providing an alibi believing he had gone to write a story
Or did she know
I believe it's the first
Anyone find it strange that not a single non-official person turned up at his funeral? Not even a reporter or some curious person within walking distance?
"It is understood his family wanted a low-key service away from the media spotlight" - what?! He loved being in the spotlight by all accounts, wouldn't his funeral be a last chance to have sympathetic thoughts towards him. They didn't even show up themselves for crying out loud. They sound nasty to me.
how do you know what theories the Gardai are working on ? because you read it in the indo lol. anyway, the other poster has a very valid point for someone who is 60 to 80 percent that Bailey did it you should know a little bit more about mairead Farrell. you are making comments on something you know very little about .....
Well he was a very nasty man, I’d imagine that can lead towards shag all people at your funeral.