Old thread seems to be permanently locked. It will be interesting if anything can come of this at last.
Threadbanned Posters:
Why would a credible source give this vital information to nick foster an unknown writer ? He's a total bullshitter .
Yes he saw the Garda file
Later in article he refers to the 4000 page case file the review team are examining
Must be 2 different things? He'd hardly have the latter
Agree to a certain extent. Jim Sheridan has a bit of credibility and is around the block. Nick foster appeared from no where and has no track record in anything, very odd
Yep. So he is now going around saying things are in the Garda file, when what he really means is, someone gave me a tip and I'm basing this theory on what is in the Garda File but the information isn't actually stated in the Garda file.
And this was Nick Foster, from another of his sources back in 2021:
‘It’s to do with a watch, a silver watch — so a watch of a specific type — that the killer stole from his victim’s body immediately after the murder.’
Of which we have heard nothing more.
https://extra.ie/2021/12/10/news/irish-news/sophie-toscan-du-plantier-trophy
like Deirdre Jacob, JoJo Dullard, Áine McCarrick, Fiona Pender, Fiona Sinnott and a few others whose names I cant quite recall these cases may never be solved.
Nick foster is full of sh1t. A watch surfaced in Schull with Sophie’s son’s name engraved on it.
Turns out it was the watchmaker’s name.
I note this tweet by The Phoenix mag which points at the media's involvement in the hunt (their words!) for Bailey. Now while Bailey was a bit of a media whore, I think there is something in this...
The tweet then links to this article...
it looks he is considered even fairer game now he's dead. from past experience we know trial by media rarely leads to good outcomes.
The libel case was many years earlier than that… I believe that Sarah Limbrick has been contacted much more recently as part of this review and in relation to violence in her marriage to Ian Bailey.
The article linked was from 2003, and the libel case was 2016?
I'd like to see something specific \ solid to that point as to what she has said recently, if we're going to disregard a libel verdict. Second hand rehashes of it from the likes of Nick Foster are established to be unreliable.
or Gardai cover-up...
The father of Bailey’s ex-wife cited psychological cruelty as being one of the grounds for the divorce. There were detailed incidences of physical abuse suffered at the hands of Ian Bailey. The matter of a suspected forgery and an insurance policy taken out on Sarah Limbrick’s life was also the subject of a police investigation in England.
Ok elaborate.
What sort of cover up ?
What are current Gardai covering up in possibly the most high profile murder case in the country?
Who exactly are these Gardai in a rural town in west Cork, some of whom may have only been toddlers in 1996, still protecting and why?
Why would psychological cruelty be cited, if they had the more significant physical abuse to cite? Doesn't make sense.
A police investigation which lead to what exactly? Did it actually happen or not?
And if there are detailed incidences, why did Bailey win the libel case?
All you have here are rumours and suspicions.
Well AGS officers involved in the investigation were covering something up when they destroyed pages from the Jobs Book. They are on tape putting pressure on another officer to change a witness statement. Evidence was lost whether through incompetence or because it didn't help further the case against Bailey.
First I heard of this. Could you post a link to where I can read more on this. I would be interested to hear more on this
in fairness the gardai were up to all sorts of shite all over the country during the 90s ... the morris tribunal . Not saying it was a cover up or anything but the way the gardai functioned back then i wouldnt be suprised
But who exactly would they be covering up for and why would it still be going on.
There are probably Gardai that started in Bandon after Sophie was murdered that are retired now.
How does this cover up last through three generations of Garda turnover?
Incompetents through inexperience I understand, but some wider scale conspiracy I don't.
As for the missing evidence, other than the gate which was not missing but rather just destroyed when the family didn't want it back, is there any other "missing" evidence?
Because the gardai that are in Bandan now don't know what the hell happened. The cover up was done years ago.
Not sure why the cover up needs to last generations? Today's officers are working from a poisoned well.
The gate was missing in terms of AGS knowledge of it. Subsequently it was established it had been destroyed but it doesn't say much for their chain of evidence keeping.
Isn't the wine bottle missing?
What happened Bailey's jacket?
some nutters thing this is the MOST likely theory! Garda killed her because she saw him having and affair and they all covered it up. Just contrarian people for the sake of it.
https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/lost-five-files-139-statements-and-one-gate/37185350.html
my point is - if a gard at the time killed her and he covered it up - potentially by himself or with help...
im just saying that is a possibility and i think much more likely than Ian Bailey being the culprit.
so it's a possibility - a local senior gard was having an affair with a married woman and Sophie spotted them by accident and he killed her and then covered it up - not outside the realms of possibility.
the gard that is rumoured to have done this then committed suicide years later.
is it possible that current day gards are aware of this and incentivized not to make it public or followed up? Yes of course that sounds reasonable.
So my point is - gards being guilty of incpompetence is just as likely as gard(s) being involved in the murder.
Dont forget in Ireland in the 1980s, 70s, 60s, 50s etc - a lot of weird, dodgy and illegal things happened well before modern times.
Jesus, when you read that you have to think something is rotten in Denmark. Crazy stuff
That's the tip of the iceberg.
Check out the full extent of the shenanigans with Marie Farrell.
What a steaming load of complete conspiracy s"*te.
Do you really think that it's more likely that some senior Garda rather than the man with the changed story, the scratches, the bonfire, the timely arrival at the scene, the admission of guilt to two different people, the ambiguity about knowing her, with a history of violence to women, killed her ?
And do you seriously believe all of this has been covered up by multiple Gardai in multiple locations for 27 years, without a word coming out from anyone?
You're mad.
So you. really think that this supposed local Garda's first inclination when he realised that Sophie was aware of his extra-marital shenanigans was that he had to batter her to death?
It's a good one, I'll give you. that
Most of that Ian Bailey nonsense has been debunked earlier in the thread, there's no point repeating it again. I think Ian Bailey had issues, a big mouth and liked the attention - but i don't think he killed her.
The other main alternative was another killer connected with the gards and assisted cover up by the gards. That's just my opinion.
Anyone these days that is influenced by the mainstream media is an idiot IMO. Dig a little deeper and you'd be surprised what you find.
It's easy to call someone a nut job just because they don't buy RTE's bullsh!t and dismiss them. Perfect example is people who believe Michael Jackson was a pedo per the mainstream media. But spend 60mins online looking into the various cases and all the court documents freely available online and you'll come to a very different conclusion. Sure i could go one with different examples - the most recent being COVID lockdowns.
I’m afraid you are wrong in a number of respects. Psychological cruelty is often cited in divorce cases in addition to physical violence. Bailey lost his libel case, which is well known - there was one ground out of many where Judge Moran ruled he was entitled to succeed and that was not because Bailey had not been violent in his marriage (two witnesses testified that Bailey had told them he had assaulted his wife) but because the claim had been made by the newspapers but not substantiated by them at that time. The Sun and the Mirror were each ordered to pay £2,800.
You should be able to find it - the information is publicly available.