He died earlier from a heart attack, very curious guy whatever you think of him. If he didn’t kill Sophie Toscan du Plantier he certainly didn’t help himself by his attention seeking behaviour.
It's a long video but very interesting......
I agree. I do not think he did it either. It is a stain on our country that he was hounded when he was found not guilty. If he was guilty, i think he would have left west Cork and f***ed off to some other country long ago to live in peace.
Found not guilty? Sure he wasn't even charged with anything!
I never followed the case very closely but i think he was questioned twice by Gardai. His life was changed forever by the murder and the Gardai investigations anyway.
Effectively the DPP found him not guilty beyond a reasonable doubt by determining that the evidence didn't even warrant a prosecution \ was not safe enough to put before a jury.
What evidence had French police to charge him, find him guilty?
I do think he was innocent and it was a member of AGS, with a botched and cover up case
The wisdom of crowds would I believe convict Ian Bailey.
theres no evidence of anyone being in Sophie's house related to the murder,that fact doesnt exonerate Bailey,just means we need to go on other evidence and for me the circumstantial evidence against Bailey,his changed Alibi ,his violent nature ,his defensive wounds and his confessions make him the no 1 suspect.
ah yes, that's what we need right now, more wishy-washy nonsense of things that may or may not have a slightly more chance of being true than randomness.
Agree
Yes, I would certainly agree serial killers have been known to inflict a great deal of violence beyond what is necessary to kill. Whoever murdered Sophie wanted to destroy her beyond recognition, whether it be premeditated or in the heat of the moment.
I know what you’re trying to say but sorry that’s just stretching the truth - it’s not the DPPs role to find a person guilty or not guilty- only to progress with a prosecution where they feel the evidence accumulated has a reasonable chance of obtaining a conviction (or similar wording) - what the lack of progression from a legal perspective shows, is that the evidence available to the prosecution, wasn’t sufficient to progress with a case that had a reasonable chance (or whatever the wording is) of securing a conviction.
In other words, the Gardai might be cock sure but that’s not good enough- and thank Christ for that.
saying all of that Jules, Baileys partner, changed her story to state Bailey left their bed at 10pm or 11pm (can’t remember which) and didn’t return until 9am the following morning.
^^^^ Is that correct what I’ve read elsewhere? I know Jules has said in the last couple of years, she doesn’t believe Bailey is the murderer- that’s very clear support especially considering her testimony around his movements on the night in question, considering he has provided a different version
They worked off the same "evidence" that our DPP rejected multiple times.
some of Bailey's supporters suggest a Wicker Man like collusion among the locals against him.
I see Jules on the 6 One news saying that she believes he wasn’t responsible for the reason that he was unable to stop talking about everything he did, like forever. Inotherwords he would have given account through the years and likely “boast” of the deed, and maybe even fine jail for it. That’s Jules’ reasoning and she knew him as well as anyone did, not that you can always know everything about a person if they have a very dark side.
One reason why he would really want to avoid jail is that he would not be able to drink in prison, and he was known to have quite an issue with alcohol which may have contributed in no small measure to his death.
Yep, it doesn't look like Jules will be changing her tune after his death and is still saying he didn't do it.
She also said that he was extremely messy, so there would have been blood everywhere.
How do you imagine miscarriages of justice happen in a small town?
The Guards made the locals think Bailey was a dangerous madman and werent too fussy about evidence once it was against Bailey.
The Guards engaged in malpractice in the case. Unsafe practices with witnesses. Evidence lost and tampered with. Talk of changing witness statements. Remind me, was that in the plot of the Wicker Man?
Mods can we remove the rip reference and changed to "dead" or something similar?
He spoke enough though didn’t he? You could view his outbursts to various people as an inability to keep it to himself
Correct
It was a tree for his own use
The tree was for his own use
Like I said your derailing the thread. Saying first there's no evidence of him being violent, then admitting he was when presented with evidence, and repeatedly refusing to say if he attacked his partner or not.
The bar for being a suspect and being found guilty are at different levels.
This simple concept flies over the head of many people.
The DPP are generally focused on securing a conviction.
But there is no question Bailey should have been treated as a suspect which he was. Securing a conviction based on a lack of solid evidence and/or an inept investigation is a different matter. The Satchwell case is a good example of this. Many thought he was guilty, many thought the opposite. But the hard evidence to secure conviction was not there. He was guilty as sin btw.
Met him once, could well believe he could take a life.
If he didn't do it, maybe it was that vibe off him that made the local guards put him in the frame.
He definitely looks sinister. Black, lifeless eyes.
In saying that, I still think he's innocent but he does have a dark presence.
Strange days - 'barry Molloy' just went poof, when the account set up today seemed set to reveal?
I was sorry to hear this news today. This man was tormented by an ineptpolice force and by a nasty liar who gave false witness that she saw him crossing the bridge that night (to cover up her own infidelity). Add to that the usual small town gossip and an underlying anti English sentiment that is pervasive in Ireland.
Poor man. He was a failed journalist that thought this story help him get some work - instead it destroyed him.
I have a friend who wrote one of the defining articles about the case in a Sunday newspaper at the time where she left no doubt that he was guilty. In later years I realise she was just joining in the pile on and knew no more than anyone else.
Sorry, but what a bunch of spoofers.