Old thread seems to be permanently locked. It will be interesting if anything can come of this at last.
Threadbanned Posters:
I assumed they took fingernail scrapings as it's standard practise, even back then, but I don't recall it been said anywhere.
Do you know if they covered the body in those crime scene tents they use these days?
I thought Ian Bailey could only drive as far as the police cordon which was the boreen leading to her house. I thought he said that somewhere.
It's difficult to know how incompetent they were or was it just bad luck.
The state pathologist taking 3 days to reach the scene is shoddy but under the circumstances, it's understandable.
Problem is, if you're part of a jury in the murder case you have to be convinced that Bailey is the guy. Not the other way around. Prosecution has to convince the jury, beyond reasonable doubt, of his guilt. That's why the DDP never sent it to trial, the evidence was never enough for that. Sending it to trial risked a not guilty verdict and the chance of a re-trial close to zero due to double jeopardy.
" it appears Bailey compromised the murder scene and was allowed to do so. apparently he even leant over her body, thereby destroying the possibility of any objective analysis of DNA."
That sounds like Nick Foster, did he explain how it was supposed to work? If Bailey compromised/contaminated the scene how come he failed to leave any DNA?
"The state pathologist taking 3 days to reach the scene is shoddy but under the circumstances, it's understandable."
John Harbison the pathologist was there within 24 hours.
The body and the area around the gate was covered with 2 large tarpaulins purchased in the local hardware shop on Monday around Noon,
Ah ok.
Was it the body was out for 3 days?
No max would be 38hours, from midnight Sun till Noon Tues. Min about 30 hours .Autopsy commenced in Cork at 2pm Tues
Ok they are not facts
Your 2 counterarguments above
Is that your counterargument?
You don't expect a serious reply to that I presume
End of engagement with you I think based on above anyway
Who made those dubious claims about Bailey at the crime scene?
I havent seen anything solid showing he was that close to the body.
Plus in 1996 they werent looking for DNA like that. They were looking for hair, fibres, blood. Nothing of Baileys was found. Breathing wouldnt contaminate the scene. So not sure how he is meant to have contaminated the immediate scene even if he was there - which is doubtful.
You can't believe a word out of that woman's mouth
DNA was standard by then.
His presence at the scene would definitely contaminate it. It would mean forensic evidence could be inadmissible.
I'm not sure he got that close though. I think they had a cordon at the boreen.
Touch transfer DNA was not in standard use in 1996 ie cells / residue from contact or touching. They were looking for hair, skin fragments, blood, saliva etc.
Its a moot point as likewise I dont think he was that close to the body.
I’d say we will be treated to a lot more evidence over the next few months only the Gardai were privy to while Bailey was alive.
I meant like semen, hair, blood, saliva etc.
@tomhammer.. @orangerhyme
both of you stop bickering like children would ye. Ridiculous quips from you both, if you cannot speak to one another with a shred of respect, then please discontinue doing so.
Thanks.
i heard it today on Joe Duffy. this guy Nick Foster claims the Gardaí at the scene failed to cordon the crime scene effectively, and allowed Bailey access as he was a reporter. he also claimed Bailey was leaning over the body, which as you correctly said could contaminate the crime scene and also result in any of his DNA being found to be inadmissible.
also a witness statement from a guy at the local filling station stated "he say Sophie at the filling station on the morning of her murder and there was a very tall man with dark hair in the passenger seat. he had an English accent"
Bailey separated from his first wife after trying to strangle her. he was abusive towards Jules Thomas in Cork who also left him.
If it was Nick Foster making those claims you cant believe a word of it. He has a reputation for making headline grabbing claims about the case based on zero evidence.
The guy in the petrol station was discussed in the thread and there was no positive identification of Bailey. This article discussed it... no mention of an English accent.
https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/sophie-toscan-du-plantier-seen-2120831?int_source=amp_continue_reading&int_medium=amp&int_campaign=continue_reading_button#amp-readmore-target
There was a libel case in 2016 and no evidence was forthcoming to support the claim that Bailey was violent to his ex wife.
well he's got a copy of the Garda file. hardly zero evidence.
How did that come about?
He has written a book about it, and he was on with Joe Duffy to plug it. Joe was only too glad to accommodate him because he's of the same viewpoint.
I have no idea if Bailey is innocent or guilty, but if you want balance don't be listening to Joe fckin Duffy!
That doesnt mean the specific claims he is making now are in the Garda file.
Take one point - If the guy at petrol station had an English accent why isnt it mentioned in the media interview with the witness? The witness is now dead so cant contradict whatever Foster adds on.
Multiple times on the thread a headline of his popped up promising this breathrough or that was just about to happen. Last time it was to do with a watch I think... then silence.
he claims Bailey gave him a copy.
he says these claims are in the Garda file, which he has on a memory stick. but from what this guy says the Guards made a complete mess of the initial investigation. are you surprised? is anyone?
as to Bailey's guilt/innocence, like everyone else commenting here, i don't know.
Surprising to me as I believe he's guilty
What wouldnt the Garda file include?
Ah nick foster FFS, on pat Kenny a few years back during lockdown... a spoofer and a bluffer making a few quid of some ones murder. No different to bailey in my eyes.
Just so I'm clear we're talking about baileys Garda record ?
Or is this a murder case file
He is contradicting himself then.
In this interview he doesnt say it is directly in the Garda file. He says it came from a source and he then had to go through the Garda file "looking for clues" - whatever that means.
Excerpt:
information relates to an alleged breach of the Garda cordon and the contamination of the crime scene.
He added: “My source is entirely plausible with impeccable credentials. What he told me made my jaw drop.
“A person, whose name was given to me, was able to penetrate the crime scene on the morning after the murder and even knelt down over the body.
“It took me a while to go through the Garda file looking for clues, but they’re there.
“I went to Ireland to see if it was physically plausible, and it stacked up."
https://www.corkbeo.ie/news/local-news/killer-returned-kneel-over-body-22516347
listen to the podcast. he said "the Garda file".
No different to any of them Sheridan Netflix the press
STDP has been the gift that keeps giving and will probably continue doing so