You would swear he was expecting U2 to be using the garden room to record their next album in.
400 quid for the shed, so that's another 10k added to the budget
Why did they buy a house that’s so unsuitable for them. Did they not get an engineer to check it out first. Did they not pay attention to the ber rating. So much money and so little sense.
Here
More than that. He's nutritionist to Dublin football teams and was involved with Leinster rugby (could still be - open to correction)
100%
Heating system selection on this episode should form a major part of it, at a guess we won't know at the end what they went with.
Dermot looks very different in that Cafe scene with the QS where they discuss their concerns over the grants. His hair on particular is actually greyer. And she is wearing a heavy winter coat when the show looks to have been filmed in the summer.
I wouldn't be surprised if they filmed that about 3 days ago and dropped it in to try and save the show from being axed.
In fairness a pretty standard semi detached house and no money for a big extension so looking forward to what Dermot actually does.
Think the husband is on this for publicity for his business
So what's the bet it will end up costing more than the 130 k and somehow the money will magically be found.
You'd swear they were living in an igloo with all the whinging about the cold.
130k for a retrofit should be plenty ( but not for DB)
The hyperbole is something else, houses in Knocklyon are igloos now
This should be a simple do up job
But Dermot will run out of money
My dream setup 😁
And don't forget another show with cold rooms
They have a house they bought for 500k I give up
Welcome to tonight's grant fest 😁
Do the clients still have to pay Bannon's and the QCs fees? If not then I'd say it's great value if your willing to lay out your personal life on national tv
Agreed
If you are handing out plaudits for vacuous garbage surely Home Of The Year is the winner? It's Sarah McInerney v Vogue Williams.
The programme is dying a death. There is more wrong with it than right. Bannon doesn't give off the same enthusiasm there was before. It's only 4 episodes now, with very little effort they could improve it immeasurably, cut out the fake confrontations, it's vacuous garbage, focus on the building and why key decisions ate made. Hugh Wallace's programmes are superior although Home of the year is getting a bit tired with more of the fakery from the presenters than is necessary.
They’re not allowed on the late late show so have to grab the lime light wherever they can.
I suppose we will have to tune in.
Job done, a little bit of show biz hype has the desired effect.
That's the way it rolls......🙂
My thinking it might be to do with kitchen layout/ergonomics of a proper kitchen.
Bannon doent bring any value to the the gig, none.
Im beginning to think the only reason people go on the show is for publicity and fame.
Its certainly not for getting value for money.
Well this weekend’s house is Daniel Davey’s and I didn’t think himself and Donal were friends. Don’t why Donal would be in the episode. Suppose I’ll just have to tune in tonight.
I think you are giving to much credence to a ‘controversy’ that never really got off the ground.
A few posts on social media isn’t gonna send editors scurrying tbh.
Presumably the final two episodes have been very carefully reviewed in light of comments on the initial ones. Expect that they'll have been edited to be vague around grants and criteria, what was sought and what was achieved. And will focus on the great value than Bannon brings to the gig.
only got time to watch it this morning
lovely house but i wouldnt like the kitchen and hate the stairs. i must drive over that way some day and have a look.
fair play to them if they can afford to buy a house for 303k and then put 300k into it plus 100k grants. i wonder what its valued at. i cannot see it worth 700k.
i dont know why they didnt buy a wreck of a house and build a new build there for50k and have 550k for the house
this grand situation is getting out of hand. somone needs to come out and clarify whats happening. either the grant scheme is set up wrong or people are taking advantage of it.
A professional who doesn't know how the Help to Buy scheme works.