Old thread seems to be permanently locked. It will be interesting if anything can come of this at last.
Threadbanned Posters:
Not too surprised. He had a few heart issues of late.
Ian Bailey has died…
https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/2024/01/21/ian-bailey-prime-suspect-for-sophie-toscan-du-plantiers-murder-dies-in-cork/
No I mean in a close relationship ie :partner
It doesn't necessarily mean bailey shared anything with Jules if he was involved
People can withold information from those closest
Bailey could be the murderer and Jules knows nothing of evidential value except likely would suspect him
As in he may have told her he found Sophie that way? But someone else had done it? So as to get Jules to help him remove any trace of having been there in case he was blamed for it?
That was my point
I was replying to poster above who mentioned some type of fishing expedition by the gardai
I don't see them speaking to him until they have solid evidence if any
He's not a qualified lawyer, he's a failed poet with a history of convictions for violence towards women.
Why would the Cold case Review Team want to "mess with him"?
They are a serious outfit with one objective in this case.
Not at all. He's not that easily convicted. As events have shown.
I meant, his chronic desire for attention is all the explanation that's needed for him always being the centre of attention. He likes it.
Bailey won't be walking into any Garda traps he's a lawyer
Can they even bring him in and try to mess with him , I'm not so sure they're allowed
The gardai not " interrogating and setting traps" ? is probably irrelevant
That's just your take on it
Nothing to say your interpretation is correct at all
I'd go as far to say that Bailey is truly out of the picture now.
After all this time, not as much as a phone call, never mind a formal interview.
If he was anywhere near relevant to the investigation, a skilled interrogator would have spoken to him by now, set some traps for him, and kept giving him as much rope as he needed..
This hasn't happened.
Have they finally realised that Bailey is, and never was more, than a media whore?
Bailey claimed he had information
Nothing stopping him just passing on this info if legit
Bailey being bailey chooses to publicize it and presumably expects gardai to come to him
They're clearly not interested anyhow
"That's actually enough" for what? To convict him?
If Bailey did it it's quite possible he said nothing self incriminating to Jules
May have been smart enough not to trust someone that close to him
They've made a point of focussing on him, from the beginning. And the man loves attention. That's actually enough!
Exactly this. If you genuinely knew in your own head you were innocent, then why would you be concerned that the gardai have not made contact with you.
Unless there is a real reason only known to you that you should be the 'main actor' in this ongoing production.
Ok.
So the smudge on the backdoor is definitely done by the killer.
If the front door were found closed, what does that imply? The killer closed it maybe.
“Her keys were found on the inside of the backdoor so it's assumed she left by that door.”
The keys were found in the lock on the inside of the front door. Sophie rarely used the back door.The blood smudge was on the back door.
They found a drop of her blood on a stone in the field in front of her house, so one theory is that she was attacked near the house and ran through the field and was caught by the gate and finished off there.
There was also a smudge of blood by the outside door handle of backdoor, which is assumed to be the killer moving the handle. I wonder did they measure the smudge to see if it was a man's size. Mens hands are much larger than women's.
Her keys were found on the inside of the backdoor so it's assumed she left by that door.
One thing is that no lights were found on her house, so there's a theory she was killed in the morning but maybe the killer went in to turn off the lights and that's when he left the smudge. Also a batch of bread loaf was out which looks like she was eating, which implies breakfast
If you heard someone outside your house at night, would you leave the lights off and investigate? Maybe. Also one theory is that she was in the sitting room reading, another is that she was in bed. She was in her dressing gown but had time to put on her boots. You wouldn't put on boots to answer the door, so she either had them on already or put them on to go outside.
Maybe she went outside to get something from the car before bed, encountered someone about to break into her house, it turned violent for some reason, she ran towards gate and was finished off, the killer went back to the house to look for something to steal, turned off the lights and left. It's completely random so impossible to solve.
I wonder do the Gardai have more info we don't know about. They seemed certain it was Ian Bailey, particularly the lead detective from Kerry.
Someone put it there. Someone familiar with the Jackson's burning site. Hell of a coincidence turning up?
This was a full size two hand axe head, the axe supposedly missing from Sophie’s house was a small one hand kindling axe. The silly part is thinking Bailey would place the axe in the neighbours fire.
A story I have not come across - would you care to expand on this?
Do you mean the steel axe head Bailey tried to burn in the neighbours bonfire? That is one of the more stupid stories going round and round again and again!!
The hatchet head may well be in an evidence bag.
One thing that always bothers me is that someone - maybe the neighbour who cleaned the house - said that there HAD been a hatchet; a small one hanging near the back door, for cutting firewood. And the hatchet was missing. Missing.
Sophie was not murdered with a hatchet, but -- a night-time intruder might have picked it off the wall as an emergency weapon (in case the house turned out to be occupied) and then, when the householder came to the door - an altercation followed which ended as we know with her violent death.
But where is the hatchet now?
Perhaps that indicates more than one killer? One chasing and hitting her with the rock the other using the block. She may have had a poker/axe too.
“The motivation for the acquisition of this house in Ireland was linked with her writing. She was someone who was tough but fragile at the same time. She sought to isolate herself from the world of the mundane because of [the] personality of her husband”… an extract from that article… If she hadn’t been tough, maybe she would have declined to open the door. If she had realised how petite and how physically fragile she was compared with the person who murdered her… but she was a strong woman, she wasn’t afraid. It’s all so wrong that we haven’t brought her killer to justice after all these years.
Cant remember where read it, but there were reports of holiday homes in the area being broken into and drinks cabinets raided.
* not saying it was a robbery
Found one source for the claim
"One source close to the investigation recalled that, at the time, alcohol was often stolen from the drinks cabinets of empty holiday homes."
https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/the-complex-and-secret-private-life-of-fragile-sophie/26805384.html
The theory that she knew her attacker does carry some weight..
I'm open to correction on this, but as far as I can gather, she was assaulted with a rock first, and finished off with the concrete block?
So.. This would lead me to deduce that the rock was in the vicinity of the initial attack, maybe used to keep the gate open?
If the attacker was known to Sophie, then she could identify him to the Guards, this puts pressure on the killer.
But then again, how would a random killer know that the top course of building blocks of the well were loose?? It's a fair walk from the gate to the well to find a suitable murder weapon - especially as time was now of the essence?
Just to clarify.. the killer in a mad panic would either go into the field besides the gate were there was building materials in place (and in plain sight), or go up to the house for a hatchet, knife, or other such yokes..
Can't figure why the assailant would hop trot up to the well... That's a mystery in itself.
I don’t think it was a burglary gone wrong because that wouldn’t explain the personal, emotional nature of the attack. Whoever it was went out of their way to destroy her. It was someone she knew. (I feel that this also rules out the hitman theory.)