We made 4th cut pit silage last October, came in @ 81 DMD and over 18% protein. We were able to pick the few dry days to harvest it. Had we been trying to zero graze it daily not only would we have made s''t of the field but we would have brought in 90% water.
It might test okay on paper but it's still pure s**te if you put it into milking cows
You were doing the zero grazing for long enuf yourself….
Reading this, anyone would think that grasstomilk was expecting us to pay for the zero grazer. More luck to him, let him try it out and see what he thinks.
Spreading slurry here the last three days, in places that I would not expect to travel till June. I love dry weather
we should start a go fund me page for grasstomilks zero grazer. at slurry aswell, hopefully the wet weather doesn't come next week to give it a chance.
It's Rainy saturday. I'm finished today, the pet dog that we keep in the house has broken out and is running around the field that is just spread. Herself won't be happy
i feel your pain, we have a none shed pooch aswell who loves out with the cows and get covered in it.
As far as I remember we tried it for a while many years ago but soon got sick of it. You learn as you go along.
An extra 2cpl would go a long way
She’d be the right job for GrasstoMilk’s 0 grazer….
He's happy enough in the area where he is now. 😂
Nah he’d need this yoke
All donations greatly appreciated 😁
Moisture droplet size. Even in the UK they can use timber buildings, there is wooden houses build there that are 500+ years old. Look around thos country and find the oldest wooden building.
The droplet size of moisture in Ireland is much smaller than elsewhere in Europe and even the Great Britian ,( with the exception of parts of Scotland).
Drag
How long do fence poles last in France. What treatment have they. The best of treated Oak stakes last 50 years at the most here. Creosote treated pine 30-40.
All fencing stakes are oak with some chestnut also. They’re never treated with anything and last 30+yrs. A 6’ pencil stake costs around €1, and a 7’ strainer is about €2.
Best of luck with it. I have that T-shirt and I don’t want another thanks. When you get sick of running around the place with the zero grazer you’ll be able to trade it in for a diet feeder. 🤣
I was on a farm yesterday that has a herd of pedigree Brunes and a herd of dairy sheep. The sheep produce 440L per lactation @ €1.5/L. Both herds are closed with over 30yrs. Everything born on the farm is finished on the farm. All feed, except soya, produced on farm. Tidy operator.
Quick question. How is registration of calves going to work with the genotype scheme. Someone told me you send off samples and the cards come back registered.is or too good to be true
I think you register as normal but they will stay in pending mode until genotypes come back.
True, also you can’t use the white cards for registering calves, it has to be done online. It’s going to be some mess.
There's a thread on it
Register calf send tissue sample asap ….once parentage verified card issued …geno report later in spring …..was told 12 day turnaround at. Best from register to blue card ….
quick question lads about genotype is it compulsory? what does it cost and what benefit is it to the farmer, thanks lads
Lots of maize mucked out of fields last year was very variable quality, likewise wholecrop, lots of ground destroyed trying to salvage it...
50 acres of spring barley beside us was never got, bigger issue will be the thousands of crows in the area now, they'll destroy spring crops/maize without plastic, it's unbelievable the amount of pigeons/crows around
Well crows are rarely a problem with spring crops, can be very bad on winter crops all right.
We got our wholecrop and maize out no bother. Now the crows were getting fond of them alright before cutting but no major damage done.
In my opinion wholcrop seems to feed better than maize. Really balances the grass silage. Cows have nice firm dung and seem very content.
Nutrionist round here calls wholecrop poor man's maize!
Well I guess there are all kinds of experts out there. Our wholecrop was 34% starch and 49% dry matter.
Wholecrop is for dry stale cows
maize is for high yielders
I grew maize and whole crop with peas last year. Doubt I’d bother with whole crop again tbh. Maize was cheaper per kg of dm. Didn’t see much of a response when the cows got the wholecrop
It's horses for courses. Some farmers can plant and spray the whole crop themselves then they only pay for harvesting. As well they have the rest of the straw, I know a farmer near me that used to crimp it. Now I think he gets it dried but not completely sure
Another advantage is you can include it in a resending rotation if it's on the main farm or on land adjacent to you that you are using for grazing or silage.