Joe has videos on tik Tok and twitter
He does, But he doesn't actually explain what he's doing ( Understandably so, It is his business.)
This is the post I was referring to
If there's one thing I found helps is wash the machine every second day for 2 weeks at least before starting milking.we use caustic and leave it only rinse before next wash.also do a few acid washes as well
We've never had a dumpline before. Tried it out this evening on a cow that's clear. She had 11 litres and feck all came out at the end of the pipe, is this right? Good bit of water came out before the milk came
Usually let water up through the cluster to flush it out, has a long way to go through the pipes
No experience of em either but have heard of lads just using a bucket if it's only a cow or two, it's advantage is when numbers are up a bit
you need to put a purge on the dumpline if your only milking a couple through it, the milk is held in pipe work until volume there to pump up, if you dont have volume it will drain out receiver jar when machine turns off once you have the falls correct
Gtm had it up I think
There should be a drain point on the receiver of the dumpline and the dairy guy should be able to fit a spot there for collection of a small amount....otherwise I agree with Atlantic
As above 👍
List of dairy sales in New Ross over the coming months
Jasus
What will happen prices
In fairness theres only 2 clearance sales in the ad.Cow trade will remain firm due to high cull prices farmers could afford to move on poor milkers problem cows as culls and replace with superior stock.
A lot of those are routine scheduled dairy sales. The sale of elite heifers is an annual production sale for two breeders. The 70 heifers are also an annual production sale. I actually only see 2 clearance sales totalling 280 cows, I know that is not insignificant, but not indicative of a mass exodus.
Carnew mart on the other hand reportedly has over 20 clearance sales this Spring. If that is a lie, I was told a lie, but to stress it is not from the auctioneers mouth, its second hand info. It is hard to see where all of the cows from those sales will find homes at any sort of reasonable price when all of the pressures from nitrates, low prices and general negativity are taken into account.
2 clearance sales in Kerry next week Gortatlea and Castleisland about 400 cows.
I asked Eugene a few weeks back had he that many and he didn’t confirm or deny it, just said lads might change there mind again the time comes if milk price has came up a bit which is true enough
Sent 5 cows to the factory yesterday straight out of the parlour, 4 in good order and 1 canner cow, 1230 they averaged, you'd imagen this would put a floor on the market, the ethics of slaughtering heavily incalf cows is another matter but that's a side -note...
Lighter older cows in dispersal sales will be a pooer trade alright and anything x-bred bar well-breed stock after that dairy cows/heifers are worth their beef value and noting more
If those routine sales averaged 60 cows per day over the spring it would still amount to less than 0.7% of the total cows in Wexford/Carlow.
Have heard the same about carnew. Anyone that was half considering retiring probably went ahead on the back of a bad year.
Yeah, I was only posting the info in case it was of any interest to people looking to pick up a few. I wasn't trying to say "Look at all those dairy sales - the game is f*cked!"
Would someone give that to Teagasc and tell them it’s a sure fired solution to the male calf/6 week calving etc etc
That fella a lot of the time wouldn’t know if it was night or day, only one man in know there and David plays the cards very close.
hello lad have any of ye seen a punch mat used as a palour pit mat .
There has to be value for lads expanding, this year. Im looking to buy 30 or so and value will be near top of the priority list.
I want milk, ill get replacements from the stock i already have. There seems to be a lot of sales for lads getting out or lads having to reduce numbers.
I wouldnt know how many buyers would be out there for milking cows.
That’s kinda what I’m thinking myself - there’s no shortage of stock out there at the moment.
No guarantee of quality but plenty choice at least.
Haven't seen it used in a parlour but have it in the back yard for the kids under the swings and at the end of the slide. Goes green quick enough and not all that shock absorbant, would say it might not suit a parlour base unless this is different quality.
Anyone know is it worth applyin for grant for slurry store with slats is there much extra spec planner fees overall cost thanks.
That Roche man from Foulksmills. The family are well known in Irish Sport horse breeding and showing circles.
Not that it'd have anything to do with Dairy. But usually if someone has an interest in breeding any animals it translates the interest across.
There's been a bit of an exodus from cows in south wexford recently. The long timers are getting out. The more west in south wexford you go there's a few came in from a tillage side. They obviously won't be thinking of getting out as they've only got in.
It'd be a very bad idea over a solid mat. It'd become a smelly dirt trap.