Struggling not to comment when I saw Lanzarote mentioned. I love the place!
I worked as a barman in Puerto del Carmen from 2000 to 2008 in several Irish bars - the Craic n’ Ceol, Charlie’s Bar, Mulligans, The Bodhran, all the good ones 😂
When our young lads are up and gone, and I’ve my fortune made from milking cows (!), I’ll probably try persuade the quare wan here to move over there again. In fairness, I met her there so she might half listen to my plan 😂
January was usually busy there when the pub and hotel owners from here and England took a break after their busy Christmas period.
And there I was thinking you were a lad slaving away on the land all your life.
A bar man in Lanzarote between 00 and 08, should have an enough casual sex for about 5 lifetime's
Had too edit, about 40 lifetime's for a farmer
You wouldn't be the first dairy farmer that blazed that trail.
A first cousin of my father's from the same parish where you were visiting here. Sold their award winning dairy herd at the time and moved out to Puerto del Carmen and operate a guesthouse or houses I believe out there. I've never been so I'm only going on what people who've met them out there.
On the clearance sale of their farm anything that could be sold was sold. Sheds, gates, concrete slats on the tanks, anything that could be auctioned was auctioned.
Went to Lanzorote in January 10 years ago in January, 22 degrees ideal. Heap of dubs in the pubs!
Jaysus I hope it worked out for him. I met lots of people who sold up whatever they had here and sunk it into a bar over there. Running a business day in day out is very different to being there for a fortnight every year. Most people find out too late.
But sure then you have to try these things. My only advice to anyone thinking of starting a new life in the sun is to try before you buy. Go for a month, try to find a job, a place to live, and people you can have a chat with. Those things are much easier to do in your 20s or if you’re 60-ish and semi-retired. In the meantime, stick with the cows and the wife you have 😂
Lanzarote is fine but by far its best advantage is just that bit warmer at this time of year than say the likes of portugal and if you re dried off it's very easy to get someone to throw out a few grabs and lime the cubicles.wouldnt be one bit guilty about the carbon side of things as it was first real holiday in 4 years.just the carbon emissions of flying-jumbo jet weighs 410 tons imagine power it takes to get that 25 000 ft in the air and 3000 miles across the Atlantic
I’m no Brad Pitt but I did my fair share of damage there alright 😂
There was always plenty of sun, sea, and the other stuff for anyone working there. I’d encourage any young lad or young wan to go and have the craic in some place like Lanzarote but you have to listen too if or when some inner voice tells you it’s time to leave.
Lads, I must be getting old (or drunk) when I’m giving out advice like that 😂
I remember going on my first lads trip after the leaving cert in to 2000 to playa de ingles- ended up on different islands like Porto rico etc the following mornings- trying to get back the next morning was some challenge- no mobile phones back then
Heading there next week. No accommodation booked. Any advise appreciated. Never been.
Was there a few weeks ago with the family. Very relaxing , bit of cycling, bit of swimming, nice drinking a few beers in the sun. Wife talking about buying a place there. I'd prefer a bit of green myself. Fecking place is all rock.
Another place I love is Malta- but not a bit of greenery
Take a grip up to the fire mountains but don’t take a camel ride up there. If it starts raining you’ll regret it, i can still smell that bloody camel twenty years later.
Hg lomo blanco.
I was there about 10 years I saw a mchale baler there don't know what they were baleing
That's pretty much it in a nutshell - good weather, decent food, not too expensive, and a bit of nightlife if you want it.
And you're right, it's all rock. I used to wonder how people grew vegetables or reared livestock back in the day. I think it's mostly rabbits they lived on. You would still see rabbit on the menu in some restaurants down around the harbour in the Old Town.
Half back on topic - there's a dairy farm there that milks Jersey cows: https://fincadeuga.com/ganaderia/ I can only assume they import hay or similar for them. They'd have some job to grow 10t per HA or get 10 grazings there anyway 😀
Are you fluent in Spanish?
I'd say it was mainly Brits and Irish he was pulling pints for.
No. I could speak enough to deal with delivery men and others who the Irish bars engaged with there like landlords, police(!), taxi drivers, etc. But outside of that work-related environment, I wasn't able to have a conversation in Spanish. It's to my eternal regret I could never chat up a Spanish girl in her own language 😂
I'd still have some of the words and phrases but I'd be afraid to use them in front of someone Spanish now in case they thought I could speak the language.
Never too late to polish up on it again!
I’m learning Italian in my spare time atm. Not easy when you get older but it’s good to rattle the old brain cells from time to time.
Just saw on youtube that the Gardiners are after signing up to a solar farm company. 48 Hectares @ 3000 per hectare per year. Nice money if you could get it.
Where did you see that on YouTube ?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ME4laXubLoM
That’s in the planning stage with a few years. I’d fire every perch of land into it if I could, however it’s only for the more disadvantaged areas of the country, and only in certain disadvantaged areas at that
There was a major push for solar panels on sheds also and I went for planning on a good sized one..then there was another diktat from Paris to put panels on all the car parks. They’re reckoning that they’ll be doing car parks for the next ten years. It figures.
A few around here were offered a thousand an acre for solar panels as they are near windmills, so easy connection to the grid.
Very mixed land and mostly sucklers and he still could not get any takers. He needed over 100 acres to be viable. Which would mean parts of about four different farms. But none were interested
I'd imagine the wind turbine guys mightnt be happy bout it
Not that I'm a fountain of knowledge or added much but had drifted away from this forum for a long time. Fell back into it over Christmas really. The more things change the more they stay the same. Great the see the old heads fighting the good fight and newer names to me giving people a good rattle, rightly or wrongly!!!!
Enjoying the bullshit and discourse. Keep up the good work.
Have u still a skidsteer Vis?
Manitou 625
Could someone point me in the direction of the post that details the deep clean protocols Ark use, I think I read it on here but cant track it down,It was something to the effect of a whole bucket of powder, used in one go.