Clare GAA Discussion part 2
we are masters for doom and gloom in this county , a virtual fiver says we consolidate comfortably in division3 , and with keelan and cleary back next year along with a few up and comers from the u20s and we will be fine , no world beaters but top 16 in both league and championship by 2025
Brendy Rouine injury is a big blow he would have been an instant starter in our half forward line and would carry a scorer threat. Very disappointed to see Cillian McGrory Corofin not involved this year. Cillian is another one who would have had the ability to kick scores from half forward line. Ideally Brendy, Emmett and McGrory on paper has the making of an outstanding half forward line. All big men, all good in the air, and all can kick scores from distance. I personally would move Dermot Coughlan into the inside line and get him closer to goal. Dermot more suited to playing inside at intercounty level while half forward role suits him at club. Our forward line will be built around Emmett he is our marque forward now going forward hands down no question but teams will identity Emmett aswell as the danger
Probably will get relegated this year to Division 4. There's no scoring power in the team right now. Alls not lost ..I think we could see some bright shoots come summer.
Yeah definitely gonna be tough for Clare this year but still think we should be able to consolidate in Division 3 and hopefully work from there. In fairness if the likes Dublin and Kerry lost about 11 players they would struggle let alone Clare.
Ciarán Russell and Darren O’Neill have retired as well. Russell has been another brilliant player for Clare over the last few years. He’s put in some outstanding performances for Clare over the last few years. O’Neill’s been a much maligned player but has been fairly solid for Clare since 2021 and as well as for Eire Og.
Cathal O'Connor officially retired. Great servant to Clare football.
https://www.clare.fm/sport/oconnor-calls-time-intercounty-football-career-clare/?fbclid=IwAR3RJHuv3H6gjRVRk-f7qUQP-gw4FirKHU7qqJ4f7jcqC_jVO4yiqdPhPE4
Ya agree with you about physicality in the middle third, but we were spoilt for ten years with Brennan and O'Connor they were one of the best combinations in the country. When Darragh Bohannan is fit he will improve things and hopefully himself and Brian Mac will develop into a strong partnership. I was more concerned about our lack of any sort of cutting edge up front, we survived on winning scorable frees untill Cork blew us away in the final quarter. Its going to be a tough transition but best of luck to everyone involved.
Some conditions in Clarecastle to play football credit to both teams. One thing of note I take away is how physically small Clare were in the middle 8 sector. Any kickout that went long Cork cleaned out plus Clare got destroyed on breaking ball. Sligo have some big physical men around the middle 8. Kickouts and primary possession would be the main concern I take away from the Cork match. Do Clare have a goalkeeping coach within the setup to focus on kickouts and boxing out oppossing midfielders like in basketball from getting a running jump and making it a scrap on the ground for breaks. Clare need a good bit of work on this before Sligo
Shane Neville playing with Cratloe on bench for Tipperary footballers tonight. Killian Roche(Cooraclare) in goal for Laois.
i dont really see this as an indicator to the league ,in the same fixture last year cork hammered us in quilty , the same couldn't be said for what happened 4 months later when it mattered , this game is more to blow away the cobwebs after the christmas
this is the reason that a few more higher profile candidates pulled out , its a brave man to take on that gig , we have a good core of lads coming through , i reckon we will be fine at division 3 level ,
yeah a number of players not around for various reasons , i am not talking about the ones that have departed the secane , you have to bare in the fact that last weekend was still christmas week , personally i wouldn't expect any player to be training last week one of the reasons i believe was the small matter of eoin clearys wedding
i would also rather that the Sigerson cup players dont start as they will be full on for the next 3 to 4 weeks , its a nothing game if cork won by 20 points i wouldnt be too bothered , the sligo game in 4 weeks time is the game that we need to win
Match being played in Clarecastle on the Astro so the football should be free-flowing anyway.
Only 17 players at Senior training the weekend just gone apparently.
The fooballers will be down a lot of experience and lads who played in central roles in recent years. Podge Collins, Eoin Cleary, Ciaran Russell, David Sexton, Pearse Lillis, Cian O'Dea, Cathal O'Connor, Jamie Malone, Keelan Sexton and Darren O'Neill not involved this year. Think will Cillian Brennan is oldest player on panel now.
Just saw Clare Team they have what should be the number 6 Cillian playing full back. Not convinced Sweeney can play intercounty at centre back. Also Walsh strange choice for midfield more suited to wing spot. Half forward line aside from Emmett doesnt look a scoring threat. You would expect Cork to win by 5 or 6pts 2mow night. I know its only a friendly but the spine tells u allot what the league team might be like
Not as big a disaster as it might have been a few years ago.
the team needs to learn to cope without TK, or at least have less reliance on him
Only copped it there that the Win a House in Ennis draw has been pushed back by a month and is now January 29th 2024 instead of Dec 31st this year 😒
Sales must be poor
I was looking at Division 3 of Football League big drop in quality of opponents which might help Clare to do enough to stay mid table in Div 3. Fixtures are kind to Clare aswell. I suppose the key things to see on Jan 03rd is what the new manager spine will be who will play 3 who will play 6 who will play 8, 9, who will play 11, who will play 14 that all unclear for the 1st time ever heading into a allianz league clash vs Sligo at the end of January.
James Costello former kerry minor manager added as a selector. Could be a tough season for footballers missing so many keys players. It a pity Neylon didn't take the senior role as might have been to persuade some lads to stay on board.
His ankles must be awful.. Thats his third operation is it. Once ankles start going it's extremely hard to get them right. Still I'm sure he will line out against Limerick in Ennis come Championship.
This could be the game of the round Robin. Iv a feeling Limerick will target this one. They've not won in the Championship under Kiely in Ennis. For a team that has conquered many worlds 🌎 this is a slightly irritating itch they ll want to scratch.
Tony Kelly gone for 2024
What fresh hell?
Huge loss for ye if true
Wouldn't bet against an early Waterford and Clare exit
I posted this on the Limerick thread - I'd be curious to know if you who know Clare a lot better than I consider it a steaming pile of poop or if there is a degree of truth/fairness in it? Dead serious about that final point by the way - anyone who can get a hold of Caroline Currid should move heaven and earth to bring her on board now she's available. She has won All-Irelands with Limerick and Tipp hurlers as well as Dublin and Tyrone footballers. Clare are pretty much in small margins territory and any little gain could make all the difference to going a step or two further.
I don't know if Limerick will do this - at the moment I honestly feel our biggest threat is an injury crisis. Kilkenny have put it up to us in flashes - Clare maybe but can they do it over a full championship? They get themselves 110% fired up for Limerick - emptied themselves for the 2022 Munster final and came up short, they couldn't pick themselves up afterwards, got over the line after a poor performance (but strong finish) against Wexford and were destroyed by Kilkenny. Seemed to take a great deal of joy in defeating us in round 2 of the round robin and celebrated for a good half hour on the pitch afterwards - it was a big win but did it get to their heads? Requesting the Gaelic Grounds for the Munster final was ballsy but would last years championship have turned out differently had they just agreed to go to Cork? Hammered a fairly shite Dublin team who seemed happy to let them have acres of space free to roam through the heart of their defence.
Gave Kilkenny a good rattle for a finish but were fairly piss poor in the first half - looked to have swung it in the second half only for us to wonder how they let Kilkenny off the hook after having impressively worked themselves back into a lead. Did they have the same ferocious hunger they showed against Limerick in April? That game could have gone on another half an hour and Clare would still have held on in my opinion. It was the first time since the 2019 semi final a team demonstrated greater hunger than Limerick in the championship. Play with that intensity - and they did it from throw in to the final whistle that day - and they'll beat anyone. Where was it in the first half of the semi final? They should give Caroline Currid a shout :D
There's criteria that has to be fulfilled for the use of the donation. I posted the McManus letter on the other thread. You think a Billionaire hasn't thought of that...
This is the funding from Munster council announced yesterday to Clare Clubs (and every county) that should be more closely watched:
Close to 319 thousand euro has been allocated to Clare GAA Clubs, under the Club Development Grant Fund.
The Munster GAA and Central Councils have announced a 1.6 million euro budget to cover capital grant works in the province.
More than 175,000 euro of that will be distrubted to clubs in the banner by the Munster Council, with Central Council donating just over 143,000.
25 projects will receive funding ranging between 892 euro and 75,000 euro, with Clarecastle GAA receiving the highest allocation, while Clooney-Quin is to receive more than 35,000 and Simxmilebridge will get a boost in excess of 29,000 euro.
Funding Allocations
Clarecastle €75,000
Broadford €20,000
Cratloe €20,000
Clonlara €11,830
Clooney Quin €35,307
Tubber €16,000
Barefield NS €5,000
St Mochulla NS Tulla €5,000
Ennis NS €5,000
Tuamgraney handball club €892
Sixmilebridge €29,364
Killmurry IB €10,040
Scariff €15,060
Crusheen €12,133
Inagh Kilnamona €10,040
The Banner €12,550
Barefield €5,415
Cooraclare €3,208
Kildysart €5,020
Clondegad €2,189
Tulla €7,020
Killimer €4,819
Wolfe Tonnes €3,993
Newmarket On Fergus €2,254
O Callaghan Mills €1,603
Not a hope will every county board divide it equally
They’ll have ‘costs’ that needed to be seen to urgently first
Then things like your ‘smaller’ clubs mightn’t get their full amount whereas clubs ‘in need’ will get their full amount.
Similarly in football counties, hurling clubs just will not get their full amount, vice versa for hurling counties.
There’ll be friction in every single county guaranteed.
‘While each club was designated an equal amount, the funds the county board are claiming from this will be of benefit to all clubs down the line’ is an excuse we’ll hear.
Some clubs will use it wisely, others you can guarantee will squander it , it will be interesting will every county divide it out evenly and not just put it in to there own county board accounts
Good news for clubs today with a handout from JP.
Will this money be wasted on writing cheques to management teams at club level.
Most of them players mentioned especially O'Brien would make no difference to the panel
If his 2nd in command can't advise him on Clare football then it's all the one , I am sure seanie Buckley will have him well advised
My worry is that Mark Fitzgerald lack of knowledge of club football in Clare could come back to haunt us they are plenty of experienced players who maybe didnt get a fair chance in their eyes under Colm when things were rozy for Clare football. The likes of Jonah Culligan ballyvaughan, gearoid o brien kilrush, jayme o sullivan wolfe tones, einne o connor eire og, rory mcmahon kildysart, damian o loughlin corofin, conor finuncane lissycasey, dale masterson st breckans should be all brought into the squad. The face they aren't in the squad is worrying as all 8 players mentioned above would be aged 26 or over They would increase the squad experience level for div 3 football. Going straight into the academy ant always the answer when you lose so much experience you need to replace experience with experience. For example if Emmet McMahon who we will rely mostly on for scores next year at centre forward if he had jonah culligan and Gearoid o brien flanking him on opposite wings at tje wing forward spots it would make a huge difference