They tend to do that, remember a good blast from the past song and then play it multiple times across the various shows for 2-3 weeks. The one before it was Country House by Blur
interesting, I'd never heard of a concept like that focusing on rotating just one oldie.
I'm probably wrong on that take but Chelsea Dagger has been played an awful lot in the last week like previous poster said and Country House seemed to be played consistently for few weeks before all the Christmas songs. I'm sure other posters can think of previous songs played over and over out of nowhere!
Yip, it was Sounds of the Underground by Girls Aloud, and also Brimful of Asha last year as 2 examples.
Rogue Traders Voodoo Child came out of nowhere last year. I thought it must be used in a movie or something, but apparently not they just started playing a track from 18 years ago....Not complaining mind, its a great track.
We were lucky to have lived in the magical golden Today FM age during the Celtic tiger days, there was no housing shortage, rent was cheap, wages were high, I took 3 holidays to Italy per year. Smartphones were clunky and data was expensive but all we needed was a 3 band radio with CD player with the Radio tuned to 100 to 102 on FM stereo
What I noticed was that on Saturday mornings they would have a "9 at 11", where they played 9 songs from a certain year and you had to guess the year. Conceptually, a great idea as you had people texting in with memories from the year. They missed a trick by not playing an actual chart from say that week, X number of years ago, but instead they churned out 9 huge singles from the chosen year. Anyway, I realised that those songs would then be played repeatedly in the following week. Before someone tells me about the Baader-Meinhof phenomenon, I am aware, and yes, it might very well be this.
#5 in the UK if I remember correctly.
Funny you mention that one, because I've heard it a fair bit on Today FM of late. Summer of 2006 I recall, a one-hit wonder sung by the evil Izzy from Neighbours. Thing is, it wasn't even that big a hit...it made no. 15 here and no. 3 in the UK, so it wasn't the number one for the entire summer or anything like that...but yes, it has been getting heavy airplay the last few weeks.
replace r foley with phil cawley
replace p mcloone with tom dunne
and
replace a curtis with p mcloone -
that was my classic Today FM line up from the early - mid 00s
Nice flashback, what year was this? I'm guessing around 2007/2008? Didn't like Ray Foley then, don't like him now.
Cawley over Foley jaysus 🤣. Phil (in) Cawley was the blandest, most boring presenter TodayFM ever had. I'd even take McSweeney over him.
he was a proper DJ in the old school sense. not everyone's cup of tea anymore.
when they started taking on me me me presenters such as foley and mcsweeney, I tuned out of today fm
I honestly think Foley is the best presenter on Today FM by a long stretch. Genuinely look forward to his show.
Can't understand how anyone finds him in any way entertaining. A prize pain in the hoop. Male equivalent of Lucy Kennedy.
Harsh on Lucy there...
Whereas he's the one who actively makes me switch to 8 Radio, Nova, Spotify or vinyl when he starts with the "banter" that becomes dead air, him playing sound effects, or repeating himself for the 5th time... Which just shows it takes all sorts and you can't please all of the people all of the time.
My ideal lineup:
pre 9:00: don't care, I won't be listening. Too early. Sorry, Ian.
9:00 - 11:00: Anton Savage
11:00 - 13:00: Dermot & Dave (Dave just isn't as good, solo)
13:00 - 15:00: Paula McSweeney, also liked Mairéad Ronan in that slot.
15:00 - 17:00: Louise Cantillon
17:00 - 19:00: The Last Word as long as Matt cuts out the '5 at 5' and '6 at 6' shite.
19:00 - 21:00: Alternative Slot 1 - depending on the night, could be one of Tom Dunne, Claire Beck, Dave Couse, Paul McLoone, Dec Pierce, or Kellyanne Byrne
21:00 - 00:00: Well, Ed Smith, obviously!
No **** algorithm or mandated playlists!
Tom Dunne would be great on Today FM... especially the fact we'd hear the music in stereo for once!
I’ve never tried it but I wonder if they stream in stereo?
Paul McLoone and Donal Dineen every night, those were the halcyon days. Alison was a bit bland but think she played ok music on the last splash. Imagine suggesting that lineup to Bauer now...
Nope, mono.
I get that people find Foley marmite, but you can't argue with his JNLR figures. He blew Ferg D'Arcy out of the water.
Personally I love him and a couple of us got the work radio changed from the local station to Today FM when himself and JP came back and it's been like that ever since.
That graphic of the old Today FM line-up really brought me back - I'd have the station on from morning until night in those days and enjoyed nearly all of it. Feel bad saying it, but I wasn't keen on poor Tony Fenton's mid-atlantic jock schtick. Respect the man for everything he did on radio of course, but he was the least enjoyable part of the day for me back then when I was in my mid 20's.
Can somebody explain to be how Block Rocking Beats is so revered?
Probably because most radio listeners who'd be listening to music radio at that time on a Friday or Saturday evening are in their 40s or 50s and are re-living their youth. Or, in my case, going "Jaysus, these are banging tunes, I'm really sorry I was such a music snob in my 20s/30s only listening to rock and alternative, I really missed out on some good music."
edit: missed word
Because it reminds me/others of being a teenager/younger person, drinking cans in a field, trying to get served in pubs, going to nightclubs til 4 in the morning and house parties after, all the stuff that we don't/can't do anymore. That, and the music played is rarely heard on radio any other time of the week.
Regional stations have been doing similar for years, the BRB is almost a direct copy of the Power Hour on Highland which has been running for 20 years.
All of the above, plus Dec Pierce is so passionate about dance music, it's infectious.
It's also a show that appeals to an older demographic. The ones who enjoyed the station 20 years ago. I've long since accepted that the station mostly isn't for me and I only tune in for occasional shows.
And is an absolute lovely man too. Very friendly and loves the chat about music.
Friday evening most people finished work and can relax listening to a few old school tunes plus Dec is probably the nicest person on Irish radio hes a gentleman.
It’s a simple yet great idea well executed and presented by a decent presenter who came through the 90s dance scene/pirate radio subculture.