Still don't think he is funny.
From what I've seen of them and as a single entity: John and Yoko.
David Quantick and Paul Morley.
Former NME writers who constantly appeared over the years on various discussion shows and highlight shows about music and pop culture.
Both insufferably smug, pretentious arseholes with incredibly annoying miserable sneery accents and faces you would never get tired of punching.
Who are they ?
I thought there was meant to be a sprinkling of celebrities on this thread
I've only heard good things about working with/for Gordon Ramsey.
Angela Hartnet being the most recent I've heard and she was glowing about him. Apparently he runs very calm kitchens. TV Gordon is supposedly very different than Chef Ramsey.
Ramsey seems to have empathy and incredible work ethic by the look of it
Doubt he's an asshole somehow
What's Daniel O'Donnell really like or does anyone even know ?
I suppose this one is a perfect example of what should be in this thread. I've met Neven in his restaurant. He agreed to record a video message to some friends for me. When I asked if he'd do it, he took me into a separate room, did the video and asked me to watch it back to see if it was ok. When he saw it, he wasn't happy with it himself and recorded another one. All this was after spending at least 5 min chatting to my wife and I at our table discussing what we thought of the wine pairings with each course of the tasting menu. An absolute gentleman. And from speaking to people in the locality, all are of the same opinion. Any dislike of him is inexplicable, at least to me anyway!
David Quantick gave Madonna’s Like A Prayer album 10/10 in his NME review. Always thought that was pretty cool as it annoyed the chinstrokers (yes, they existed in 1989 too).
Guggi.
That’s the pretentious dose who normally appears in the sentence “ Bono and his best friend Guggi “
pleasing
Billy Burns. No. 10 for Ulster. Playing well v leinster right now, he's probably a nice fella, and I don't know why i can't stand him - but he has a very punchable face
To be fair it is a banger of a pop album
Allie Sherlock
Good singer and good looking but I can't stand her
Thats George Foreman Doc.
The dose paraded around from his "fame during the big snow' 🙄 Frosttit guy or something
Frostbit Boy in fairness to him he didn’t really seek out any fame, he was just interviewed one morning when there was snow. He disappeared from the spotlight then fir a few years until he was rescued in the sea off Kerry, and now he is a bit back as he is trying to make a job out of being a political commentator.
And in more fairness to him, he did try to use his distinctive voice to try make a normal non-showbiz career, ie auctioneering.
He's still very annoying. Auctioneer or not.
It’s probably not inexplicable but that unfunny ‘ comedian ‘ Tom Allen drives me demented . I turn off the tv if he comes on .
Why would he not have wanted to be in Saipan playing in the World Cup for Ireland?
Alison Curtis today fm. Just find her voice irritating. Change station straight away.
I heard a chef recently saying that's the new way , and the old way was in fact bullying rather than genius
Yeah it really is radio for mums
Really like her; I’m a mam - maybe that explains it!
I've never understood the utter reverence the horse racing community enjoy in this country. Apart from big days out like the Irish GN and Leopardstown after Christmas it's almost solely the preserve of desperate penniless down and outs. Bar maybe oul lads placing 1 euro bets for the company more than anything, nobody with a normal relationship with gambling can be found in a bookies at 1pm on a weekday afternoon- I took shelter in one in town to send a text when it was lashing one day (one of those days it's litereally too wet to type on your screen) and youre just aghast at how many young lads in either office wear on construction gear staring at the screens open mouthed waiting for their horse to come in.
That reminds me: Ruby Wax.
Hasnt seemed to have gotten anywhere beyond busking was being hyped up for a while few years ago.
Just covers so far ?
Not sure i presume so
Rather than a music star / artist / performer….she’s more a social media thing…
go to her website, there isn’t even a gig section. But there is a section for donations…do you get an mp3, a wristband or an autograph in return ? nope, you get SFA…you get to give her your money, like wtf ? Her and her management are pretty disingenuous….
why can’t she support her music herself ? She earns busking / social media and whatever else. Why doesn’t she do paid gigs ?
Sandi Toksvig
Comes off very smug, not particularly funny
Qi went to **** after she took over