Got 1300 for a 3 spinner in Carnaross last month
avg 1800 for poor enough cows
Paid €1600 for fresh calved cows giving 35 litres.
Nope heap of fr straws with some Charolais ,Hereford Ai beef straws before limo bull cleans up
How do you find the charolais calving wise mj
I'd be afraid of the ch and limo myself.
Carnew marts never advertised that sale I think? It was just lumped in like a regular weekly dairy sale where there could be 1 or 50 animals.
I see the machinery and dairy sale advertised in January. Fine milking parlour there from the picture of the cow. No real slight against the mart but there seems to be more advertising of machinery than stock.
No bother last few years …just use on good lumps of second calvers plus for first 4 weeks of breeding season …very easy sell the calves
Used in right cow no bother …obviously look for easy calving as well
What way, if they had flesh on them and where 550kgs plus weight you'd get them into 950 plus in the factory, killed 6 cows out of the parlour yesterday, that where empty, and had issues not well fleshed at all they came into 950 of a average was expecting 700
Paid the same here
They are gone hungry for cow's again I'm told had a lad looking for some at the start of the week
Not sure about that.at least not for the next 2 years.theres alot of young stock in yards
When are the results of the dna testing out
Farmers never sell good youngstock cheap its always better to sell old cows lame high scc slow milkers with a firm cull cow trade this is the way overstocked farms will go
They weren’t fleshy. In need of a good wormer and lice treatment
i was surprised they made what they did with zero data
Could be after the Spring intake. Lucky to have it done for breeding choices.
The genotyping scheme?
23rd January is When new evaluations come out.
Never seen the like of all the bulls in catalouges ebi.No one inspects the daughters of these bulls and most of the bulls dissapear within a year.Most ebis drop when daughters start milking.
Jaysus ….I’m starting to agree with you …..
Fowlerstown conti - fr4746
this is his sister milk recording on her second lactation - yet his ebi figure for milk is a measly 84
I'd love to be sat down by a higher up in the icbf and have the below explained to me, westcoast rivers milk ebi should be 30-40 euro higher than peresus, but is lower at 125 versus 145, makes no logically sense given their daughter recorded solids from their proofs in America, obviously theirs no recorded river daughters but theirs no comparison
Milking daughters of both and the river cows are miles ahead....
Ohhhh no me too 🤣
Did ye all fill out the Kerry survey. I can't see it being too accurate based on anyone I spoke to about it. Filled it out accurately myself for my own sake.
Thats some cow lad credit to you. if we all had herds of cows like her and if she had decent fertility we cud milk less cows and make more money.
I dont why lads bother their hole filling out this shite ,it is not that Kerry co op will help out Kerry dairy farmers anyhow ,only another shower of crooks if you ask me
Youll never get to sit down with anyone cus the board makes these decisions no one or two people respnsible same as nitrates committee advisory,,,bord bia quality assurance,,deartment,,,epa no one to challenge directly or take accountability
What do u experts think of genomic testing heifer calves is it worth it or like the vast array of bull in catalouges a gimic im genuinely intrested as everyone seems to be atit
ICBF are not responsible for calculating proofs on International bulls.
Interbull in Sweden do the international proof conversions for all participating countries including Ireland, US and UK etc.
This is to ensure that all across-country evaluations are consistent. The methodologies and conversion factors are all published.
There is a high correlation between Ireland and US for milk traits, around 0.88.
Icbf are responsible ebi calcuation and are constantantly changeing the criteria of an ebi score.
I was looking at that article about the herd he came from. Big milk, big cows, big meal feeding. I think they would suit you as you seem to have great yields, and must be on great feeding