I would say the names being ambiguous is part of the plan in a city.
Na. Piarsaigh for instance who have the whole northside of Limerick to themselves might not want to limit their catchment by calling the club Caherdavin.
Or a Cabra fella might play for Na Fianna would might hate anything called Drumcondra.
The loss of handball alleys and the fading of that game was a big loss for inner city Gaelic games.
There is a growing issue with sports clubs becoming politicised aswell. We obviously have some Ulster clubs being named after terrorists and this in itself excludes people. Then we have the likes of Bohemians who are a left wing / alternative club who's politics would be the opposite of mine. I wouldnt go and watch or let my kids participate in a club like Bohs . Id drive 45mins to avoid them.
How in god's name can a GAA fan claim sport is "becoming politicised"
It always has been and not just in Ireland either.
The 'terrorist' designation is meaningless here. Those clubs are not named after people the community see as 'terrorists'.
Your wee profile flag shows you yourself are taking political stances and are just being predictably self righteous.. Ho hum.
The Kerry County Board must be using the Same QS firm that the HSE use if they think they can get a similar size new Fitzgerald Stadium build for €78 Million
Anyone who says anything like that clearly doesn't know anything about sport history or sport outside the British Isles.
This is all starting to sound like the crazy pet project of of a maverick county board chairman.
I seen a few months ago they've built a new handball building beside Croke Park, should hopefully get more people back playing.
Kerry supporters used to get great glee in saying they would only travel for finals.Do they expect other counties to rush down to a white elephant for group games .
With the cork footballers in the doldrums there is no fixture which would warrent this build.
If you try and force people to go to a unsuitable venue they just wont go .Look at the trouble cork have at attracting any outside counties filled more often for other sports rather then the gaa.
If you got any kind of a cost benefit ratio done wonder would you find money better off spent on coaching and particpation projects other than vanity
That's just the handball version of Crime Park. It won't do anything for playing numbers.
Did you not hear that Killarney will get all of the biggest music acts. Elvis will be making a comeback just for Killarney.
Elvis never died it was just fake news
Ah sure isn't the 'devil' buried in Killarney
Some say he was dead
Sure is. My old man used to support Bohs and I went there with him on occasion in the 70s. Now its like some sports wing of the Shinners or is it the Stickies... Would make a great GAA pitch though.😎
More realistically though I would like to see the waste ground around Richmond Barracks developed as a GAA club. Is it Barracks SQ? Anyhow everytime I go thru there it's a mess.
It's housing both social and non-social going up around Richmond Barracks.
Kerry seem to be pitching hard for government/ central GAA funding, especially with the insistence on not getting into debt (not in itself a bad aim).
There's no way they'll get anywhere near €35 Million though, never mind almost €78 Million. With the topped up funds announced recently, GAA stadia are getting typically €6-8 Million. Even if in the next round of LSSIF funding they go mad and give Kerry double the highest award at €17 Million, who is going to make up the €20 Million+ shortfall?
The GAA are tightening up on wasteful stadium builds after having to bail out Páirc Uí Chaoimh (see the Louth stadium standoff during the summer, or their only mild enthusiasm for Casement), so they won't be throwing huge amounts of cash Kerry's way either.
The only way I see a €35 Million+ project in Killarney is if the Healy-Raes are propping up the next Government.
You maybe on to something there I could easily see the Healy Ray Crew proping up the next government and as part of there demands a new Fitzgerald Stadium or a major upgrade. Its only recently Michael said the only job he has is to look after Kerry
Built using a Healy Are construction firm too if they got the money.
It really bugs me this "build it and they will come" attitude. It's just not true when you are talking about a sport as small as GAA. Kerry have a catchment of 150k and are not a prime neutral venue choice. A few concerts if they get them won't pay for that stadium.
Sometimes I think the Kerry crowd actually believe the "cute hoor" horsesht they feed the Yanks.
The reason a stadiums might be viable in Kerry while not in more populated area is tge amount of accommodation in the area. It has the second most hotel accommodation to Dunlin and that is before you look at Holiday rentals
Still won't get enough gigs or events and the GAA don't factor in hotel space when choosing venues.
The recent expansion of the terraces in Killarney was an absolute waste of money. Outside of improving spectator facilities and comfort in the main stand Killarney needed no work.
Those plans are a chronic waste of money and if Kerry get the cash it can only be through corruption.
I know you are local but would I be right in saying that around half of those beds are currently contracted to the government?
Not sure of figures but from memory there was about 6000 beds and now it's about 3000.
Regardless of any of that the plans I saw for Killarney are pie in the sky stuff.
What would be occurring in the stadium to create demand for accommodation though? The biggest game Killarney can expect to hold is a Munster final vs. a decent Cork team. Cork fans won't need hotel rooms.
Biggest games will be the home group game in the group stage. Even a resurgent Cork won't have the fans giving a shte about the provincials.
If the plan was to build a new top class but smaller stadium like Thomond Park or something I would say fair play but adding capacity with more stands and second tiers is a mistake that the rest of the country has already chopped on to.
Interesting from the Galway County Board about damage to the Pearse Stadium Pitch after the Ed Sheerean Concerts. Could this have any effect on any other county boards thinking of concerts?.
Plenty of other pitches host concerts. Nowlan park has never had any major problems. I wonder was it something to do with different pitch surfaces or inexperience of the ground staff. Maybe its a risk and they were just unlucky.
There are only a handful of counties where big gigs are viable and 2 of them in Cork and Kilkenny are already doing gigs.
Doesn't that pitch have a terrible reputation anyway ?
End of year reports from Cork should be a wake up call for anyone thinking of building
Stadiums on that scale just should not be the job of the county boards to build or fund.
It's one thing a smaller county doing a little refurb but stuff like PuC being in the hands of boards with nothing but the income of the gate receipts of a mid tier English soccer club is stupid.
Yeah its a bit of an unusall one but the galway county board where also blaming croke park for all there other problems to.
I know the likes of PUC is an issue but on the plus side a lot of the county boards have engaged with the Gaa stadium committe to see what the best way to go about the upgrades to there county grounds with out getting in to serious debt
Our lads would want to get their own house squared away before they go throwing stones at Ed Sheeran or Croke Park.
It's not that long ago gate receipts were going missing and Pat Mac was withholding sponsorship funds.
dublin CB to apply for a further five million
An article below about Croke Park and the euros. In the article they mention if croke park had being used they would look at the government underwriting ticket sales.
Would there be a worry if they used croke park that some games would not fully sell out?