Serious question.
Personally I think he’s a bit of an arsehole but if he could put the foot down and solve the issues facing this country with strength and determination, then he would have my vote.
Can’t seem to add a poll anywhere
No. He is a thug. All he has shown, in the last two weeks or so, is that he has a skill for riling up gurrier thickos
"There'd be votes every week".
Just what we need, a President who has zero clue about the Constitution.
This just all speaks of a clown who wants attention, We are worse for giving it to him.
The guy is thicker than Trump. That takes a lot of doing.
But as the old saying goes ‘A pint of plain is your only man’
Apparently he has hired political advisers who worked in UK with ties to Brexit, Conservative European Research Group etc..
It's already noticeable. His tweets are actually knowledgeable.
Don’t suppose he would need permission to re-enter the country?
Hope he's vetted before they let him back in.
Anyone voting for this piece of shite if he entered politics needs to be sectioned.
Politicians’ power is limited but what these ultra-conservative groups aim to do across the world is to put someone in power for long enough to change the heads of the civil service, judges etc. Positions that can be held for decades and frustrate any real change in a society. Hungary and the UK gutted their civil services.
Given how tightly controlled politics is here, the best mcgregor could hope for is to become an independent TD and end up shouting from the sidelines like Paul Murphy, RBB or Mattie McGrath. He’ll never get nominated for President. Look at Dana’s attempt in 2004. Every council slammed the door on her. G O’D, the same.
It is hilarious how many foreign idiots are cheering about him running for president due to them not understanding how our nomination system works as well as just assuming its a similar role to the US system. However its equally sad how many irish people seem to be under the same ignorant delusions.
The Presidency was created as a retirement home by Dev for himself.
Sometimes, when you read something ridiculously stupid, it takes a minute to process just how stupid it is.
Absolutely. Hungary, Poland, UK, US, Russia all engaging in this in last decade to various degrees- undermining civil service, undermining independent judiciary, undermining media, undermining human rights
oh lighten up, you’ll live longer you miserab….
I myself wouldn't but lets be real everyone in government currently are bent or incompetent & sometime both ,
How will he get on the ballot?
He wont, they are just taking his money hes cus a moron.
If he actually managed to get on the ballot, I could see people voting for him. Firstly, the kind who would genuinely would believe him to be a great president, and then secondly, those who'd vote for him as a protest vote.
Would I personally vote for him, absolutely not.
We get the politicians we deserve. They're the ones we vote for.
I can just imagine all the American McGregor fans on social media, frothing at the mouth. Conor, he's the one to MIGA. Bear in mind, these are the same lads who think they are Irish themselves because a great grandfather once drank a pint of Guinness in England.
Everyone?
It's about the only thing he could win, not a chance in hell of him winning a "fight"
He hasn't a hope
From Twitter posts it looks like the potential candidates suggested are:
Conor McGregor
Bertie Ahern
Gerry Adams
Enda Kenny
Peter Casey
Paul McGrath
Kevin Sharkey
Now that obviously isn’t a definitive candidate list as we are so far out but those are the names that have come up.
McGregor and McGrath are wildcards but popular people, the latter probably more respected. I would give McGregor my vote.
Ahern and Kenny are the establishment candidates, same goes possibly to Adams.
I’d vote for either McGregor, McGrath, Sharkey or Casey. They are the only candidates of any consequence.
Just in case anyone was wondering:
To be eligible for election as President, you must be an Irish citizen who is 35 or older. You must be nominated either by:
Don't think we'll have to worry about mcgregor
Paul McGrath is absolute bullshit, neither McGregor nor Sharkey would get a nomination. Casey despite getting a nomination previously has a potential issue as the comments that gained him alot of his popularity happened after he was nominated so he may find it harder to get nominated this time round due to them, that's if he even wants to try again.
The ignorance of Russell Brand and the bottiness of his comment section has never been more apparent, because he's only after doing a video on McGregor's political 'rise'.
A THREW PATRIOT 🤜🤛👊
All the ususal right wing mouthpieces are singing from the exact same hym sheet on him right now. Its times like this it becomes really obvious how much they organise their messaging especially when it shows off their ignorance that not one of them knows what they are talking about and are all reading from the same prepared bullet points.