Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Not even a little old gaff… if you have a spare box room in your in home in Ballygobackwards, you’ll still get €800 from the government. Nice little earner. It’s creating a false floor in rental prices for everyone else, as that €800 would never be achieved in the open market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Gussoe

What's the plan for the next 6 months, the next year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,193 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

If they could access hotels/hostels under any conditions, irrespective of location, right now they wouldn't be doing what they are doing. they really are at the bottom of the barrel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,131 ✭✭✭malinheader

Who knows what incentives will be used.

A friend of mine is renting a house, married and children. He was telling me last week that his landlord had a call from the local council asking him would he be interested in renting his house out to refugee family.

Who knows how low this government will stoop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Russia didn't take in refugees they forcibly Deported hundreds of thousands of Ukrainians including 700,000 + children kidnapped to be giving to Russian families to adopt

The vacant house tax information will soon be all gathered. Compulsory purchase orders on earmarked vacant houses next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Gussoe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭lmimmfn

If you read between the lines its forcing those with holiday homes to house refugees followed by forcing houses with free rooms to be used.

Lets house the world 😀

Ignoring idiots who comment "far right" because they don't even know what it means

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭CatLick

It's really simple. Ireland is full. We can't take anymore. It doesn't matter who you are. You must go to another country for refuge.

Why can't the government say the blindingly obvious. Are they afraid the UN will give out to them 🙄.

• This content has been removed.

Rte news at 9.

"The well has ran dry and its going to take sometime before proper accommodation can be got"

So I would love to hear from the welcome all crowd to see where they think they should be put up.

Our cities streets are going to be a whole lot more dangerous imo if they don't close up shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,403 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

And still refugees will be arriving tomorrow, the day after, the day after that...

We've lost all control of the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭slay55

I’d burn my home to the ground than be forced to give up a spare room

**** this government

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭lmimmfn

Same, I didn't and dont work my ass off paying mortgage, trying to raise kids for some freeloader refugee to rock up to my gaff expecting to be housed, f*** that, I'd sell up and move to NI or Britan before I'd do that, NI only have 7000+ increase in population for over 1 million vs the **** show here.

One good reason to deny a united ireland 😀

Post edited by lmimmfn on

Ignoring idiots who comment "far right" because they don't even know what it means

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭thegame983

Do the governments mates in the vulture funds not have any spare rooms?

They own enough properties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Coolcormack1979

Ah did the revenue boys not think there was 50000 houses in rack and ruin or slightly better that they could grab under the guise of getting property tax.turned out there are only 3000 or so .

this country is seriously fcuked with this government who are only interested in destroying the culture and uniqueness of us .we’re going to be a minority in our own country by 2050.god forgive them

So the plan going to government today is that asylum seekers who can not be offered accommodation will get 75 euros per week.

Brilliant, brilliant 👏 by our brainless leaders.

Well I guess that's that sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Floppybits

No not afraid of the UN giving out to them, they are afraid it will effect the cushy jobs they have lined up for when the leave office. These politicians are not doing this out of the goodness of their hearts, they are being offered something for this is in return. If they did care they would have been addressing the housing situation here at home for many before doing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,911 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Assume Ukrainian refugees will be getting the social welfare double payment this month?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭tom23

It's a bit of everything. As already pointed out Politicians are not the altruistic humanitarians they like to make themselves out to be. It's a stepping stone to something bigger. Im sure Roddy has an eye on some an NGO ceo gig or an EU position. What they don't have is listening skills especially when in office it seems to abandon them after 'what Im hearing on the doorsteps' when campaigning.

There's no beds or accommodation, but sure thats ok we'll throw you more taxpayers money. Leo is concerned. Poor Leo, does he ever get a good nights sleep with all that concern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Emblematic

It is more the EU or particular countries of the EU we are trying to keep on the good side of. During the refugee crisis associated with Syria, we were called out for not doing enough to help out when continental EU countries were being overrun. I think we are now trying to compensate for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Decades of "shur twill be grand" wishful thinking and mismanagement finally ends in red faces all round.

Nice going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,046 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Another factor I suspect is that we are a neutral country and were unable to send any military aid to Ukraine. That is probably one of the reasons we offered to take a lot of Ukrainian refugees instead. In defence of the Govt, nobody had a clue in February 2022 what way the war would pan out or how long it would last. It's very easy to be wise after the event nearly two years on and say we shouldn't have taken so many Ukrainians, but that whole period was filled with uncertainty and govts in Europe were responding to a rapidly unfolding crisis. I'm not sure anyone thought the war would still be underway two years later, with not even a hint of a ceasefire or peace process in the offing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭jack of all

It's never too late to do the right thing, namely admit that we can't take in any more people as we do not have the accommodation available and reduce the social welfare payments and benefits package on offer to those already here. We are discriminating against Irish citizens who are struggling with high and rising cost of living expenses whilst providing generous benefits to new arrivals who may not be making any contribution by way of income tax. Stop telling hard pressed Irish taxpayers "we must do more".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,204 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,046 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I believe the reducing the social welfare payments thing is already been looked at. Even some Ukrainian people have said they think the payments are too high.