The National Farm survey is operated as part of the Farm Accountancy Data Network of the EU and fulfils Ireland's statutory obligation (Council Regulation (EC) No 1217/2009) to provide data on farm output, costs and income to the European Commission.
National Farm Survey data is collected from an anonymous group of farms using a pre-defined set of criteria that are used across countries. You don't volunteer for it. The data are published (and legally have to be) using the FADN criteria.
The data published every year comes from these farms. It's all here, from every country in the EU. https://agridata.ec.europa.eu/extensions/FarmEconomyFocus/FADNDatabase.html
Teagasc or any other internal state body do not get to cherry pick what's published and what isn't.
You should be every night hoping and praying that you will still be farming in forty years time. I have relatives in their late eighties that still have a few cattle. It's all they talk about it. Our health is our wealth.
You sound a bit sick of farming lately. Take a few days break. And turn off the phone and the news. That's what I do. Because reading shite about farming is twice as stressful as actually doing the work
Well researched …….I’ve never nor don’t know anyone that was asked to submit data for these national surveys …..I’ve also no doubt our national advisory body has a part to play directly or Indirectly in these
Not that I'm sick of it but I don't intend milking cows in my 60s as there are other things on my horizon. I have a hobby farm bought just to keep the habit fed as I know everyone needs a reason to get going in the morning.
Cows dried off, 3 trips away planned over Dec/Jan and plenty nights out.
You don't know because the farms are kept anonymous. It is a condition of participation.
They are selected to keep the numbers representative of average scale and location of farms in the country. So for example, the percentage of farms in the National Farm Survey sample group from Cork will be about the same as the proportion of farms in the country from Cork etc. The selection is done 'blind' from a pool of potential candidate farms and this process is audited and tested to be statistically robust.
It is different from the Profit Monitor because that has voluntary participation- that is probably why the farms in Profit Monitor might be bigger in herd size. The NFS figures as a result are a more reliable picture.
EU Direct Payments and financial aid for farmers is contingent on NFS being completed and published.
So if you disagree with NFS being published on principle, don't submit a BISS application next year!
I still know of no one who has participated ….anonymous or not ….what info is divulged ….very smokescreen and cloak and dagger to me ….can’t say I know too many if any that would divulge sensetitive farm info to be used like that …..
My father filled out that survey for years before he realised how thankless an exercise it was.
While the whole thing might be conducted with the best of intentions farmers are sick of the sensational headlines created on the back of the results.
This BS that Eamon Ryan and co. dole out about the European taxpayer must get value for money is fair sick too. The European taxpayer is getting excellent value from supporting farming but can Eamonn say the same about his own wages and expenses, social welfare budgets, health budgets, infrastructure budgets ...... I think not and I don't know why people like him don't get pulled up more often on that crap.
I'm all for pulling all subsidies from farming and let's see what happens but while we're at that sure we might as well stop supporting every other business as well and sure feck it, we'll slash public sector pay across the board too and cut out social welfare altogether.
You missed my point. Try and enjoy every day. Don't be looking forward to retirement.
After a shite year with weather, prices and RTE and politicians constantly bad mouthing us. It was very wearing.
I should take my own advice sometimes, I sound like a Buddhist monk
You're being too modest. I'd say you're a cow-milking, baby-making, Buddhist monk 😂
Possibly a hairy baby maker who operates around the parish……
Thats a great post the sums of money farmers get is a drop in the ocean compared to what is given and available for other industries and sectors from building grants start up grants wage subsidies the list goes on and on
🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣ah I needed that
Just because you don't know of anyone doesn't mean it's not robust. The reason that they are kept anonymous is to prevent any influence or criticism coming their way. By the evidence on here of private individuals having their businesses gossiped about, the policy is a good one.
The info "divulged" is collected by recorders for all enterprises. I would argue that it's the spin put on the numbers by media and farm orgs that is misleading and sensationalist. Especially in relation to comparing whole farm incomes for different enterprises, at different levels of scale and off-farm income.
If you believe in grand conspiracy theories that is your own business but there is no smokescreen and cloak and dagger. Just some journos and farmers who want to talk up/down one sector compared to another.
That is a fair point, you would wonder what the individual gets from it. But the point is that it is a legal requirement on the state to complete it and your EU payments are conditional on it. It hasn't been dreamt up domestically for the sake of it, or to 'do down' famers. Every other EU country must do the same.
Ya, I blame the journalists too for sensationalising the results.
Whatever way it is put ….some farmers give away info too looosely and freely …..and other organisations spin it to suit whatever agenda they wish to spin …..o don’t know of any other sector who give away and allow data to be manipulated like the agro sector
The only thing I take issue with there is the individuals are about as private as the lady's in the window's of the red light district in Amsterdam
No wonder we are, the way we are .
Jayus will that bollox, tell that Arab to slaughter half his cows and rewild his desert
Fine geal are totally away with the mixer
🤣🤣🤣🤣
Fairly true though.
The sandy soils would surely leach the nitrates like mad too?
He invited them.to Ireland as well to look at how things are done here, but dairy farmers beout of business when they get here.
Is that Danny Healy Rae to the right in the photo...........?
The farm survey is a joke remember being at a teagasc seiminar showed two farms one poor profit other high what stood out was one had huge diesel use which indicates fragmented farm
Hmmm. Granular NFS data on individual farms are not available to make such comparisons. In any case, if the diesel bill explained the difference in profit you would suspect that more than a few trips to the out-farm was involved.
I suspect you may be under a misapprehension.
Arab Danny
They'd be under 170 now...on the platform like..
Some place for a climate summit wud bord bia do a sustainability survey for farm there.
Per square foot🤣
They actually have plans to plant Billions of trees and rehabilitate millions of acres of overgrazed and degraded land
https://www.greeninitiatives.gov.sa/about-sgi/sgi-targets/greening-saudi/
Charlie's ramblings in March
Versus now
What's he gaining by spinning lie after lie after lie, you couldn't believe a word out of his mouth at this stage
Charlie has proved time and time again he’s unfit for office …a spoofer …a fraud ….and in and on but what could we expect from a third choice minister …..
call a spade a spade he won’t need something as controversial as a cow cull scheme …..he’s got it thru banding and derogation and can just pawn it off as European directive
I'm at home in the bar in kilgarven right now if you want to call for a pint I would go no where with that lad any how.