announced on the radio just now he has passed away
maybe a happy day for the man after years of illness
RIP
Just breaking no links yet
thought he'd last a few years more. RIP. genuine on Radio & TV
News | Latest Breaking News Stories & Headlines | RTÉ (rte.ie)
We'll never see his type again. RIP Shane.
Sad to see
He seemed indestructible in that Keith Richards kind of way. RIP, and he will definitely be remembered.
Confirmed by RTE.
He didn't look at all well in recent photos from hospital.
RIP.
https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2023/1130/1419329-pogues-frontman-shane-macgowan-dies-aged-65/
RIP Shane
Shite, that's really bad news, and a really big loss to Irish and international music scene. He wasn't looking the best in the photos in the media recently. My condolences to his wife, family and friends.
Bad old year for Irish music between Shane, Christy Dignam and Sinead
In his heyday with The Pogues he was one of the greatest lyricists in rock history. RIP.
End of a Legend. Honestly thought this would have happened years ago.
But no denying he was a cultural icon and fascinating individual. Great songs down the years.
A great lyricist and an Irish legend. RIP.
The amazing things is that I remember poor tragic Sinead O'Connor talking to Joe on Liveline over ten years ago crying about the imminent death of Shane back then and yet he managed to outlive her.
Fairytale of New York a pretty good bet for Christmas number 1 this year I'd say...
Its very sad that he is gone but not a surprise. He was a true flawed genius.
But the body of work he has left us will endure for a long time. A Rainy Night in Soho is such a perfect song IMO.
Ah feck. I had hoped he was on the mend when he left hospital. Absolute legend.
We walked him to the station in the rain
And we kissed him as we put him on the train
And we sang him a song of times long gone
Though we knew that we'd be seeing him again
Met him in a pub once, drinking PINTS of Gin, very sad. Great talent, RIP
A Rainy night in Soho might be the best song ever written in this country.....
Enjoy the rest you didn't often afford yourself in this go around Shane....
I'm not singing for the future
I'm not dreaming of the past
I'm not talking of the first times
I never think about the last......
That he even made it to 65 is remarkable. RIP.
One of my claims to fame.
Being chucked out of Filthy Macnastys pub in London for being drunk by none other than himself. Still makes me smile thinking about it. Legend!
RIP. Dirty old town, one of my favourites.
You must have set a new benchmark for drunkeness if MacGowan thought you`d had too much. RIP.
He had a good innings all things considered.
Will play some Pogues LOUD later on.
Farewell Shane, have a bottle of vodka, gin, brandy, whiskey or 2 up there with the angels.
Mod Moved from After Hours.
Can this be merged please with the existing thread here @Beasty @Ten of Swords
rip shane, and thank you
...we really should be doing something about our mental health and addiction problems, but shur we probably wont!
A Rainy night in Soho might be the best song ever written in this country....
It was produced and recorded in London about an ex English girlfriend he used live with and be in a band with in London.
But it is a cracking song.
Shane at a Clash concert from 1977