The farm has to pay that wage ….same as any other farm expense most financials don’t show this or capital repayments which gloss over things
Your forgetting the expenses that have to come out ….which would be high if like been discused lots of contractor use ,labour and if not developed lots of capital expenditure …maby land purchase and land lease
cattle sales and in lot of cases bps wouldn’t be huge here with calves gone early and culls offloaded after scanning
could be a 4/500 k mortgage for a house after that plus living expenses etc
Alot of farms are depndant on wife working farmers wives usually have gd jobs they know there marrying into money so its win win if divorce.As i said before when u start splitting a lads cows into people who need to make living theres not much for everyone
Question does everyone pay teagasc research levy i trief to stop mine but its compulsory they said is this true.I dont c what research there doing now to benefit me i opted out of most of there last advice
Absolutely but I can't tell ye cause I'm just bitter 😄😄😄😄that young lad is posting away there like teagasc just invented everything there's to do with farming.....
She's bringing a whole pile more than that to the table fair plahy to her and her family a serious operator in her own right
For a lad who is apparently not bitter or jealous, you are fairly obsessed about constanly bringing the thread back to one particular farmer
I'm a dyed in the wool keep as far away from teagasc as possible he's the opposite. young lad your tying yourself up in a knot about something no-one else really cares about especially the farm being discussed. When your a bit older and longer milking cows you'll understand that everything is not black and white.
I would expect lads mean as a contribution to the house and there own personal wealth. If not and they mean save the farm/business then your 100% correct
Grass I'm not starting a row but the dumping sfp is a non runner that loophole is close to being tied up ..... now don't get me wrong I'm dero myself just about the 220 by my calculations I'm up in numbers slightly this year but if dero goes completely I'm out of business especially if land prices and costs stay the same
They've forgotten what they have forgotten about
Jasus not another one .... just refer to my other post you'll get the gist I haven't time for keeping up with ye
....maybe the thread has moved on but I hadn't read the thread earlier today and had not realised that discussing post wasn't allowed as for the particular business it wasn't me that brought it up named the person or started the discussion on the enterprise.........
You claim to be discussing other methods but you're really just on here making snide remarks about lads that seem to be doing well. Just like you're making condescending remarks about me.
Personally I don't get it, fair play to anyone doing well. From your posts you seem miserable farming, I'd guess you went straight into it from school. "young" lads like myself chose to go in after seeing how other jobs work, it definitely seems to make a difference
Are these other guys doing well is the guy with 50 cows no land leased high production no labour or buildings to pay better of than the lad with a couple of hundred huge areas rented contract rearer
Like that's your opinion mann!
I'm afraid your not willing to listen or discuss that's your choice.....you certainly have absolutely no idea about me or my business. Open your mind you may Learn something different from your own point of view how is it being snide to point out the gaping holes in the narrative 🤔 several other posters have referenced the same thing. if I happen to have more information on this issue than you it's not being bitter I did didn't knock the man or his partner I did and will continue to disagree with his system and the narrative teagasc has been advocating in this country. Now good evening to you. And Health wealth and happiness happiness to you.
Ye are both wrong. From being around a good while I have seen that it's the lad that doesn't worry too much is the happiest. The one that when all the animals are healthy he is happy. The lad that could write what he knows about farming on the back of a postage stamp.
Rather than the fellow thinking about the next problem. I know a lad a few miles away, who changed contractors because he went into a neighbors field and reckoned it was mowed closer to the ditch than his own.
Given the hours most farmers put in and family support, it should be paying all the mortgage and household bills first and foremost, otherwise its just another ego tripping exercise.
There is an awful lot of lads more focused on trying to create a model farm then a farm that generates cash efficiently.
Theirs alot more to it, they've ghost cows, not registered/accounted for on their goverments record, alot of lads where having 50% plus twins at one stage on-farm as away around it, they got caught at that so they've gone the above route, the recording of animals out their isn't half as strict as Ireland
Nobody know s what it's like to walk in someone else's shoes.i suppose everyone starts from somewhere whether it's nothing ,a little,comfortable or alot and that forms alot of how they are going to behave in their lives.very often businesses start from hunger but thrive from drive and money doesn't end up being the driving factor ,just the habit of always pushing yourself.so maybe some people can't step back and are happier working on rather than threading water and I m sure the guy that's content with his lot is just as happy.it makes sweet f all difference to me what anyone else is doing but there is a trend and the farm with 50 cows now has at some point in the past moved on from 5 cows.it s just the way it is
There’s a lot of lads happy to work for nothing and be selective as to what they see as a cost of production ……huge dose of reality needed now on farms …false hope wwll keep 250 or 220 ..both will be gone sooner than we think and we may plan for it …..milk price rebounding next year is going to drive lads stupid again …the come down when prices tank again will be some wallop ….with heavier enviro restrictions to boot
Not as simple as that ….lots of creative accounting at play
Unless they have outside money/retained profits banks aren't going to lend to facilitate them, the horn has to be gone of most lads at this stage , when you get a random text like this of your co-op you'd feel like putting your fist through a wall, their cheerleading for the most part the bulls**t hoops and regulations coming at us, but in 5 years time with milk supply collapsing they'll be rowing back but will be to far gone at that stage
Dont underestimate the 50 cow man alot of big shots think there doing alot better but there not as i said before divide your cows by the number making a living from that farm 50 is about where most guys are im milking over 150 with the woman theres not many doing what i do but im some man to work.
That kinda event would sicken yer sh*t alright.
I saw another one mentioned on Twitter where the premise was "Farmers have lost the public trust". That's not the case at all. It's a false narrative that gives the media, academics, politicians, and civil servants something to talk about.
I the journal podcast was similar vein of thought to the above two points. Basically we as farmers have to justify ourselves needing to stay in business
As long as it rebounds and I can worry about being stupid again!
As Charlie mcgreevy said if I have it I'll spend it!!!
I just thought they left the "h" out of their "trust"
Fairly sickening on the whole.
In fairness its not like they need an 500 million extra litres of milk for a 200 million euro cheese built their just after building, while 2023 supply is down 2% year to date on 2022 which was 1% down I think on 2021
Go woke go broke will come back to haunt them in the not to distant future, but inevitable its their suppliers that will foot the bill
Great post