Fair play 👍👍👍but when dero is gone where will it leave you …..only my opinion but your stretching your system putting more cows on building more tanks buying more machinery based on a lot of leased land ….and speaking from experience when time comes your dad will have to step back his workload considerably you’ll need 40 k plus to attract a labour unit
I’d have to chuck the sfp I think and take the chance. Say we get 2 more years at 250 then dero is gone completely, could take fines for 2 -3years before it’s really gone. We’re up to 2029 then.
there isn’t going to be enough land available for us all to farm sub 170. I think you’re going to see a lot of farmers dump the sfp if it means they can stay viable
Ya, when I borrowed to buy the land it was all in my name but they wanted to know my wife's earnings in order to assess the application and make my repayment case stronger.
It’s not that if ….it’s when and all this bs false hope and newsstories been put out at events ,farming press ministers and lobby bodies needs to be nipped in the bud
You could be wrong we should organise a christmas party over that way do a farm visit and sort it all out
Its all great haveing a wife working but the cost of childcare is trough the roof pay tax drive to work wont be much out of it for many in normal jobs
Daddy daycare
You sound unreal. And modest too.
maybe just for a second come down from your high horse, is there any chance that you don’t know everything and listening (yes just listening no gun to your head) to other people’s perspectives from their own experience of life and farming could possibly be a good idea?
Im no genius but some basic decisions u dont need to be one.Like clowns who paid 20k for land during boom and they only farming.Guys who built huge sheds parlours on basis of rented land i used to think i was doing somehing wrong but i wasnt.
Yup
If what you post is true, you inherited a big block of ground had no real borrowings which allowed you to buy cheap nama farms which was luck not business savviness. You got dealt a good hand and fell on more luck if you couldn’t make money no one could with the huge block of land you have.
Childcare is very well subsidised, €80 a week per child in a crèche, reducing to €60 soon AFAIK
Il tell u lad what another man cud have dine in my situation he could have put up a rotary leased all the land in the parish had a heap of muppetts working for him go into derogation then today be a whinger of how teagasc the governmen greenscare are against us.I cud have also bought alot less land pre 2008 and be farming 20k land today.
Sure it’s all down to luck that you didn’t pull the trigger on land pre 2008 I doubt you’re going to say you were predicting the global recession now as well back then lol
I can't believe that someone would seriously think that the SFP is their get out of jail card!
Sure there's a few chancers at it, but their cards are marked and the DAFM are not fools and neither they nor the processors won't let a cohort of farmers act above the law. Either through Bord Bia compliance, herd number issues, eligibility for TAMS grants and the local authorities, the net will squeeze.
Yes i knew recession was coming local town had foreigner building houses to rent to foreigners building houses.I predicted this derogation mess look i have no rented land im not in derogation ive no 20k land bought i suppose its all down to luck.Plenty of lads with my acerage put themselves inhardship.
Ah now, you can do a lot through surplus bales and the residuals would be pretty tight there I'd say.
How about for the first year we all go to your place?
If you can get a place that is
Pm me ur number we can have a chat about the party sure u can all come to mine for a walk around
It’s widespread in Netherlands. There bps claims as a country are massively down dindr they lost the dero
Plenty 2-300 cow farmers are well dependent on the second income to run the house, and if that 40k wasn't there the cashflow would be pretty hairy some years. Sure, in the long run, they always say the farm will start throwing off the big suplus, but there's always another shed, and another block of land, or the weather/World markets and often the farmer runs out of steam before it actually happens.
Surely yer all not dependant on herself to keep the show on the road. The point of any of us farming is being able to take enough from it to contribute to your own requirements, in whatever portion is deemed necessary. Same as any 2 income household. Fair enough splitting mortgage or shopping or whatever but all that should be after the farm pays for itself of its own accord
Pretty much nailed it there
Doesn't matter - they will still be subject to the provisions of the EU Water directive, hench all the strop over there atm
And pats down capital and a wage to the nut doing it ……this is the key thing that fails to be told through profit monitors or financials at these shiny events
unless your very financially sound and not continuously pumping huge money into farm a second income is needed to pay a mortgage feed and cloth kids etc ….if it isn’t you have to pull the hand break on what u do on farm ……getting a mortgage for a typical modest house is costing 200 k minimum …..banks access these very different to getting a farm loan …..you could secure finance for a 150 k tractor in few days but a 200 k mortgage over 25 years could be refused due to repayment capacity issues
We will all learn loads that day from @daiymann 5 . I’m going to invest in a big copy book so I can get the future winning lotto numbers and the upcoming winners at the leopardstown Christmas festival from him
Your first paragraph is my point, your wage or drawings should be coming after everything farm related is paid for, if not bringing that into the house regardless of other half whats the point?
A 300 cow farm over the last few years would be turning over near 1million when milk sales, cattle sales and direct payments are accounted for. Its a badly run farm if its depentant on a partner having a 60k a year job.
Posting glossy videos that only show what they want you to see reduces Teagasc's credibility. And this is at a time when they're trying to sell various climate change ideas and new practises to farmers.
It's hard to trust someone who claimed they forgot about the calves. What will they forget next time?
They need to work hard building farmers' trust and slick PR promoting their own advice is doing the opposite of that.