Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
Tubridy being memory-holed in RTE?
Regards...jmcc
Tubs boring the people of Clifden tonight.
Still prattling on about kindness, and JFK.
PK with an audience of hundreds of thousands for the LLS toy show. Tubridy with an audience of hundreds? It is a big change for Tubridy but he still seems famous in Clifden. Still don't know how that Iceland gig turned out.
Watched Toyshow last night - simple format, tried and tested and works. Kielty very affable.
And he'd still have been there last night if he wasn't such a greedy, underhand bollix! Delighted for him. Turning on the lights in Clifden - a long way from Dublin 4 on Toy Show night :) He'll have to go into his own pocket this year to indulge his creepy, childish side.
You're joking right? He didn't mention JFK again did he?
Next you'll be telling us he mentioned Sinead O'Connor!
Tubridy styled himself the Toyman, on his radio show, so it seems RTE have run with it. He & NK might send a copyright invoice to Kevin Breakhorse. Kevin will return a note saying the money is already in his account, so to speak.
I can tell you this for absolute certain. I was in the LLS Green Room just after Ryan announced his abandonment of LLS, (I was there for Katie Hannon Show), and the hospitality guy said to me “see the blanks on the wall, that’s where Ryan Tubridy’s pictures were”.
So they took them down very quickly, ahead of revelations. You would think they would have had a series of photos of LLS presenters doing the show over time, from Gaybo, to Tubridy. Just shows how the egotistical f@rt had only himself splashed up all over the walls.
"The child asked: “How long did you host the Late Late Toy Show for?”
Tubridy, his face fixed in a wide-eyed grin took a sharp breath and said he hosted it for 14 years"
For which the child grinned and very quietly interjected "It felt more like 150". "Ow" (slap from mother).
Mother: "We all love you Ryan"
Just shows how the egotistical f@rt had only himself splashed up all over the walls.
I misread that sentence - I must have had Boris Johnson on my mind - I thought you’d typed “Just shows how the egotistical f@rt had only himself spaffed up all over the walls.”
Ahhh. Nevermind.
You’re forgetting that Tubridy quit the LLS himself long before the payment scandal and the ultimate loss of his radio contract. He was never going to be hosting this year’s Toy Show.
RT announces stepping down from LLS on the 16th Mar 23 https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2023/0316/1363571-late-late/
And from the Irish Examiner -
In March, the two €75,000 transactions in the barter account are queried by auditors, which in turn prompts RTÉ’s audit risk committee to obtain external legal advice and appoint Grant Thornton.
Around mid March iirc -
It wouldn't take a huge leap to think that these are connected, as I think most people in the country already figured out, as they put two and two together and arrived at a fairly solid four
Tubs doing the Christmas lights gig on the very night of the Toy Show is very Donald Trump doing his rally on the night of a televised party debate! 😁
I'd also argue that turning on the Clifden lights for his Cousin on the 24th was planned well in advance of him exiting RTÉ and that such a coup for Clifden getting Tubs to turn on the lights before next weeks toy show, the normal schedule for the Toy Show (Last week of Nov, sometimes hitting the 1st or 2nd of December if they fall on a Friday night). This year it was early you could say because next Friday is the 1st, but generally it would be next week. ... shite its December already!
Oh. I well know people made that leap, and continue to make it. But it’s very clearly 2+2=5. It makes absolutely no sense that he’d quit the LLS because of the payments (before they were even common knowledge), but stay on for the radio.
It’s a Schrödinger’s Conspiracy Theory: he’s both horribly shamed into quitting the LLS, but horribly shamelessly staying on the radio at the same time. Utter nonsense, to any neutral observer.
HE DID!!!
And he managed to fit Terry Wogan in as well.
What does that mean - 'you've been mugged by God in a hoodie'?
“About two weeks before she died, Sinead O’Connor got in touch with me. I was quite friendly with Sinead and she said, ‘How are you doing?’
“I said, ‘I’m doing great,’ and she said, ‘You know in life sometimes, you think things have gone weird? You just get mugged by God in a hoodie.’
“I said, ‘You’ll have to explain that to me.’ She said, ‘Well, you’re kind of beaten up and you think it’s awful and this guy steals your wallet and punches you in the face. The guy walks away, takes the hood down and it’s a really nice person or God and he goes, “You’re welcome”, because you needed that to happen’.
“So, being mugged by God in a hoodie is not a bad thing. I think that mugging has brought me here today.”
Thanks @Gregor Samsa
Weren't there newspaper interviews with him in February saying that he had no intention of stepping down from the LLS? What changed?
Yes, pretty sure there was. Had a quick look but there's so many NK driven puff pieces out there, it's needle in haystack territory
One from end of Aug 22
Another one about the same time where he says:
Ryan said for now he is still “hungry” to improve his hosting skills and make the show the best it can be, and he’ll know it’s time to go when that hunger leaves.
“I think when the hunger stops, the game is over. I am still ambitious. The show still matters to me. I have something slightly more to prove to myself as well.
Did he get a gastric band fitted?
The fact is, nobody really knows what happened as the Montrosians are a very secretive little bunch of feckers, so all we can do is speculate...
...or, it's all a massive conspiracy theory
That is all manner of cringe.
Does nobody in Clifden pay TV licence fees or why do they want RT doing the Xmas thing? I don't get it.
Its not that they wanted HIM, they were happy to have ANYONE.
This is the page from last year: https://connemarachamber.ie/2022-help-us-fund-the-clifden-christmas-lights/
In 2021 their own internal go fund me page raised a whopping 3,945 euro.
Yeah but this year they had their special guest and doubled the donations
Fundraiser by Connemara Chamber of Commerce : 2023 - Help Us Fund The Clifden Christmas Lights (gofundme.com)
(don't see a donation from the man himself who looooves Clifden)
I read he had been booked to do this massive job BEFORE all the bad publicity broke.
More like he had this booked before he got the job offer from Virgin Radio.
It CAN'T be a coincidence that the Clifden Lights-turning-on was the same night as the Toy Show.
Back from his big job in London? Apparently he is going to write an autobiography. If his show on Virgin Radio doesn't work out, he'll have more time for that.
The fallout for RTE contractors and employees continues while Tubridy turns on Christmas lights. (Paywalled)
Even the first line doesnt make sense. How are they 'employees' if they are contractors??