4.70 got here during week for bullocks
Ya 80 here for r in kepak which would be the strongest by far for bulls down here.
I hope you told him where to go.
R grade Angus are making €5.15-€5.25 all in depending on whether you get 20 or 30 cent AA bonus.
It was my first time talking to him so everything was very polite. I’ve another man calling to see them during the week so the serious chat can start after that.
Make sure and stand your ground with them anyway!
Base price for bullocks is €4.75. Base price is paid on R- and R= grades.
QA is 20 cent (I’m assuming they’re under 30 months)
AA bonus is 20-30 cent depending on factory. You’ll get that from any of the factories and don’t have to be in the Angus society or anything like that to get it so stand firm there too.
That brings you to your €5.15-€5.20.
Heifers usually 10cent over bullocks too.
4.65 maybe 4.70 this week for bullocks.
No sign of the increase the journal are going on about in the southeast.
A lot more going than that 4.80 freely they can’t get them agents ring people all day
Where and who with?
My phone hasn't rang once.
Lad at the factory said they were getting slack for numbers and maybe an increase next week.
The agent was at the mart buying when I spoke to him
The local Keepak here has dropped 5 cent. They were fully booked for this week since the middle of last week. A few lads that were booked in were playing tough and holding out for last weeks prices and they were told to keep their cattle instead.
I know there’s a lot of cows being killed which increases the head count while supplying very little meat but I don’t think the scarcity is there that lads think there is.
Missed a goodish (R=) SMx bullock in the Mart back in August, he was 585kgs and I was only getting €1,450 for him. His Lmx mates were around 50 kgs heavier and made around €1,700. He went off yesterday on the last load of the year, (mixed bag, cows (€4.20), few other bullocks €4.80) & a heifer (€4.85) that slipped a calf) . He hung up 386kgs and made €1,930, he got 3kgs of gold finisher beef nuts a day for almost 120 days & for the last month he was also getting 1kg of rolled barley. He really started to thrive once I introduced the barley. I am happy with that result. If I got €50 more for him in the Mart I would have let him go.
Variable costs of about 260-280 to finish. Worth about 200 to finish him.yourself.
I’ve heard the agents are still ringing around. Even to smaller finishers.
Must be a problem with the network around kilkenny
He probably done a little over a kg a day since. Good enough going on a small amount of feed.
@Cavanjack yes that what I am guessing. If one could buy enough like him & turn €200+ for yourself out of them all in 4 months you would be doing OK.
Goin in the mornin down to Kilbeggan. €4.80 base for bullocks.
I believe there is not much stock in the lairages and with Dairy farmers off loading any cows that look the wrong way finished stock might be a good price in the New Year.
This is the 4th week in a row with a rise. This time last year, there was a rise for 12 consecutive weeks from mid Nov to mid Feb. A similar trend this year would be nice. Makes no difference to me as I sell during summer but I would like to see all the winter finishers making a few bob.
Sold July 22 Hereford bullocks in mart they were 480 kgs made 1300 Euros I thought this was OK?.
More than OK... God help the next fella
Probably a feedlot contract order processors could be promising good prices for them in 60-80 days time
The next fella will be the finest, they’ll make more out of them than the lad that sold them, they weren’t reared on fresh air.
If its a feedlot with a decent contract maybe but if its a lad taking a punt I doubt it unless he goes to grass with them.In the yard they cost 2.75/kg. personally I would not pay it as I can see no margin in them at that. Agree that the man rearing needs that kind of money but the man finishing needs a margin as well.
Just doing the sums if finishing out of the shed in 100 days. Will they weight 600kgs and hang 310 kgs that is giving them everthing in my opinion. Give a price of 5.3/kg inc bonuses gives a price of 1640, take aways cost, fees and transport and it leaves 287 euro that would not cover the 100 day feeding cost
There's still plenty making €2.10 and €2.20. A few lighter HE in Dungarvan on Monday sold for €2/kg.
The 480kg ones above made €2.70. Unless they were solid suckler types, I'd say it was an exceptional/unusual price.
Two dealers having the craic with someone else’s money most likely.
TBH for your average lad the 3-4 month system is not a runner. Even if you make a margin between now and spring you are replacing under pressure. As well if your land is decent ration is using up your nitrates allowances..
Northern buyers in kilkenny most weeks. Usual marketing shite and no mention of friesan types. Very poor and unbalanced report tbh.
Friesan cattle are 2e and more in kk for last 4/5 weeks. That would have made better headlines.
A program on CH 4 about the impact of beef on the climate. He said that cows have 3 stomachs amongst other nonsense. Why is this lazy research tolerated?
Bullocks on €4.85 next week I hear.