It says only in relation to fixed milk volumes and support payments only
I'm sorry got that wrong. So they can change the price and you can't do anything about it
Can they legally put stuff like that in? Surely to jaysus thats against some law somewhere
The wording in their msa basically had them calling dibs on multi-generational supply i.e if the father died, his son/daughter/close realatives if they took over the farm they would be contractually obliged to supply them milk for the duration of msa, along with the 2 year notice period which can be activated now was a 5 year period where you couldn't hand in your notice to quit
Do many people actually plan to sign up to this ?
Cant see it being enforced but i wouldnt sign anyway.Thing i dont like about schemes is u just get a tiny perentage fixed and tied to terms its beyond me how those whinging last year had huge amounts fixed at low price
Is it not just to stop lads throwing all their toys out of the pram if the price they fix at is lower than the price at the time .
I wouldnt sign it though.
That's milking over for 2023. Legs up now for holidays...
Will the cows get the blame for this our the forestry plantation been clear-felled, if a epa man was testing downstream of here and nitrates/phosphates are reading high comparable to other years
Same here, dried em off this morning
Dry since Thursday evening here.
I’m gone oad and milking thru ….down to 5 rows now ……
Saw Teagasc tweeting this just now.
I thought Kevin Moran would be a much older man after seeing his name mentioned on here during the week. But he’s only a young lad.
Seems a nice fella
He is. Lucky to have uncles willing to back him to get him going
Really positive guy kind of guy who wud be a really gd politican
Great speech by Pat McCormack
Comes across as a sound man. And it's a grand video. But at the end of the day it would be nice to know the profit.
Three farms long termed leased, one bought. All young stock are contracted reared. All the work on the farm is done by contractors. A full time man to pay and relief milkers. A fairly new rotating parlor. More than likely new housing.
A bit of a fairy tale story. Teagasc would sell us anything that claims there's loads of money in farming
Have the ICMSA a good replacement lined up for Pat McCormack? In my opinion he has been the foremost spokesman for agriculture of any of the farm orrgs over the last few years. He will be a big loss. A really capable guy.
You’d have to presume both uncles had no successors so it’s different to most lease agreements in that he is probably going to inherit those farms at some stage so there’s some security in making such big investments on the farms.
Seems to be a top operator in fairness from what you’d read about his setup but depending on a lot of different people to keep the train on the tracks.
Have worked in places like his setup everything contracted out and you really need to have dependable contractors to keep things ticking over.
That was my take watching that video also. I suppose this is there, was it 50 hour max a week during the busy spring time that we should all be achieving guy.
They're lucky to have someone to farm it, not a great career choice
Uncles will get the money tax free where as a father wouldn't
He looks a sound operator
Tis weak enough, but predictable. He came out swinging but I'm not sure he landed many blows.
Pats the best farm leadee we have ….by a distance …..im a member of the ICMSA and IFA but IFA members treated him disgracefully a while back when he met with ministers and went past an IFA protest was heckled and shouted at ….IFA could and should of entered dialogue with them
for too long farmers have been sold a pup …been given unrealistic expectations around deep and nitrates by ministers ,govt and certain organisations t……farming is in the **** atm we have to fight for our futures but realusim badly needed …..dairy Day was this weeke and journal ,Aidan Brendan and others tried in vain to put this big glossy spun on where we are and are going ……a very well known and respected farmers with multiple units and interests was put up speaking about family farms ….I know the farmer and have time for him but he wasn’t a fit for that ….a long way removed from the farm families nitrates and dero is going to hit hardest
Don’t know him seems a sound lad with a good head on him but the whole operation based on very scarce labour and contractors doing virtually everything bar bringing in cows …….massive risk and massive cost in a year like this …..wheels could come off very quick through a sustained low milk price high cost period like we’re in now
Best of luck to Kevin but I hope he gets a 2nd opinion on his set-up and doesn’t follow the Teagasc advice to the last detail
Kevin is doing fine. He’s smart enough to make his own decisions. He’s bought a farm in between the 2 uncles farms and he’s only farming 10 years
best of luck to the guy..... but i wasnt a bit surprised to hear him say he wants his wife/partner to be able to continue to pursue her career after having a baby... hes running the farm the dearest way possible so he definitely needs her salary to keep coming in to help keep the show on the road
One uncle has no successor other has a large family there was no cows on the farm when the first parlour was built started out there very very young he did put in hard yards at the start facilities wise but the contractor's were doing the same amount of work since day one. The one time I heard him talking his main takeaway was they had a big old massey in the yard as the sole tractor and it was punctured and he didnt think it would start if someone tried he uses a couple of different contractor's from what I'm told. Which I'd probably needed. He invested a lot of money a number of years ago in one go and seems to have top class facilities.
He's dyed in the wool farmer of the year teagasc incorporated.