The front door area of the Adare house reminds me of a hospice entrance and it's just too big to make it a comfortable home.
A no for me, even if I could afford it.
More like sleeping in a coffin, is what I thought, looking at Pic 16
Jesus, my head hurts after looking through those photos.
Like, why would you include Picture 3?? Or not at least re-take it?? If I tried, I couldn't take a picture that out of focus.
Most of the rooms look absolutely tiny, the bedrooms look barely bigger than the beds that are in them (including Picture 6, that room is barely wider than the single bed).
And what's the QR code all about? I suppose I could scan it to see, but why???
And the dining table, beat into the alcove that barely fits it and the chairs?
As someone else said, this is one of the minority of cases where they'd have been far better emptying the whole place of furniture and just showing it bare.
But my favourite is the wall of the lean-to (lean-away?) shed to the side - a glorious hotchpotch of materials that came to hand - old dry stone, red brick, breeze blocks, and what looks like chipboard or marine ply at the very end. It's nearly pretty in its randomness!
For a small county, Leitrim really does punch above its weight on this thread.
I quite like this and given the stupid prices I’m seeing for much smaller houses outside Dublin I don’t this it’s bad ‘value’ at all. Not familiar with the location though- it could be lights years from civilisation.
I know where this is, but I don't "know" it.
You'd need a car, probably 2 especially if you've kids.
You're just off the M7 , so a quick link to everywhere really.
You'd probably end up doing most of your shopping in Newbridge....however with most grocery stores delivering now, you'd be grand.
It's lovely, but too car dependant for me tbh
Who won't be living in a house like this;
£3.5 million gets you former Man United manager, Alex Ferguson's house.
It was all going well until the tartan carpet... wtf 😂😂😂
I seen it on the stairs and thought "it's ownly on the stairs, not so bad" , then the next pic, jaysis.
He's Scottish I think? Awful carpet either way.
The curtain pole over the fireplace for the 2 small windows either side of it annoys me.
‘So I’ve completely ignored what you want, your budget, the existing structure and the surrounding architecture and what I purpose is a glass box tacked on to the back of the house. There’s one design feature that the producers came up with so we have something for content fodder when this goes out.’
I mean, they wanted to add on over 2,500 sq ft onto a 650 sq ft end of terrace house?
What planet were they on???
Mother of jaysus!!
Fecking notions! It would have been an awful eyesore sticking out at the end of an older terrace.
Looked at the drawings, it would have been awful. Not a fan of Dermot Bannon designs anyway.
Whatever about the rear of the extension, they made literally no attempt to have it blend in at the front.
Surprising there was no objections from any of the little enclave of "olde thatched cottages" bounding the site there
If I remember rightly there were lots of objections about the 'olde thatched cottages' when they were proposed to be built. The owners are likely to be holiday rental landlords or unlikely to see a problem with a monstrosity at the end of a row of terraced houses. Or both.
Its a really nice house internally, though I'm not usually a fan of the tudor style. You could change the carpet!
Love the bathroom in picture 11.
I was trying to be sarcastic there, obviously didn't work.
A Dermot Bannon monstrosity would fit right in. Can you imagine the dinner parties?
ah I know but there is just so much of it.
Not surprising when you find out who owns them.
Who owns them?
Are they new builds made to look old?
Yes they are new(ish) builds, built within the past 15 - 20 years, they don't even look old, they just look thatched.
A certain well known developer.
Is it a secret? :-)
Love the needless occasional secrecy on this thread at times.
My guess would be Mick Wallace from the neighbouring county.
Ah lads, Mick Wallace? How did you come up with that one?
Whose name is on the planning application?
The secrecy will be more interesting than the actual answer…
Just for fun now I’m not going to name them!
This is also Waterford 14 years ago, I wonder how they are bearing up?