Agree with you. However I think there were 600 cows total, so presumably the landowner provided half, which complicates things a bit.
A bit of advice I got was it is very hard to make a share farming agreement work with landowner who was not previously a dairy farmer.
Would be easier to deal with someone who knows nothing about the job rather than just a little bit - Dunning-Kruger effect I think they call it.
Used to have to run cows down to old parlour from new shed. Saving of 15 minutes before and after milking there. Acrs are great, we had them in old parlour but they haven't worked this years. Can walk away and automatic washer will do it's thing. The fact we're milking 24 in a row rather than 15 too. Not having to empty jars is a good time saver
Might be too soon to ask you but where do you see the time savings have come from.you might need 1 few weeks more to really see it.
I can't see how a legally binding contract is not possible to enforce. Is there any law there like...
+.I d have no problem taking on ground that someone else through up because they couldn't pay the agreed rent but I wouldn't touch it if there was a legal element going on with with the previous Tennant. Recipe for heartache
But can you honestly see the landowner getting that? And the hassle and cost of solicitors and all it entails if the landowner goes down that route?
No sign a lesser lease and sue original tenant for the losses incurred. Say 150/ acre on 3 years left on 40 acres. 18k plus new auctioneer fees and legal fees for the new lease, advertising etc 20k and add in cost of litigation
Totally agree thats the system im heading at 6.5 last year wholecrop wil get me another 1k along with earlier silage The reason alot of first is poor is people need bulk and cut later
Have the right cow number 1 or breed for her. Early May silage. Feed either maize or whole crop on the shoulders . 1.2 \1.5 tonne of good quality nuts. It's not the rocket science people would have you believe
In fairness the scenario where 300 cows had to be pulled out of a yard in a day should never happen, a contract milking situation where one party provides cows/labour etc and the other party provides infrastructure/land etc should be pretty seamless once everyone involves stays in their own wheelhouse and doesn't interfere with the other party, without knowing the specifics of either story I'd say labour our poor quality labour combined with lack of it is the horents nest in these situations of second units
I'm reminded of what a cousin said to me before. He bought a LESS machine with a neighbour and they were sharing it a few years ago. But there was a bit of tension creeping in between them, so he sold out his share to the neighbour and bought his own.
After that sharing/contract episode, he decided, "Partners are only for dancing."
A few here the same as well.
I was talking to a man last week that has just given over €500 for a block of land joining him and he has to reseed it, paddock it and put in water troughs before it’s any use to him. Around 30 acres in it.
What contracts are been signed in these situations where scenarios can occur like the above it's mind boggling, any share milking arrangements should realistically involve the owner getting a % share of milk cheque monthly and the lad leasing the place works away without any meddling from said owner, once he's meeting promised prefromance metrics on litres/solids sent
The auctioneer just has to get the best deal for the client. The client/vendor can just decide what is the best deal for them. There is no onus on any vendor to go with the highest bidder. There is an onus on the auctioneer to relay the highest bid to the vendor.
You would think he has,Wouldn't know the ins and outs of that. Maybe the auctioneer told the highest bidder that the neighbour outbid him. I don't know to be honest
I do tend to agree with you whelan
..but number one it really affects me and my business
Number two every auctioneer worth his salt makes sure to tell everyone about the dearest price possible.
Number three people love news. It's what has happened since Time began
Does the highest bidder not have a come back there on that ?
still fair hunger for land around us and we’re not in an intensive dairy area
It amazes me how people know what's been given for what for how long, how many cows , even bringing their martial status into it. Must be slow news day in your areas. Let them at it, who gives a fook
For every poster-boy who blows up, there's 9 regular lads tipping away grand.
I was at our local IFA branch AGM last night, held in what the pub owner calls her function room. I was the only non-dairy farmer there. Mix of lads in their 60s back to 40s and 2 in their late 30s. One crew are milking close to 300 but you'd never think it to talk to them. I'd say the smallest herd-owner there has around 70-ish. Everything in between those then.
Some are milking since forever. The lads in their 30s started in the last 5-6 years.
You'd hear of the odd lad around here giving big money for ground but the majority just tip away and stay out of the gossip pages.
The likes of thar lad has to have left himself short on a few fronts
I'm afraid this is what we are dealing with anymore
One of them fella’s local gave 380 an acre and reseed and reclaimed the land and gave two years rent up front, has gone down with TB and on his next test will possibly be a total cull and the wife has left him. The previous fella was giving 110 an acre for the previous 10 years.
And there is plenty of those fellas out there imo and I would have little sympathy for the landowner either
Local auctioneer was going leasing land out last year for a landlord. Highest bid came in at 500. The landowner asked him how much his neighbour was offering? Auctioneer said 370. Landowner said to give it to him,because he knew he would be guaranteed to get paid off him
It takes a special type of low individual to renege on a contract like that imo.
Oh definitely,the greed from the landowner was unreal,throwing out loyal long term customers just so they thought they could earn a few extra bob. You would love if no one came in to take over the lease.
Only talking to a friend of mine the other day and they were giving 12k a year to rent a large parcel of ground(won't give the acreage). Anyway the lease was up this year so they went to the landowner to see could they get another lease. She was looking for for 16k. They said no way,that she could keep it. She said she heard that land was making up to 500/ac,my friend told her to work away and see could she get that money.
Eventually she came back to them and they negotiated that he is giving her a small bit extra alright now. She wanted to give him a 5 year lease but he said no,only a 7 year lease like they had before.
Plenty of leases being signed round here for next year, still circa 450.
A tip I got recently is to not apply for derogation. I was told the fines are less significant for exceeding 170 iykwim.
Any tips for getting 8k litres out of the cows. Just doing the simple things well? Is it just good grass, good silage, 2 ton of nuts, 365 milking?
I agree whole heartily mj ....but they have fucked it up completely for the rest of us and if I'm being selfish then they have fucked it up for me cause thers no way I can afford anything like it . The young farmer Messing is bad enough.......why is it when a farmer gets a sub/grant/ extra few quid they feel the need to throw it away to someone else 🙄🙄🙄
There’s always a hungry hero with a cheque book and short term view