With this new automated set up, more time to spare, she might be able to combine both.
See what the ICBF says lads. 2023 looks like it was another highly profitable year .... Good for dairy farmers I guess...
In 2023, the national dairy herd is on average €300/cow/year more profitable than it was 20 years ago. EBI will continue to evolve and contribute towards the profitability and sustainability of the dairy herd into the future.
A freind gave €70000 for a lorry four years ago, bought a house since and now I see him driving a two year old jeep.
Hard to see how anyone would invest so much to milk cows when you can earn it so simply otherwise
Of course it's a waste but sure a good dairy setup has value to others it seems
Did u not spend a heap of money last few years seems a waste
Yes the less said about the neighbours the better. Was locked up for a while last Spring but OK again. Keeping fingers crossed until next test.
To humour yourself ballpark building work holding area/shed/washing tank for a 20 unit probably looking at 150k, your parlour if going with acrs/indicators/feeders would be circa 6-8k a unit so ballpark another 150k, then the miscellaneous items and unforseen expenses circa 20k
All in greenfield site you'd be looking at in our around 300k incl vat if you went for a rolls-royce parlour near 350k
Sure you wouldn’t say how much land you farmed so why would you expect someone to break down the costs of a new parlour for you…
It wud be nice if we cud share costs itsca bit like asking a lad howvmuch land he owns onelad told me once i dont know another said not enough
there like your neighbours so...
how you with TB?? presume your aware its rampant around us...
It's my 7th year farming on my own. Found the whole thing a fair drag alright. Bad spring and sh1t output as a result were probably my biggest problems. Weather was a pain all year and an early finish to the year too. Expensive inputs were probably a bigger issue than the lower milk price for me. Will be milking more cows next year and will be hoping for a better year.
Alot of lads around here pulling the pin and they are dead right. Lads that stayed at home straight from school retiring at 55 and they are dead right too. Life is short.
I doubt I will stick at it of there is another year or two like this one, it's just not worth it for me if you can't bank a substantial amount of money after the year.
Fairplay, well wear and best of luck into the future. Great to see a bit of progress besides all the shitetalk going on
Well wear, some comfort for the future.
Must be about 12 years ago was on a plane on the way home from a dairy show in Birmingham and one of the lads from Pearsons was sitting beside me on the plane. A nicer well mannered lad you could't meet. There were two brothers I believe running it, they had just bought an industrial unit to expand the business at the time.
I think 30 years is enough for anyone milking cows. Best of luck in any job away from the farm but I'm sure you'll still enjoy farming part time.
Dont know why the big secret .Probably told got gd deald dont tell anyone.Farmersa are whingers no money being made yet u see parloursbeing built and another guy building housewithout mortgate.Its like the mart poor beef and sheep farmer then a fleet of 4 x4s new
You will walk into what are a lot of handy CS jobs but the money is very poor. Not sure what age you are, the CS is a young man's game, from the point of increments and progression. With the way OAP rules are changing on the lower wage side of the CS there is little or no advantage.
Having said that beef and a part time job works well. I always had huge flexibility with hours and farming. But I always had decent wages and flexibility, mind you I worked for it. I was fairly burnt out by the time the retirement opportunity came along.
Looks fab Whelan...enjoy every minute of it..
Given your Fortune 500 self worth the cost of a new milking parlour is surely an afterthought, loose change perhaps. Was it 4.5 mil you valued yourself at some recent post, a few weeks ago?
C theres not many people can sya theyno mortgate on house yet whinge about dairy incomes.
Any chance of a breakdown of costs just for parlour or is it a big secret
well wear... put in matting inn the pit
Well ware to ye 👏
I am at this dairy craic for over 30 years and must agree ,this was the biggest shltshow of all time ,I will probably pull the pin for good in the spring great oppurunity nowaday to walk into handy jobs in the c.s. that might not be around for ever .I am not going to miss the bus anyway and when the bus is leaving your better off on it
Not too bad, the 2 lads from Pearsons stayed for the milking and helped out
The dogs haven't realised we're milking in there yet, waiting at old milk tank for the few drops of milk this evening
Okay enough of a year. Nothing to shout off the roof tops but we’ll finish up with everyone paid and I finished my house with no mortgage so happy enough
Well wear and best of luck in it. Did the cows take much notice of the new surroundings?
Ye, they're nice lads to work with in fairness.
Best of luck with it Whelan
we’ve a 20 unit Pearson finishing its 3 rd season no issues with it 👌
Are they pvc tubing? Well wear! I have mine in I'd say 6 years and by far my best investment in the farm