Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
Neck like a jockeys bollocks more like.
Excellent news.. and may he enjoy a long career there and never ever return.
Ah Jaysus, that's the best laugh I had this week.
There will be no lovey dovey in the Uk,
He will be given three months to get the listener numbers up and if there not good enough then it will be a boat ticket home.
About €345,000..😉
Here’s one way you can go online to virgin media radio co.Uk and listen there too
Seriously, I can't see why ye would not wish Ryan well with the move. Okay, you might not have liked him on RTE and that was publicly funded, but why wouldn't you wish him well in his new role?
Mid Morning Matters with Alan Partridge, I mean, Ryan Tubridy…..
We do wish him well. Let him f* off and peddle his wares elsewhere. Being covered by Claire the Hair now, he'll also be on a slew of obscure stations available here. But the key takeaway is 'Ryan Who'???
The lads!
Tubridy is still living off the fumes of JFK and Sinead...
can you elaborate on the talent and brilliance Tubs brings to the table
I’m with you on this one Sunny - more than happy if Tubridy makes it big in the UK - personally I don’t see it happening though.
I think he needs a TV presence first so people can get to know him - ok so he’ll likely get an Irish following but what will the UK people think of him? He’s an unknown entity I guess but look if listenership on that slot goes up under his watch fair dues - but the bigger risk with that slot is that people will tune out not in.
Streaming presumably?
To be fair, I'd consider him to be punching well above his weight with that move. Following Evans means he just has to hold the audience rather than win a new one so he has caught a decent break.
UK commercial radio is a different beast to Ireland and he'll be out on his ear if it's not working.
Anyway, he's not my cup of tea and I'd like to see him give back the €150k but best of luck to him - this is the way it always should have been. When a presenter outgrew RTE it should always have sent them on their way with well wishes to let them make it in a bigger market, instead of paying over the odds to retain them.
The Bants Levels are going to be off the charts..... Going to put those Rock boys to shame.....
“To the listeners, wherever they might be, I urge you to join us on this adventure every weekday morning, there is much fun to be had!”
Decent gig to be fair.
But given his experience and what passes for a "radio presenter" these days he was always going to get another go.
And he's doing a "dedicated weekend show" for Q102 and FM104 and some cork stations (part of the same group seemingly) though can't figure out why he'd need to be on 2 Dublin stations at same time, 1 is too much incentive to turn the dial!
His show will be on from 10am-1pm on Q102 as a simulcast on de radio in Dublin but no doubt online also at Q102 site
Has he not sat in for Wogan or Norton before on a few occasions, so not a complete unknown
Irish people would know of him, so even less likely to listen in
most of the people listening to radio mid morning are unable to get to the set to turn it off, its them youd feel sorry for
Did I read that some of the "stars" will be able to REDUCE their hours to get under the €250k pay cap? 😔
Now that a private company is funding him, and not the Irish taxpayer, he can do what he likes, I’ve no interest.
He can payback the €150000
It's a funny one. His type of charm might actually endear him to middle class Home Counties types but he's an odd fit for their idea of what an Irish person is, even compared to more successful Irish entertainers over there, like Terry Wogan or Graham Norton.
Personally, I'm just glad he didn't get whatever deal he was angling for back home. I won't make any certain predictions about his career over there but I would be surprised if he ever gets beyond the level he's coming in at. I don't think he has the talent to break through there, especially with far more competition and less connections.
Of more importance than the sideshow in London is the DG, Kevin Backhurst, effectively offering a PAY RISE to the "top talent" in future negotiations.
In an interview with the Indo today he says:
"We would have to look at it individually. If they [the talent] argue that they are worth 250,000 but it means they do 10 fewer days of the year, that's possible. They'd be paid more per day, but they'd keep their salary under 250,000 Euro."
Back to square one we are with this bloke Backhurst. This is exactly the sort of fooling around that drives ordinary people crazy.
Nothing changes
The comments on virgin radio’s Twitter feed are quite funny. ‘Gobshite’ being my current favourite.
Still not getting it, no one there is worth that kind of money. Supposed to be saving money and already the plan is being shown to be a sham
100%. His ‘be kind’ schtick has a relatively low ceiling. He simply doesn’t have what it takes to be the next Wogan or Norton.
Agree. This is nonsense. If the DG is paid €250,000 for a full time job then paying th same to "THE TALENT" for a few hours work is disingenuous at least. More underhand deals
must stick in the craw of some of the posters here who reckoned he was unemployable outside of RTE.
He's already brought up two dead people to agonisingly get to some kind of morality tale in that X clip.
Best of luck to Virgin's listeners Mid Morning :)