Listen lad its not that bad im still milking about 3000ltrs about day get about 1350 euro meal and elec about 350 1k per day ive seen harder days and im not killing myself working ive top class silage though.2018 was and will always be the worst year ever bad bad memories of that year dont think it cud ever be worse was forced to graze wet land in spring all poachef then drought set like a rock never ever want to seeanother 2018.Fell out with most of me neighbours that year wouldnt give me silage u know who ur friends are in years like that
Eventually
Back to dairying where does this rank year wise? For me it’s been the most difficult. Farming full time 17 years. Second half of 17 and first 4 months of 18 were the worst previously but I’ve found this a solid 12 months of constant crap. I’m a half glass empty kind of guy but nothings gone right for me this year, lots of freak things have happened, weather being the biggest problem, scandalous milk price and constant media bashing to boot. I’m late 30’s, seriously can’t see being at this craic beyond 55. The thoughts of 3 months plus of spring time 2024 24/7 is frightening me already, even just selling calves is now a major problem.People now a days want to work 4 days full time at home no less online. I know someone that a full work day begins at 8 and ends at 2 at the most. Civil servant.
Dairyman may be the Irish secret weapon to preserve what's left of our country. The government should pay for your pints.
A choice between listening to dairyman or fighting Putin. The Ukrainians would be gone home in the morning.
Only joking, I enjoy some of your posts
Well i was better than drinking on me own
You no more drank with them than the man on the moon,Christ i can't believe I actually engaged in conversation with you,Time to hit the ignore button
Lad educate urself i drank few pints with them in me local.Theve plenty of money no expense free heat rent free dole its as cheap to eat out
Well first of all how are restaurants going to house refugees? Do you honestly think refugees are going to go out and eat in restaurants if staying in hotels. And the majority of refugees don't drink because of their religious beliefs so you won't find them in pubs
Usually those making money in farming are big landowners who got big sfp for last 20 years and did almost no work hanging round marts looking for something for nothing lying in house all day.Others getting up every morning wirking hard for poor wages.Thats the reason these boys arent liked.Oh and farm orgs never protested against sfp if im right
why dont they all house refugees then am i right 800 a month They get the dole so they cud drink in your bar or some where else in town theyll shop locally win win refugee hotel town shops.Its the same as beef sheep farmers whinging about dairymen leasev ur land or milk cows urself
Don't think anybody here is advocating shutting down industry but it is the obsession with targeting farming the whole time that is annoying. Farmers seem to be everybody's punch bag, certainly the media's anyway.
According to Deputy Carthy he has already been in contact with the Department of Enterprise, Trade and Employment to discuss the Lakeland Dairies’ decision.
“A swift government response is required to ascertain whether these jobs and these facilities can be saved, and we need co-ordinated action to ensure that there are no further job losses in this sector,” he added.
What exactly does he expect the dept of enterprise to do? Cover these wages? Such populist nonsense
We had people on this thread celebrating a loss of jobs in a multinational in Limerick just so farming might support the economy again a la 2007.
Absolutely nuts considering how these companies are propping up our economy, the amount of wages being pumped into rural areas is eye watering. Mayo alone has Allergan, Baxter and Coca Cola, probably 3,000 direct jobs and maybe 10,000 indirect. Keeps everything afloat. Just because farming is being attacked doesn't mean we should have the same narrow view towards other industries
Fair enough, speak as you find.
All the same despise is putting it a bit strong.
That's usually reserved for someone who has done some wrong to you.
I don't think there are a minority, I've found it nearer a majority in my experiences
An awful lot of hotel rooms are being paid for by the State for homeless and refugees. That is creating a shortage and also pushing up prices with the government "bottomless" chequebook
I'm not giving out about them. Just giving my impression of the situation
You'll get begrudgers everywhere but in my experience they are a small minority.
What did you expect them to do? Whinge about being closed while the entire country was in lockdown? Pubs got destroyed during lock down, loss of stock, revenue and staff. Look how many stayed closed. As for the hotel prices argument, if people weren't paying those prices, rates would drop fast.
Hospitality doing well? The few hotels that are accommodating refugees might be doing well but that has a knock on affect on restaurants and pubs in those areas. Plenty of then are struggling with a few closing their doors around my part recently. So no hospitality is not doing well.
Well the pubs didn't have much winging about being closed during COVID in fairness and look at the prices hotels are charging for a nights accommodation. They had the government in their pocket for a long time with the 9% vat rate.
What percentage of hotels are housing refugees? Did the payments during covid come close to covering revenue? Everyday you come out with something that makes you look absolutely clueless
We all think were the only ones getting hard time but i have friends in other buisnesses and its just as hard regulation crazy costs only people doing well is hospitality Were paid to close during covid.Now housing refugees.
There's a fair cohort of the farming sector that also despises farmers that make a good living out of farming.
Oswaldo?
A lot of people wouldn't be surprised.The 35% of the electorate that support them don't seem to think of anything except to get the present government out.
Making the CAP fairer and better targetted would be a start and would be something that most in society could get behind. I think there is alot of goodwill generally for restoring/supporting Ireland's fruit,native grain and veg sector and would be an easier sell too in terms of maintaining CAP monies ahead of dilution via EU expansion East
https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/lakeland-dairies-monaghan-closure-a-devasting-blow-sinn-fein/
Matt Carthy wants farmers in the border counties to pay the salaries of 78 workers for the sake of keeping the jobs going. That's about €4.5 million quid spent on unnecessary labour costs.
More economic illiteracy from him- why would we be surprised?
Ya but it's beginning to wear on myself especially just a bit all the nonsense on the radio and telly is gone beyond bearable imo anyway 🤷....... mYbe I'm just grumpy with the poor year but it really does seem that agri is the only sector that our output income and ultimately our livelihood is being restricted
The concept of making money from farming is seen as a vulgarity by the upwardly mobile folk. You are supposed to do it for the love of it, not for a living. There is something deep in psychology of the 1st/2nd generation Irish (sub)urban dweller that drives this I think. It would be a crushing disappointment to think that your cousins, who stayed behind down the country, are earning more than you in your mid-range commuter belt career. Much nicer to believe in the poor-but-happy artisan farmer myth.
Indeed thanks for that.... .....pedantic....prick