Where's this idea come from that the Aviva was sold out?
Closing off thousands of seats doesn't mean it was sold out.
The attendance was 43,881. The capacity of the Aviva is 51,700. This means the Aviva was less than 85% full.
Every seat that was available was sold. You couldn’t buy a ticket from the game from Ticketmaster 24 hours before kickoff. Hence that was where the idea came from that it was sold out.
So if you make 500 seats available in Croke Park and sell 500 tickets, it's a sell out?
Call it what it is, a talking point for pro LOI people to latch on to.
You can't close off thousands of seats and then claim it's a sell out.
Well you can because no-one could buy tickets to it once all the tickets are gone. It's reduced capacity alright but still a sell out.
It’s really simple, the game’s tickets were sold out, you had to buy tickets from a tout or someone who had them to sell. If you can’t accept that and want to talk about strange hypotheticals of events in croke park that only have 500 tickets available then I’ll leave you to do it.
It's not a sell out if there's empty seats in the aviva.
Sure every year could be a sell out if they closed enough seats.
Ok, many would say it’s a sell out if the tickets are sold out but you know best
No Ireland International match would be a sell out then because there's always seats taped off. Also those seats were taped off for security reasons not to restrict capacity intentionally.
Security reasons? What security reasons? These security reasons don't exist when Internationals play at the Aviva?
Attendance and tickets sold are two different things. The game could be a sellout and nobody could turn up. The game is still sold out. Just from reading other forums, there appears to be around 4k no shows on the day which brings the figure much closer to the capacity of the Aviva.
I do take your point however and would agree in principle. However, if the first few rows were closed to a legitimate reason e.g. safety, then you its fair to say it was a sell out. If the first few rows were closed for no reason, then I don't think its fair to say it was a sell out. You are assuming that the FAI decided 24 hours in advance to end ticket sales to force a sellout (they may have). It appears to me that they only made 47/48k tickets available and closed the first few rows for a reason.
What's the reason for closing them off?
It doesn't matter anyways, if you close off 15% of a stadiums capacity, you can't claim it was sold out.
Yes, rightly or wrongly they taped off the first few rows to prevent pitch invasions because there isn't much of a gap between stands and pitch. There was also tape across seats in the middle of the main stands to split the fanbases. It's very common at football matches when it's a neutral venue match like a final. I saw it at Wembley last year in the EFL Cup Final so you'll never get capacity crowds at finals in a neutral venue.
At international matches you can cordon off a smaller area between fans but there always a few rows cordoned off so there'll never be a 100% sell out.
Don't be daft, are you trying to say when Dortmund played CL a few years ago they couldn't claim a sell out because they weren't allowed to use the terraces so the capacity was reduced?
Wembley was over 95% full for the playoff final this year.
Were they claiming it was a sellout?
Serious whiff of Pedant's Corner off some of these posts this morning. Is there a latin plural for empty seats?
Yes, they were.
Learn the difference between a 'sell out' and 'At capacity' and move on with your day lads
They didn't close off 15% of the stadium. 4k people didn't show up. Attendance != ticket sales.
If they are only granted a license for 90% of the stadium and they sell every ticket, then it is a sellout because they were not permitted to sell any more tickets. The Gardai may have told them they have to close the first few rows in which case its a sell out.
Theres always a lot of free space at the back of concerts that are "sold out", are they not sell outs either because you could fit more in? Its the license, the Gardai, and security that defines the number of tickets available. Just because there were empty seats doesn't mean it wasn't a sell out.
4k people didn't show up, that's even worse. All this "it's great for the league" nonsense. Nearly 10% who bought tickets couldn't even be arsed going.
Jesus, lads. Will ye look at who you are engaging with here. Some re-reg no doubt banned recently for trolling under a different username, and has decided to re-register to get kicks out of winding people up again.
Users on here can get very defensive when it comes to perceived criticism of the lads
You can't educate pork..best leave him alone if he believes it wasn't a sell out.
The pod today is all rugby is it? Like absolutely all of it?
There's a very entertaining non rugby email at the end
Christ - I feel like I've just read this again;
Anyway, was very nice to see the Aviva sold out for the final :)
Are you a bit thick?
Yeah, I haven't be to a game in a few years then went to about 5 last year and 3 this year. Obvious massive jump in attendance. Great to see, makes the whole experience of going better. Except queues for food, I'd rather the shìt crowds for that
The Daryl Horgan interview was very good. Wonder what made them decide to interview him in the first place but glad they did.
5 kids and he's only 31 is mental though
Man talks about how he has lost the will to live since his wife died…. “Well Eoin they have released the VAR audio”… fairly awkward transition.