I have a feeling the specifics will be gone over in multiple sub-threads, but let's use this for discussion of the report in one neat place, shall we?
Horrible-looking link to the PDF, but it works.
Rest at ease everything is in hand.
So I've scanned it twice... Does it actually say anything?
Not really.
They are still working on the detailed implementation plan which is at "Advanced stage". The same plan which was suppouse to ready at the latest of January 2023.
Its not like they need to rush or that there are any issues in the defence forces such as only 1 full strenght unit in the state whose troops are being sent from Bundorn to all over the country to cover duties. So nothing to worry about.
So after the budget the “Implementation Plan” is reportedly finally going to cabinet and will be published, DOD and Finance will be happy about pushing things back another few years:
How low are the expectations?
Will they propose to commision a report on how to implement the Implementation Plan?
With a review as well into the report, and then perhaps a public consultation, and then maybe a panel to correlate the findings?
Have we asked the AG if any of this is allowed by the Constitution?
You forgot the vital trips to see how other countries do it, so junkets to Australia, Mexico, Spain, etc will have to be made
The year is 2026.
Sec Gen: Minister we are now able to put the plan in place.
Minister: Excellent when do we Start.
Sec Gen: Thats the problem the last service member finished up last week and we now have no Military.
MInister: Can the guards step in a form a paramilitary Unit like in Spain.
Sec Gen: Funny Story the Guards have all quit aswell the Justice Sect Gen tells me
Oh you can't over burden them with too much hol...work....
Following on from sparkys post theres mention in the sun today about the plan but no details.
Probably not leaking it because they are still typing it up and adding in bits
Ah good, the DOD is to get an implementation management office to oversee the plan. Any bets on that being the only part of this that gets fully funded?
Adding bits? More likely having DOD, DPER and Finance each pulling as much of it out as possible or at the very least trying to push any spending well into the future/never.
The extremely frustrating thing is we can all see how more chaotic and dangerous the World is getting and will continue to get worse....but no these lads continue to think its 2000 and the good times will never stop.
Hell, even then they missed 9/11 and everything that followed, I’m sure they figure the current situation is just minor. After all it would be a shame to break tradition, Dev and the Cabinet only figured out there were some “concerning tensions” in Europe in the Spring of 1939…
Look the person with the keys for the locked filing cabinet got transferred to Finance so the Department doesn’t even know what the 2000 WP said…
This Plan is going to be interesting considering the messing in AGS at the moment. Closing date for the No.2 job has being extended again but no AGS have applied because of the money issue. Dept of Fianance have said they are reviewing issue but review wont be complete untill summer 24!
Urgency is lost on this state no wonder the plan is nearly a year late
She was supposed to be out the door in early December but they have got her to stay until March. Callans Kicks had a funny take on it last night
So Taking Bets how sh@t will the plan be this week?
Sell everything to make the Greens, SF and the crazy Left happy… Call it world beating.
Would we as a state not be better off at this time forget about the MRV and do what ever it takes to get the P50s back in the water to get the fleet back up. Even consider opening up a naval base in Donegal as talked about before to encourage recruitment as Dongeal seems to be the only County in this island not struggling with Defence Forces Numbers.
Well Martin is in China this week, so I doubt it’s going to be presented to Cabinet this week anyway?
I agree he doesn’t need to be there but given the lack of urgency the department, minister, cabinet has dedicated to the DF I can’t see the rest being overly concerned about getting it down quickly, and Martin might be looking for another bit of PR on the day it’s announced, there would be at least a pn interview on the 6 o’clock, maybe even a slot on Primetime opposite PBP (or someone) screaming about “NEUTRALITY!”
Sure we have a Minister for State at Defence as well, Oh that's right he has zero powers on defence allocated to him
Well looks like nothing defence related has come before the Cabinet today, no rush I suppose.
Its a good thing all these international issues sort themselves out with no repercussions on us.
It's not even like if there was some emergency close to home where are SOF unit had to be deployed by helicopter and 7 of the 8 helicopters were out of commission and they had to take a HEMS dedicated helicopter to stuff as many operators in to the back of it to deploy them .
Something like that could never happen
Hey, we just got told last night that small nations can't make a difference so shouldn't spend on defence, and its not like that MEP has any other agenda right? Sure everything will be grand even if something did happen. And sure didn't the minister himself tell us to stop complaining about no new equipment being bought, or a failure to even fund LoA2...