Theyre the biggest sports radio show in Ireland. They're a long way from irrelevant.
I believe what happened is they contacted a certain poster on this thread.
OTB asked them would they spend a tenner a month and the poster said, Yes Ger, Please Ger, I'd actually pay 50 a month Ger cos everything ye do is so wonderful.
And the market research said 100% of people polled said they would be willing to pay a tenner a month.
They have become a total irrelevance in my circle anyway. They have gone from daily posts in WhatsApp "Did you hear the interview with X, what did you think of Y" to nothing.
Its a pity. The problem is, the likes of Ger and Nathan have too high an opinion of themselves to admit defeat and if I signed up today for a years sub I'd be raging if in a months time they announced it was being scrapped.
And as I've said so many times, they are Joe Molloy leaving them away from being completely and utterly irrelevant.
Not really though, the only clips to go over 1,000 views in the last week are the rugby ones. Most other are languishing in the low hundreds which by modern YouTube standards is desperate.
As a sponsor you’d nearly get more eyes on your product sticking a poster for it on a lamppost
The 2/3 minute clips they put out on social are still getting big numbers, so I would presume that it keeping the commercial partners / sponsors on side to a degree.
If they are doing the same work as before (more or less) but are getting even a few hundred paying, it might be ok for them.
Hard to know what the business model is
If you’re using the iOS app it’s probably the 30% commission Apple take that’s added on to the 10 euro
Still says 9.99 a month when I click it.
I'd say youre looking at the YouTube Premium price but thats €11.99.
If you click on join button on YouTube it’s 13€ a month now.they certainly have a high opinion of themselves
I used the free month and keep forgetting it exist now until I see a post here. Don’t like the app so don’t even see it in my podcast feed bar odd one that seems to arrive randomly.
Listened to a bit of 2nd captains. Far superior.
Nope i wasnt. the main appeal of OTB before for me was there was no subscription, a lot of my listening was for background noise. Happily listen to an ad not to have to pay. I've found plenty free pods to keep me going. Some aren't the same quality and some are better
Can any of the people who were regular OTB listeners/texters/emailers confirm if they were ever contacted by OTB to check if they would be interested in/supportive of a paid subscription service?
Just looking at their YouTube page now. The Sunday Paper Review has 694 views. Before the subs they would usually be getting 4/5k views.
The Manchester United content they do would usually get 5/6k views, there's an interview with Martin Lipton from 3 days ago about Utd which has 590 views.
It really is a huge drop off, surely their ad revenue is down massively.
I usually pop the morning show on around 9AM when I'm making my breakfast and then rewind it back to whatever interesting guest they have on.
This morning at that time they had 727 listeners, although to back up your point their was only one paid up youtube member in the live chat.
Turned on YouTube one nite last week and there was 80 odd watching the newsround live.before that would have been well in the hundreds .the number of paid up memberships on the live feed almost nonexistent
Do the 3 free listens ever reset on the go loud app?
Word according to who???
It’s been an unmitigated disaster. Viewing numbers fell off a cliff on YouTube. Word is they may have to climb down and drop it altogether
Is it me or have the lads gone very quiet about the subscription model and offers?
Maybe a sense it has turned out to be a failed experiment.
In fairness expecting someone to pay €10 a month for a segment about the best YouTube comments is a bit mad no?
Yes, they are robbers asking people to hand over €10 out of their own free will. Ger and the gang should be matched straight to Mount joy. I think we should throw away the key too.
These guys are pathetic. Thieving at €10 a month. Hard to believe that anyone would shell out.
Cancelled my subscription last week when they had Adrian Barry on a day that wasn't Friday, he genuinely knows nothing about any sport.
He half watched a Newcastle game and gave some piss poor pub talk takes on the game, farcical to expect a tenner a month for that
I often wonder how he got involved in sport media with no playing background and literally no knowledge of any sport
The morning show is decent when Ger and Eoin are at the wheel , but the rest of them are really shite
Pity cause I've listened for years
No its not. Its a fact.
Deleted.
Well I use my 3 free ones a month to catch the Sunday paper review - If I don't get it live.
I have been toying with the idea of paying as like you, I would be a big Joe Molloy fan & also enjoy A Slight Tangent, among with other unreported sports events and athletes that OTB seem to get. But I am going to wait and see if the price comes down - a tener a month is a bit steep
Another former big consumer of their podcasts but like many there’s zero chance of me paying a tenner a month.
I listen to a lot of podcasts as I can consume them while I work and a few have gone behind the paywall over the last 18 months. But I’ve refused to pay for any of them. There’s more than enough free content out there on every topic I’m interested in.
Off the ball do have some very good segments, namely newsround, slight tangent, Paper review, Dan McD on football show. Also loved Golf Weekly but was never going to pay for it. Don’t think their GAA coverage is fantastic although I did enjoy the football podcast despite not being a Gaelic football fan.
I do miss the content and I also think Joe Molloy is the best broadcaster in Irish media at the moment so miss not listening to him.
But my point being I’d say there’s thousands more like me. That enjoyed the content but just won’t pay for podcasts. I can’t see how the few bob they’re getting makes up for the thousands of less ears they’re now reaching.
The two areas that Second Captains fall down on are live reactions (they will do the odd post-match pod for an Ireland game, but usually it's the following day) and weekend coverage (obviously they can't cover 7 days a week). But the quality is excellent there.
Like another poster mentioned a page or 2 back, Second Captains had fallen off the radar for me the last few years. I listened to a few of the free episodes and forgot how good the quality is compared to OTB, so I subscribed this week. It's "only" a fiver a month.
I do miss the football show on Saturday's and the Sunday paper review, especially when Joe is on but OTB will never be worth €10 per month to me.