I would say very few under 40 cows dairy farms will be left before too long ,Not too long ago 20 years ago roughly ,50-60 milch cows was considered a very good living .Very soon this man will be strugling for survival it looks like .Milking over 40 here got a start in the c.s. next week so it looks like the end of an era of dairying here traced back to my great grand farmer!!
Have u not heard the roaring and shouting for the dairy retirement scheme
Best of luck with the new job 👍 George
Couldn't agree more the whole thing is a ponsi scheme great lad from around here did his placement with a lovely couple in offaly two students for the spring themselves and a lad who does three milking a weekend 320 cows everything is contracted out even the fertiliser.........they couldn't justify hiring a labour unit
What's c.s? Is the job just for fun seeing as you have your money made
Civil service ,start in time ,take your time and finish in time.
35 hour/week @ e550 starting wage ,20 minuted comute.I will see how it goes for the winter. Left over 30k to colector general thia week so not arsed any more with slaving with scuttery cows
The other factor is I have heard rumours of the non EU worker's are expected to live in accommodation provided by the farmer which they pay for in cash
That explains why alot of farmers around here are building apartments in their yards.
They are trying my patience these days in the parlour. Nearly leaving more sh1t in the parlour than milk. Dry off in 2 weeks I'd say and looking forward to it.
How come they get two studentsci cant get 1 .is it who u know
Impressive set up
https://youtu.be/95cu7daWH58?si=8o-q5gaVo-PL2Qk2
In that scenario the contractor is the extra labour unit, the cheap labour for the spring in the form of students real distorts things aswell, they're the case studies teagasc use when they come out with their 50 hour work weeks, for 120 cow herds
Ya definitely on both counts. They are on sandy ground as well so cows literally go to grass as they calve. so sat and Sunday there's near to no involvement from the owners. although the fertiliser was spread at weekends cos contractor was short staffed. young lad from here used to come home mid week to milk for another lad as there was nothing to do after 3. contractor fixed fences in early Feb and again in late May. Calves went at 10 days to two weeks regardless.
Thats fair going selling calves at 10 days
It end up like the calf job.Cant see any of these boys paying over 30 k for 39hrs.Take rent food and tax theyd be better off back home.
Just to add that that was three years ago next February calf situation will obviously have changed and will change more would lads think it will add the need for an extra labour unit in spring. The way they operate would not be my cup of tea
Best of luck with the new job .
You are in for some shock culturally and financially. Going from being more or less your own boss to being directed by the clueless and confident .
Nor mine but lots of these lads in do deep they’ve no choice now ….lots of lads on bigger and 2/3 unit set ups are nos more a manager role rather than at coal face milking and calving cows and day to day donkey work they won’t want to have to get there hands dirty again
Oh god ya milking your own cows is a dirty thought to these guys
You’ve just described at least 3 levels of management at my “good job” 😂
How would he be any worse of financially at current milk prices, obviously still has the farm and will have a twist out of that aswell,
I think he meant the opposite that he would be financially better off having a regular wage every month no matter what. Happens outside.
The only show in town is dairy despite all the whinging.40 cows wud easily leave what a cs job cud.Theres plenty of part time farmers loosing money at beef and sheep.
ca clock off on Friday …finishes at 4/5 …gets 21 days holidays plus benefits …sick days …bank holidays etc etc
It's costs 50 euro/week minimum for the majority of people to go to work. That is aside from childminding. While a farmer might not be able to eliminate all childminding costs they definitely can hang them. As well when children are in Primary and post primary school they can manage the farm around school hours
It's amazing the way people always look at the grass half empty compared to half full
Is that 550 gross? 15 an hour? I thought it would be a bit more rewarding, not much money left for pints there.
That's poor going for anyone used to working for themselves. I know I'd melt in an environment like that.
I hope it works out for you, as my old Aunty's says, "it'll be an experience..."
I’ve in-laws and know numerous civil servants ….zero sympathy …beteween. Milking it with work at home days ….sick days🙄🙄🙄….etc etc it’s a giant gravey train …yes aa farmers we have flexibility sort of with childcare and school but we’re still self employed …as dairy farmers cows have to be milked twice a day stick have to be fed etc we take time during day for school runs child minding et. We have to make that time back up by starting work day earlier …working later and sure Saturdays and Sundays they ain’t days off 😀
It's pointless replying to the Oracle himself. what do us mere mortals know 😁
Because he has gone from a situation where after all allowances and expenses , he has still paid 30k in taxes for 2022.
To earning a Gross of 30 k ( less deductions that he would never have encountered before such as Superann and Pension levy) plus whatever rent / subsidies the farm will make .
Unless the rent of the farm and/ or subsidies are high , he has to be worse off , on an annualised basis
Best of luck with the job, see how it goes Sher you don't have to stay at it.
I agree with bass, 50 cows here and keep some dry cattle in out side places. I draw the sfp (or whatever the fucck its called now), the disadvantaged and the acres. That's nearly 18000.
I've said it 10 times already, hunt the company reps and the van sales men out of the yard. And keep your money in your pocket and you will have plenty.
Madness the amount of gadgets and technology fellows need now to feed the cattle and milk a few cows. A handy tractor and a pike would feed a lot of animals in an hour. They can't get off their holes to take off the plastic and have to go to the doctors for tablets because they are unfit.
I don't grass measure, milk record, have advisors out, rarely reseed. Ye are giving it away too easy lads
You don't need 300 cows to survive