watch reruns of the chase and still cant answer the questions
Teagasc are saying 54hr week 119 cows so why are the teagasc run farms so heavily staffed.The real truth with milk price will come next spring when solids will be low id say some holstein autumn calving herds will be sub 30 already alot of bad silage around wont help
Im not a moderator but what has the chase neigbours fair city to do with farming.Should be a seperate thread.
As for exporting calves only very gd calves are already being exported and wud be 6 weeks plus shippers dont want light young calves.As for banning jersey genetics i used to have a full crossbred herd and regularly topped the mart
All work and no play makes jack a dull boy…
From Jan 1st almost €9 an hour if you get a 16 year old to give you a hand
FFS
And they wonder why restaurants etc are closing
😀😀😀😀😀😀I
Life wud be fairly dull if u had to watch thrash on tv then discuss about it on internet forum
You're the one who mentioned day time tv first, we just added to it. ...
Life would be very dull if you bitch and complain and knock other people all the time.
It was a general comment ur the man with ecxpert knowledge of tv shows given ur comments above
And what is it actually want to say.
No problem selling calves for export here under 6 weeks of age. Normally gone by 3 weeks
What does a good farmer like yourself do in the evening after you finish up at 6pm? What are your hobbies and interests
Fair play to u lad
Im here to discuss farming matters if u want to know about my personal life pm me can meet up for pints
You’ll have the place drank into the ground lad at least everyone here watching tv all day only has to pay the tv license 🤣
You say only very good strong calves at least 6 weeks old are shipped and shippers don’t want young calves …..are u a farmer at all 😲
I visit the mart i know some shippers yes only strong calves are shipped they may not be 6 weeks on cards but i assure u young 3 week old calves are not shipped.Those selling to exporters from home are selling what the exporter wants when they want them.Why wud an exporter buy young calves when he she can get them reared.
Laddddddd bring yourself up to speed …shippers don’t want 6 week old calves …they want good strong healthy 2/3 week old fr bulls for veal units
Thats not what i c in mart and what shippers tell me and makes sense heavier calves take less feed and older calves less prone to sickness.
It's some change from pushing Jersey and kiwi genetics down farmers throats for years. Luckily most farmers had more cop on themselves
Ya I'm finding it hard myself, meal bill has gone bananas(only thing is got decent money for culls for being fat). I'm milking through the winter due to higher tha normal empty rates, tax and meal bills. Hopefully prices start to rise again. One thing I've noticed is a few parcels of land sold and rented recently, not the same interest from farmers and seem to be in a better bargaining position..
Did you not sell calves for 2 euros last spring, or am i mixing you up with someone
If any of ye have a lad on the books for Sunday milkings make sure to say it's for Friday instead. A mate with a small business got nabbed by some workplace welfare officer recently, has a reliable lad do Saturday n Sunday for him , e15 ph.
Has to pay E30 ph now for Sunday's , he'll probably close Sunday's now- bonkers!
Local gastro pub closes now bank holiday Mondays coz of it.
Some very questionable advice from Teagasc since quotas went.
Jersey Genetics
Bobby Calves
Second Units (if you don’t have enough ball aches at home)
Outdoor Cubicles
Outwintering pads
Urea in Jan
Contractor for ALL machinery work
To name but a few…..
I was only a young lad but I remember jack Kennedy lecturing farmers about being too stubborn to x breed. It was a win win by all accounts. More cows less milk was never a good idea imo.
Well in fairness they did not advise second units and AFAIK they were not recommending Jersey breeding until they were shamed into it by the IFJ and Mr Murphy.
How did I forget Greenfield. The gold standard to show us how much money could be made with an outside block with no facilities and all hired labour. Sure what could go wrong?!?!
Mr Murphy?