Sugar prices are eye watering with a few years now. Very lucrative crop. Big plunge in prices when quota was abolished but growers switched to chipping potatoes for the likes of McCain and factories realised they’d have to pay for beet. Excellent crop now.
Look what dairy farmers have spent on yards theres alot of white elephants around the country
Im not hearing amything from the farm orgs yes its a disgrace but farm orgs got very quiet since them little protests and walk around limerickbin the rain
Didnt farm orgs support this stars and if im not mistaken have members on boards committees and giveing continued support.It seems the chairmen of alot of these groups liveing off farmers are ex farm org reps
The farmer reps on these boards don’t have to be shouting at every meeting but neither should they be just smiling and nodding all the time either.
The structure and governance of state organisations are not working for farmers. We get a token farmer rep seat, inevitably filled by a former IFA head who enjoys putting on a suit and pretending he’s a politician or civil servant.
I never heard that story before.
Behind a paywall
What qualifactions or expertise have these farm org boys sitting boards of co ops icbf sheep ireland fbd ahi look at the bvd carryon no one saying a word costing every farmer money
What qualifications do any board members have?
A degree in business? That’d make them less suited to getting anything done in my book.
The farmer rep doesn’t need any qualifications other than being able to speak up and not be intimidated by fellas using big words.
Only half a story really, In short, A farm of land was sold to a business man by receivers without vacant possession, Farmer refusing to leave, Repeatedly cutting chains and taking down cctv cameras, claiming he was never dispossessed by a court of law. No information of how he found himself in this position in the first place. Despite having mortgages with AIB and ACC, he claims he has no debt that justified the sale of the land.
Most don’t have enough and that’s the problem …managing and owning a farm and been a board member of multi million euro coops are totally different ….there’s various icos courses and should be A minimum requitement to have a certain level achieved if a board member want a second term ….been able to play the political game and talk the talk to get elected isn’t good enough any more
farmer board members are vital for a coop board but they need to make sure there fully equipped and educated enough to know ,understand and contribute to make sure they can challenge management ,represent ordinary suppliers and make solid decisions to drive business forward
Anyone with experience of crossing rotbunt or fleckvieh with a jersey x herd.
What former heads of IFA are on state boards?
I know Brian Rushe is on teagasc.
I also know that the poultry chair, a management accountant is on Bord Bia
Scratching to find a former head on a state board?
The ifa have leading members as directors in bord bia ,ahi and other government farming quango's I presume ,as well as directors in the plc's and the co op boards but I do not think they do anything positive in the interest of farmers .These wiseguys use the ifa as a steping stone to inhance their sense of importance as well as a nice sideline earner and they definitely don't worry about the small guy .The ifa is dying a slow death really
If the IFA and icmsa were no more …..Irish farmers would be in a fair hole ….both have there faults but are an essential lobby body for Irish farmers
I don't have on xbred herd but they can carry time esp bull calves and that can make the calves big. Wouldn't be doing it on young cows anyway.
Remember going to the Fleckveih stand at ploughing few years back ….had pure fleks and x. ….nicest ainmal there was fleck x. Je
There both as bad as each other only on the look out for the big farmer who did sfp benefit for last 20 yrs large landowners was there any protest giving out i didnt see any.Then partnerships and tax free leasing 60 percent grants all benefitted big farmers.Look at the support they got protesting at derogation there be more in the local on a saturday night.The protest in limerick was as bad as ive ever seen auld lads walking around in the rain looking for sympathy
You must be delighted with them so if it’s benefiting big farmers like yourself
Booooooommmmmm
Ive neigbour friends who are small farmers and they have been badly done by
Don’t mind them probably in derogation too
I had a few rotbunts at one stage going back 15 years or so. At the time they were some of my best cows. I couldn't fault the few I had. Nice big cows
How do you determine the partnerships and increased grant rates benefitted big farmers only? Or is that what yer saying or are you just pointing out big farmers benefitted too?
Just as an observation, the organics money is higher across the board and it's mainly smaller farms, on marginal land that are jumping to it
Someone has to do it
But if there was no farmer reps on the boards the usual whingers would be first to complain...... a sad lot
I’ve no idea where. The power of WhatsApp… it’s all over the country now.
Im sure you'd have passed that field, Dawg. About a mile west of the racecourse at Mallow.
Nitrates expert group being mentioned several times in ifj i just read id love to know who these experts are id be hoping there well qualified as they have new ideas every week surely these individuals could go to an open debate with fatrmers instead of hidding behing a group name
Lad look at ahi and thev bvd mess every farmer wants it done with why doesnt our farm rep see it wrapped up