Great effort and Ireland's best world cup performance wise
What a game for the casual viewers!
Ireland needed the set piece to work well and it didn't. Well targeted by Nz. Congrats to them
Is Andy Farrell not also one of the best coaches in world rugby?
But they weren’t Johnny
Looks like one of the best managers in European Rugby think Johnny should have been replaced towards the end of the game
He thinks that he was blunted as a force at that stage of the game. He was amazed he even managed to finish the game. IHO we need to bei g Crowley on to change the pace of the game while acknowledging that he did not know how JC would come in a knock out game. As well he highlights no replacement for Johnny was the elephant in the room for the Irish team.
Looking at critically nearly every other team was replacing there outhalf with 10-15 minutes to go except Ireland with the oldest OH in the competition
The QFs on our side of the draw were close and even the best team can be knocked out before the final as has happened to NZ on more than one occasion. If we perform as well as we did this time in future WCs, probability suggests we’ll eventually progress beyond the QF stage.
Group winners would play a 2nd or 3rd placed team. There are several permutations based on which 3rd place teams advance.
Not clear you know what that word means
Not really possible.
Be nice if they seeded the knock outs based on pool performance.
That would make it difficult to buy tickets for a last 16 match.. saying that I don't think I'll be making the trip to oz.
I know the old system wasn't perfect by any means but at least you could buy tickets for 2 1/4's in the one city on the same weekend and be guaranteed to see your team if they qualified..
I think it's going to be like the the current ERC - after tyhe pool stages you have the Top16 fighting it out for the QFs.
Winners of the 6 pools = 6
Runners Up of the 6 Pools =6
4 of the 3rd placed teams on the 6 Pools = 4
Sorry if this has been discussed already. But say ireland are in group a and win it. Who do we play? 2nd in group b? Where do the 4 best 3rd place teams come back into it?
For me it would be a Grand Slam over any number of WC quarter finals.
I see you. Gaslighting, so obvious.
Its a poor format alright and should have been removed about 2011 as the game progressed more into professional era
The Mexico 86 format is a tried and tested 24 team setup, the Euros use it right now. 6 groups, top two qualify plus 4 best 3rd place teams. Great for the tier 2 nations and less dead rubbers.
The 5 team pool is so tedious and boring, surprised it lasted this long.
Some salt for your massive chip?
Three test series, they won 2-1
AKA the match SA won by 15 points and never looked like losing. If Ireland nned their very best team to beat Scotland it really doesn't say much for the players outside the first 15.
No, but having an understanding of rugby is something they should have. If the Irish coaches felt the Irish players are so unique that they vsnt play everyone game in a world cup, despite no other team doing the same then fair enough to them. Unfortunately, they were wrong.
Again, if it's total nonsense why does no other nation do it. We also don't have games against SA and NZ in the 6N. Not to mention how we rarely win 5 matches in the 6N and we nearly always rotate heavily vs Italy.
I'm not sure using a game where they lost 42-19 is a great example of how Ireland have no difficult managing three games in a row tbh.
No
Like Scotland go on because they got to a semi in whatever year it was, but won what in the last 20+ year won what? even from a club point of view they have one competition win.
Would you take a semi and then 20+ years of nothing? I certainly wouldn't
I'd take their last 35 years over ours - 4 world cup finals, numerous semi-finals. You'd imagine they have a pretty good QF record, at least 50% win ratio.
Regards the last 4 years over ours, I think if we beat NZ, we had a great chance of winning the WC.
Woulld you take Englands last four years and semi-final over ours? I wouldn't obviously but I'm curious how many would.
The point of rotation is not just to give some players a break, more importantly its to give other players game-time.
You can't learn from your mistakes without game time, and Sexton is the perfect example of this. He was prone to nerves and mistakes when starting out. But with enough game time and experience he turned it around. Porter is another who improved with experience.
We need to sacrifice at least the next two 6 nations to give some fringe players a chance to get a lot of game time.
Unfortunately there is a cohort of supporters who say we need to win everything, including every 6 nations.
I'd take a WC Quarter final win over several 6 nations wins at this stage, because we've already ticked that box, numerous times.
You will have groups of 4 then a knock-out game and then qtr/semi/final
If we don't win a qtr we still have same issue
The reason this is done is because the US and Canada missed the WC this year and thats two huge markets.
24 Teams? How's that going to work? Interesting because if they have a Round of 16 we can finally win a knockout game
No it won't help, the knock out round will not be a qtr final so we will still have to win the knock out, then qtr, then semi, then final
The mighty Tonga scored 3 tries v SOuth Africa FYI. Something that is very very rare
I do apologise. I must start posting gibberish from now on :-)
Hindsight is something Ireland coachs don't have.
You asked for rotation I provided when we done it in last World Cup.
We had a rest week in the middle of the World Cup. In the 6 nations we don't have games against Romania and Tonga yet we play our team. It's total nonsense for anyone to suggest that the pro players couldn't play these games in a row while having a rest week and at the start of a season.
After all they managed 3 massively intentive game week after week v NZ not so long ago, at the end of a long season for the player
Well at least we all we know, you and some others will be bitterly dissapointed.
But but but.
Don't worry lads the next RWC will be expanded to 24 teams, so there'll be an extra knockout round.
Ireland might just pop their cherry then against the mighty Tonga or Canada.