Is Ireland becoming a Woke Society? Are people too scared to say anything as it may offend…..
Are we too tolerant and easily lead?
Didn't take more than a few seconds to find this.
Second para says “California law prohibits intentional misgendering in the workplace,”
Yes, it's in the states (and elsewhere i'm sure). Do you not think Helen Woketee will push for misgendering to be a hate crime. A hate crime will be a "crime" and for you to say "never" is again very naive.
I am certain she will not push for it to be a hate crime, unless the intent is to intimidate and scare the victim.
But here's the thing, respect for a person's stated identity is almost universally expected by HR departments and refusal to respect a person's gender identity will get you fired just about everywhere.
There has been a lot of scaremongering regarding the hate crime legislation - mainly from.people who knowingly engage in hate speech on a regular basis. Those protesting at refugee centres for example or those outside abortion centres. Seems as if they know what they are doing is intended to cause intimidation and fear.
This is the type of guff that a woke society has produced:
So now we know the next time a black player plays for Arsenal it is because they have tried to fix their supposed lack of diversity as opposed to being on the team purely on merit.If anyone thinks the kind of thinking that the Arsenal women's team and their PR department have displayed in the above story is progressive in any way and good for society it just means they're an idiot.
Id like to see that tested in the WRC as I dont think its universally expected to respect a persons gender over another type of discrimination - hypothetical situation - Say its against my religion to recognize other genders - Im Catholic and only recognize two genders and I refuse to recognize this persons gender in my workplace and get fired - Id be able to take a case against my employer for religious discrimination as its one of the grounds for discrimination.
So my employer then says its up to me if I choose to recognize the other persons gender and that person decides to take a case based on gender equality laws.
So then you have two different types of discrimination - religious and gender discrimination. Ive always wondered which side employment law would take.
BTW Ive no religion so this is a purely hypothetical situation - the above situation isnt too far beyond the realms of possibility. Its an interesting one for discussion.
Sure we have a “refugee” with 300k in cash chopping the heads of people, only after being assured they were 100% Irish. And we’re supposed to believe he wasn’t radicalised. What does being radicalised mean so? Sent the f*cker to Gaza and let the IDF put him down like a dog if we don’t have the balls to do it ourselves.
Really ?
What conservative circles ? apart from some Islamic societies ...
but shh... that's a holy cow of the left right ?
Already in the UK you can have the police come talk to you if you misgender someone ...
Can you provide evidence for that, what law is involved ?
Are we going to get this type of behavior in Ireland from the Gardai under 'hate crime' legislation?
Are we going to get this type of behaviour from catholic commentators?
It seems that none of these are as straightforward as you claim, all were anti-trans activists who posted abusive comments online against trans people, the misgendering was just a part of their abusive behaviour.
This in an evolving area of law that is being debated and likely will be for the foreseeable future. For now, on its own, misgendering gets recorded as a “non-crime hate incident”. If there are other factors to consider like hurling verbal abuse at a trans person causing a breach of the peace etc., then yes, you can get arrested with the originating offence being recorded as a hate crime.
Apologies to mods for veering off topic but it’s a fair question.
-Shield
Yep. Reading through them some were were for malicious communications. One of them created multiple twitter accounts to harass someone.
Such a case already came up in the UK. I imagine there would be a similar outcome here in Ireland.
The courts came to the right decision and the person lost their case.
http://www.opendemocracy.net/en/5050/david-mackereth-dwp-doctor-christian-trans-people/
Thats a UK case - I feel it could be different here and not as clear cut.
Its your opinion that they came to the right decision - Im still unsure of how it would hold up in a once staunchly Catholic country like ours.
Out of interest, for those decrying the woke hellscape our society is becoming, can anyone give examples of this intrusive wokeness that they've experienced in their lives?
In real life, in Ireland, I mean. Not something they've read on Twitter, or a Daily Mail article about some random event that happened in a country with 10x or 50x the population we have. Maybe I'm oblivious or have lived a sheltered life, but other than the endless online culture war clickbait I don't really see how "wokeness" impacts anyone's lives in the real world. Probably on college campuses but most of the people giving out seem to be way too old to be in college.
We're definitely a progressive country than generations past but this whole thing of people being silenced for reasonable opinions and language being polices seems to be blown way out of proportion.
Specific example, in real world - children being taught in school that there are more than two genders.
Bonkers stuff, but "intrusive wokeness" has successfully infiltrated the education system.
Fair enough, I've no kids myself so that's no something I would have experienced. Are all teachers required by the department of education to teach this now, or is it just in Educate Together schools?
All schools
I suppose it all depends on what you find acceptable under the ‘woke’ banner. For example, I’ve seen this book aimed at children aged 4-8 being used in certain ‘woke’ schools, with the word ‘woke’ being used as a pejorative that such graphic material be taught to such young children.
Trigger warning: Contains a very detailed explanation of sexual intercourse that leaves nothing to the imagination:
Are any of those boring men not white?
4-8 is far too young for that, I even found the idea of kissing disgusting at that age.
Can you post the names of the school using that book with 8 year olds? I’d like to write a letter to Tusla
I'm well able to change.
I can and have had my opinions changed.
I just don't like people telling me viciously that I'm wrong without argument...
I'm more of a fonz person. Everybody be cool.
Specific example from today.
RTE News reported about a strike in Iceland.
The reporter said: "women and non-binary people went on strike"
There is no such thing as non-binary people.
There are men and there are women.
The RTE reporter is imposing this "intrusive wokeness".
The RTE reporter is suffering from some sort of mental disorder, or delusion.
My friend is another RTE journalist and when I ask him why can't ye tell the truth, he replies "you can't say that these days".
The truth is censored.
The truth is some people identify as non binary. Therefore non binary people exist. This costs you nothing to accept, it is in now way “intrusive” in your life. Gender and biological sex are different.
This is a very simple concept. You refusing to accept it, doesn’t make it untrue. If you feel people’s existence somehow intrudes on your life, that is 100% a you problem. You need to learn some compassion
Some people believe in unicorns, ghosts and fairies, therefore all of these exist.
Been non binary is medically accepted by experts in the field. Maybe you would like to tell them your comparison to unicorns.
Looking back at history it is obvious that been trans has been a normal part of the human experience for as long as there have been modern humans.
I remember the same discussions about gay people. There was only one sexuality and anyone who wasn't straight was either a moral deviant or was mentally ill, quite often both. People would say that being gay in public was disgusting and was shoving it in their faces. Gay people were a danger to children. Telling teens that it's ok to be gay was grooming them and gay people were trying to convert children.
Today's transphobia is just yesterdays homophobia being recycled.
Unfortunately we haven't really gotten past the stage where acknowledging gay people exist to children is seen as grooming.
I saw a theory recently that abusers are the most vocal about denying kids sex education. The motivation being that it robs kids of the language to tell people they are being abused, if they don't know anything about sex they view the abuse as 'normal'. I don't fully agree it's always the case, but it seems to hold true an awful lot.