Yup. I'm all up for letting people work from home etc but his connection is always terrible
People "like" Dennis.
I heard a small bit of the newsround earlier this evening. I've mentioned this before, but it still baffles me how a broadcast national radio station allows Richie McCormack to read the news using a potato for a microphone. It's shocking.
Not sure what the point is but surely it's no different than doing it on the work of any famous poet or writer
Waste another 10k of your parents money?
I was listening to A Slight Tangent (one of my favourite segments admittedly) last night. What is the story with yer man Arthur? He did a PhD in Bob Dylan?
Why? What could be the point in that?
He sold Newstalk to Bauer in 2021 and some of them have mentioned SC
Its not the lads decision, people like Dennis OBrien and the higher ups would be annoyed if they effectively plugged Second Captains. Them never mentioning it is a corporate decision.
Yes but that's Ger, I'd fall out with Ger too and if he was one of my team mates I'd not be throwing digs to support him in a fight.
He'd probably start a riot in a graveyard.
There was an article in the Sunday Independent maybe last year with Ger, and he mentioned that when the second captains lads worked in newstalk they were friends, they were at his wedding. He said they don't speak any more now (or words to that effect). So at least at his level, there's likely to be an issue.
I'm sure those lads know each other well and know they are competitors but those circles are small and the lads are probably friends at the back of it all. They are probably unlikely to promote each others show but I doubt they are so small minded either as to never mention the other show!
To be fair Joe Molly did reference a comment made by an analyst that was made on SC the day prior, during one of the rugby discussions last week.
I almost never hear a radio or podcast actually name another. Usually "on another station" or "on a podcast".
Second Captains naming OTB is the odd one out. Makes sense for them to do it otherwise they'd be called petty.
I wouldn't critize OTB for it.
Is it? SC would refer to OTB without issue. Would've thought it's good practice to reference the publication you are talking about in such situations.
I didn't think it was unusual. Normal enough not to name competitors.
As someone who went to the Counsel a good few years ahead of Tadgh, I can confirm you’re full of shite.
Its a big bog standard school that caters to New Ross and it’s hinterland, with all the good and bad that implies.
Rugby is by far the lowest priority of the sports in the school and at times, only survived, due to the efforts of individuals like McGinley and Walsh.
Reference was made to Paul Kimmage's recent appearance, at the Second Captains love show, on the Paper Review today but did not reference it was a SC show. Are OTB that petty that they still won't highlight SC exist? Maybe they have done in the past but it seemed a bit off today.
Yes i caught some of the free segments from the Mansion House the other night. It was a great listen. The three amigos Brady, Giles and Dunphy told some entertaining stories and it was a nice trip down memory lane. Got a bit emotional at times you got the feeling it could be one of the last times they'll do a live show like that again.
It was a super piece, interview flowed so well. There's another section on tonight's show with Brady, Giles and Dunphy
I thought the discussion about who Jim Radcliffe was the other night was good to be fair to Richie I think it was? I knew nothing about him.
Is it 3 free listens per month? I seem to have a zero on my app in the top right all the time?
I thought the post rugby analysis this week was actually very good. Andy Dunne especially.
Thought the extracts recorded from the Liam Brady book launch in the Mansion House were really enjoyable. Great stories and Joe’s wonderfully unobtrusive presence to guide it along. Liam certainly has had a remarkable life in football.
Andy Dunne is good. Not a rent a gobsh1te contributor like many of them.
You can tell he actually engages the brain when asked a question.
He takes his time and gives a thoughtful response.
An interesting twist. I had kinda put Second Captains to the back of my mind mostly but over the last while I've listened to their stuff again. Jaysus there is a gulf in class and have decided to subscribe. Wouldn't have happened without the change of OTB policy. Cheers lads.
This upperclass/middle class stuff is an English thing and is sh1tetalk and frankly embarrassing from an Irish person.
I’ve seen the team of us mentioned a a lot by the OTB crowd. There follows a brief survey of the Irish World Cup squad by the secondary school the player attended. The fees below are mostly from a survey from a few years ago so likely higher now.
Private schools
School
Annual Fees
Number of players
St. Andrew's College
€7,0501Campbell College (UK)€5,600 approx1Blackrock College€7,1005St Edmund's College (Oz)€5k approx1Clongowes Wood College€23,150 (boarding school)2
St. Michael's College€5,7174South African College Schools€3k approx1Wesley College€6,5501St. Gerard's School Bray
€7,4201Presentation Brothers College Cork
€4,5001St. Mary's College€6,1751Bandon Grammar School€3,4251Daramalan College(Oz)€6,500 approx
Newbridge College€4,5001
Bangor Grammar Schooln/a
Belfast Royal Academyn/a1
Public / state schools
SchoolNumber of players
Good Counsel College1Ardscoil Rís2St Munchin's College2Gisborne Boys' High School (NZ)1Marist College Athlone1Nelson College (NZ)1Manurewa High School (NZ)1
I think we can rule out anyone from the first table. From the second table, there's a bit of a bang of the middle class / aspirational rural Ireland thing from your Murrays and Furlongs. Maybe one of the New Zealand lads? Is Bundee Aki one of the common folk?
Sign up for full membership and win pizza and cheap beer oh and u get to meet BOD is the latest wheeze to get u to sign up as announced last nite.looks like that all them tenners a month have amounted too
I couldn't give a flying f**k what accent sport stars speak with.
Yeah, I like him. And doesn't have the default rugby accent (see BOD) which is refreshing for working class folk like me. Nor does he use 'phenomenal' as the go to word for anything half decent that happens in rugby
Really nice tribute from BOD to Johnny. Comes across as being quite emotional and upset. Will give advice to Johnny on retirement.